1/13 - Alphyne - AMPS @ 352, +2 @ 312, + 5 @ 307

bobjoh

Member Since 2021
(previous) 1/6 - Alphyne - PMPS @ 371, +2 @ 307, +6 @ 353 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Well, Alphyne was finally holding blue and yellow for a day or more at the blues or yellows (1/8 to 1/10) after her big crash on 12/29. It looks like it took her almost 13 cycles to clear the bounce though? This is why I can't ever tell if she's bouncing or if her dose is just off.

She was doing so well, and then she bounced again...not sure what caused it, but she's been back in the 300s for a few days. I'm hoping it doesn't take her another 10+ cycles to clear!

I'm not comfortable increasing her dose again since she dropped so low on 3U. I'm going to hold this dose a bit longer to see if she comes back down on her own.

Everyone have a great day!
 
Last edited:
The lows were ages ago with fd, 12/29. An increase is needed. If you wait too long she will need more and more insulin. If following SLGS you evaluate every 7 days.
 
An increase is needed. If you wait too long she will need more and more insulin. If following SLGS you evaluate every 7 days.

Unfortunately, that doesn't work for Alphyne. I'm getting contradictory advice from several members here, so I'm going to hold the dose. I'm also trying to test at different times to see when she's dropping oddly. She held all blue for an entire cycle just 5 days ago, so I have time.

I was actually just posting to try to get back in the habit of posting more often; I'm trying to be more consistent.

Thanks for responding!!
 
Last edited:
That’s fine but Wendy’s comments were on 12/6 if that’s what you are referring to. You will get different opinions at times as this isn’t always clear cut as to what to do. It would be good to post daily.
 
That’s fine but Wendy’s comments were on 12/6 if that’s what you are referring to. It would be good to post daily.

I was referring to switching up testing, which Wendy mentioned on 1/6. :)

Also, sometimes people miss that I'm on SLGS, or using an AlphaTrak, and the advice given doesn't always correlate, so I'm trying to weed through it. LOL! I would never expect everyone to notice all the nuances Alphy (and Gryphen before her) have! I appreciate any and all advice!

Not everyone has time to post every day. I'm doing the best I can. If a few times a week is not helpful to follow what's happening, then I don't have an answer to that.
 
Last edited:
It’s fine. Post when able. If you posted more often advice might not vary as much. Just trying to help. I saw SLGS and the AT. With any meter SLGS is the same.
 
Last edited:
The goal for SLGS is to try to get nadirs in the 90-150 range, whether AT or human meter. Looks like 2.75 units isn't quite doing it. Although I think it'd be worth try 3.0 units again, if that makes you too nervous, do you think you could find a dose part way between 2.75 and 3.0 units? If you hold a dose that isn't giving good numbers too long, glucose toxicity can develop, and then you will need even more insulin.
 
Alphyne continues to surprise:

PMPS 285
+2 224
+4 137

I wouldn't normally have tested at +4 when she was over 200 at +2, but I've been throwing in those 'random' tests. Glad I did! :) We'll see if she holds the numbers like a few days ago or if it was a fluke!
 
Back
Top