1/13 Elmo AMBG 98. +3 84 PMBG 111 +3. 99..Elmo's Excellent Odd Adventure day 9 OTJ

Status
Not open for further replies.
dancing_cat.gif
dancing_cat.gif
dancing_cat.gif
dancing_cat.gif
dancing_cat.gif
dancing_cat.gif
dancing_cat.gif
dancing_cat.gif
dancing_cat.gif
 
Good morning EVERYONE:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Thank you for all your watching, encouraging, advising.... have been thinking, considering, praying over our kinda peculiar situation that Elmo's body has chosen and that is the conclusion I have come to, that my present plan is to allow his body to guide my choices as far as trying the essence/whiff/ of Lantus or not....not that that won't change ,as I am open to trying anything as advised by all your expert experienced voices. Again, thank you to you all...your encouraging and cheering kitties means the world to Elmo and I....could NOT be doing this without you all:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
WooHoo!!! Happy day 9!!!!!!!!!
So exciting Beth!! We are thrilled for you and Elmo!! LL loves a party and yours sure looks like it's getting close!
Gussie approves of your approach!:cat:
I do too!:)
( ask anybody here, I was the cautious one, not even calling Gussies trial a trial until the very last couple of days! We called it skipped shot days so as not to jinx anything!:p)
Yay for 9!!!!!!!!!
 
OMG...this thread is so funny and happy! I was giggling the whole way reading thru it! LOVE the dancing kitties too!!

And YA Elmo! You are doing so great on your OTJ trial! Beth- you must have been so pleased with his green PS today! I was looking for your condo on the board and when scrolling down, I saw it was a green number and got so excited for you!!! Yayaya!
 
OMG...this thread is so funny and happy! I was giggling the whole way reading thru it! LOVE the dancing kitties too!!

And YA Elmo! You are doing so great on your OTJ trial! Beth- you must have been so pleased with his green PS today! I was looking for your condo on the board and when scrolling down, I saw it was a green number and got so excited for you!!! Yayaya!
Thanks ever so much, Jo:bighug::bighug::bighug:...hope Ozzy's GI upset calms today...interested to hear what the experienced Ladies Of Lantus have to say:):bighug::):bighug::) And yes, an early morning green was awesome. Trying to keep emotions in check, not letting BGs live my day for me .....but GREEN is GREAT:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
 
When the AM/ PM bg is green....put the poker away for the day ;) I know it's hard to do but try....:joyful::D:D
I know...I know...I think I need an intervention, Karen:nailbiting::nailbiting::oops::nailbiting:.....Wendy said this to me the other day...I was able to restrain myself for, ohhhhh, maybe 24 hours:rolleyes:.....not like I don't have other stuff to do...house is a wreck ...but I have an excellent excuse:cat::cat::cat::cat::cat::cat:.....still holding you and Doodles in our heart , thoughts and prayers, for an excellent report :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Did anyone ever give you the OTJ trial instructions? If not, here they are. Take particular note of the one I've highlighted. :D

Start the trial on the next green pre shot.

If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck with the trial!!!

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!

Of particular note is spreading out small meals. You may find a small meal or snack at +9 will help bring down any blue preshots.
 
@Wendy&Neko Thank u , Wendy, for the info on trial....it's the way Elmo and I began this that is different than what sounds is "normal". We stopped vetsulin the night before we were to start Lantus but due to low numbers and no data to guide us we were advised to wait and watch. He was very sensitive to vetsulin,a little went a long way( he was on .25 minus a drop) . It seems he has been on the bubble concerning trying to start Lantus so we have continued to record and feed as tho we were shooting. I am prepared to do whatever Elmo needs and as wonderful as remission would be I want it to be strong and lasting....will do whatever it takes to do that. I am definitely in no rush. Guess that's why I've hesitated labeling what is going on as OTJ....it's been just as much a Wait and See..and we r feeding small snacks at 3, 6 and 9....sometimes it seems it makes a difference at PS but as can be seen by SS not consistently...I skipped it this afternoon and we ended up with the blue 111. So glad to have you all instructing,guiding , directing....it is a comfort and a safe place :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I love coming to your condo! It's my happy place now!! :D:D:D
Soooo thrilled for day 9 greens!! Yipee!! Elmo... you da bomb!! (That's my Jersey coming out!!! LOL!!) More GREEN smiles!! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D
Awwwww, thank you Donna:bighug:.....taking it one day at a time ...still getting pesky blue PS but Elmo's body is driving this boat ...without data we shall keep doing what we're doing ;):cat:
 
@Chris & China .....Thanks for checking on a fellow Ice Age participant. Not too bad here. Roads mainly wet but other flat surfaces slick. Bet it's worse up north where you are. Are you all still getting more freezing rain tonight? Looks like we are still under winter weather advisory thru tomorrow ....we shall see ...the weather folks are so excited cos they have stuff to talk about !!!
 
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey .......Oh Tricia, thanks for the cheering kitties...I am cautious to get fully excited about all of this in part because of how we have found ourselves here...it has to be a bit unorthodox and certainly unexpected for me. Last Thursday we were all geared up to start Lantus but Elmo's body put a halt to that. As I've said, I really want this to stick because at 17 I want his life to be as simple as possible(although our fur kids tend to live to 19-20 routinely) . So keep encouraging us as I see where Elmo takes this next :bighug:
 
Yeah!! Oh boy let have a party! And glad you changed the title! :D
:)...glad u liked it, Bobbie;)....still really having a challenge wrapping my head around it. I began this 9 days ago as a stall, waiting for Elmo's numbers to creep upwards so could start Lantus, as I had so looked forward to doing. But, here we are and I have had this gut feeling to look to and trust Elmo's body/system , day to day , and be ready to do whatever is best for him ,even if it's not what was expected or planned. :):cat::rolleyes:
 
QUESTION to everyone :rolleyes:.....is a meal manipulated OTJ a true OTJ ??? Shouldn't the pancreas, at this point in time, be able to regulate on its own ??? I don't know..find myself in the newbie role once again o_O. This kitty diabetes stuff is humbling and a get-ur-panties - out- of -a -twist kinda deal....at least that's some of what I'm being taught :)
 
Hey Beth, Not sure what you mean by a meal manipulated OTJ. Elmo hasn't been getting any insulin, right? So, whatever he's doing, he and Mr P are doing on their own. :D
Yah, sorry I didn't word that well....no, he's had no insulin in 9 days. I meant shouldn't Mr P be doing his thing without the mini meals to help him do his Mr P job...is that an indication Mr P is still not fully on the job??? This is what happens when 60 year olds wake at 4 a.m. Cos too paranoid to trust an auto feeder :woot::woot::woot:
 
Bet it's worse up north where you are. Are you all still getting more freezing rain tonight?

That's what they're telling us....we got a good coating today and the side streets are awful but the main roads are mostly wet ....tonight we're supposed to have freezing drizzle and then after midnight it'll change to freezing rain....up to another 6/10th of an inch (which will snap a lot of trees and power lines)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top