1/13 Chino AMPS=473, +3.5=452, +7=456, PMPS=389

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

Off he goes on his little pogo stick. Since he came down to 113 last night, I hold this dose for at least 8 cycles, right? I'll be happy if he breaks this bounce over the weekend. Looks like he tends to do that at night, and it will be easier to stay up and monitor if I can make up for lost sleep during the day.

How long will an open can of cat food stay good in the refrigerator in an airtight container?
 
I'd hold the dose for 6-8 cycles starting the count with this mornings shot. Not sure about the canned food, my spoiled cat won't eat left overs. Looks like you can take a pokie break the rest of the day and catch a nap if possible.
 
Hi Adrian, I went looking for one of your recent condos to check in on you and see you just posted (thanks for making it easy for me! Ha!). I was wondering how your cutie kitty Chino was doing. I see you guys are still stuck in the reds but you did have some blues at the end of last night's cycle! I know what a relief it is to finally see a normal number, although the joy sometimes seems eclipsed by the expected bounce after (since kitty is not used to seeing the normal number). I am hopeful for you that Chino starts to come down soon over the next few days and you can finally feel some relief from the stress of his high sugars.

I know my situation with Ozzy has kept me on my toes and there has been a ton of worry and stress... and he has never had a red or black number (well one red once at the vets office) so I can only imagine how you are feeling right now. It's going to get better from here on out.. You are doing your very best to care for little Chino and it's only a matter of time that his body will start getting used to the healing insulin you are providing and start regulating. Please hang in there and stay positive!

Ozzy and I are sending you big hugs!!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Those were lovely low blues last night. :cool: I was cheering from the sidelines. I can relate to the horrid bounces. Neko used to bounce to red (or worse :mad:) for quite a while after seeing blues then greens. She did eventually settle down. I was thrilled when she started only bouncing to pink. :rolleyes: Then yellow,.... You'll get there.

I mostly feed raw, so I don't keep that in the fridge past a couple of days. I think canned could go a bit longer. Maybe it depends on whether it's got preservative in it?
 
I see you guys are still stuck in the reds but you did have some blues at the end of last night's cycle! I know what a relief it is to finally see a normal number, although the joy sometimes seems eclipsed by the expected bounce after (since kitty is not used to seeing the normal number). I am hopeful for you that Chino starts to come down soon over the next few days and you can finally feel some relief from the stress of his high sugars.

Thank you. As hard as it is to wait out the bounce, his SS is starting to show a pattern of them, so it gets easier to trust that there will be more in the near future and know that the previous one wasn't just a fluke.
 
I'd hold the dose for 6-8 cycles starting the count with this mornings shot. Not sure about the canned food, my spoiled cat won't eat left overs. Looks like you can take a pokie break the rest of the day and catch a nap if possible.

As always, I appreciate the guidance. Chino is the type of cat who would eat almost anything at any time, though he does get picky about temperature. Since the FF fish varieties have fewer calories than what I usually feed them, I might start using those to manage his blood sugar as needed, since I have a stack of them... better to have to throw them out after a few teaspoons because they're cold than to have to throw them out intact because they expired.
 
Neko used to bounce to red (or worse :mad:) for quite a while after seeing blues then greens. She did eventually settle down. I was thrilled when she started only bouncing to pink. :rolleyes: Then yellow,.... You'll get there.

Thank you, that is reassuring. Are cats able to clear a bounce more quickly as things stabilize, or will that always last a few days?
 
Once I got to a good dose and I learned Neko's patterns, she became a bit more predictable. Then I used less test strips.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top