1/13 Baby PMPS 170 +6 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole & Baby

Member Since 2009
I have never had a bubble in my syringe & every time I drew Lantus today I did :?:
I did not know what to do, so I just kept throwing away the syringes & then shot Baby finally - may have had a small bubble, I dunno.
What do I do about these bubbles? My pen was 28 days old & I am very aggressive when it comes to this, so I just opened a new pen - I do every 28 days because I don't want to chance anything, but I don't like this bubble that kept appearing in every syringe.. please tell me how to get rid of that thing.
 
Re: Syringe/Bubble

Hi Nicole, Here's the "tip" for bubbles in the syringe that I wrote in Christie & Willie's condo today.:

" Did I send you my "technique" for cutting down on air bubbles in the syringe? The most important thing to do is this:
Work the plunger back and forth; then PUSH it in FORCEFULLY and HOLD it all the way pushed in while you insert the needle into the vial or cartridge. Then SLOWLY draw out a little more insulin than you need. This greatly minimizes bubbles, but if there should still be bubbles, flick them up to the top of the syringe. Then, slowly, TWIST the plunger until you arrive at your dose. Any air bubbles at the top will be expelled with the excess insulin. Twisting is more accurate than pushing.
I may already have sent you this technique. If so, sorry for the duplication."


Hope it helps!

Ella (sorry, I've never figured out how to do the "quote" thing the real way!)
 
Re: Syringe/Bubble

i've used ella's technique since the first time i saw her post it...and it works wonderfully for us!
 
Re: Syringe/Bubble

That sounds like a great technique. I'm glad I stopped in! I have bubble trouble once in a while too, so I'll try that next time.
 
Re: Syringe/Bubble

If you shot a bubble into Baby, she simply would get a little less than her usual dose. (We shoot sub-cutaneous, not into the vein!!)

Don't worry!!!

Ella
 
Re: Syringe/Bubble

Ella is right. I also was worried about the air and I asked the Registered Nurses where I work about it. They both said since it is not going into a vein, there should not be any problem. I think the air eventually gets absorbed (if that makes sense).
 
Re: 1/13 Baby **Dose Question

Not sure on the dose question... but just tried Ella's technique and it totally works!

Hope you guys had a GREAT day!! Looks like we might be warming up a little?

Christie and Willie
 
Re: 1/13 Baby **Dose Question

I would probably hold the dose at least one more cycle (through tomorrow day, at least). Just a hunch, but I wonder if today's yellow means something. Her PMPS was nice.
 
Re: 1/13 Baby **Dose Question

Do you ask about adding the drop because of (1) the air bubble, or (2) because you want to increase Baby's dose? I would say "no" to (1). Why fool around with it? And for (2), perhaps someone else will weigh in on the possible need to increase the dose, but since you just began a new cartridge of insulin, I would wait and see how the fresh insulin affects Baby's bg numbers.

Have a good evening, Nicole,

Ella

p.s. I see that Libby has just replied to the dose question.
 
Re: 1/13 Baby **Dose Question

Ella.. I was asking about it because I wanted to raise it.. not about the bubble :lol:

Thanks, Libby! I will hold her...!
 
Hi Nicole,
Thanks for stopping by my condo and good luck with the no bubble. I wonder if at times I don't get enough in as a couple times I had a bubble. Good info from Ella.
 
Karrie.. your so sweet.. Baby is a very pretty kitty if I do say so myself.. Celi you should be a comedian! :lol:
Baby is a SPOILED domestic short hair, adopted from a shelter when she was just a kitten & literally has had about 9 lives... long story..
We have TONS of PICS... I won't take up the boards space.. but here are two more for you ... that show her well.. I always say.. she has white eyeliner cat_pet_icon
 

Attachments

  • 100_0313.jpg
    100_0313.jpg
    967.7 KB · Views: 819
  • 100_0278.jpg
    100_0278.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 825
She really is a beautiful kitty, I can see why she is so loved. Is that Sadie with her in the OTJ video? They look so much alike cat_pet_icon . Have a great night :mrgreen: .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top