1/12 Uncle AMPS 163, +2 95, +3 101, +4.5 46, PMPS 139, +2 89, +3 103, +4 81, +5 105, +6.5 107

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay, whew. I was just stressing because I know we want him to hang on to this dose a bit longer if possible before taking another reduction
AND it is very early into the cycle, I didn't want a 911..
Thanks Karen, glad you and Doodles are here!
 
Hmm, just checked and he's at 131. I don't ever remember him being so responsive to the HC gravy.
If that's not likely then maybe the 46 or this last one was a bad test strip.
 
Last edited:
Assuming the 49 was real and this is a bump from the HC gravy, what is the best testing interval now?
Don't want to have him fall too much when it wears off...
Obviously haven't given him any food now
 
Just a thought: I always retested immediately any time I got a number that surprised me. I know you weren't really surprised by the 46, but maybe you should consider a second test any time you get a number that earns a reduction?
 
I always retested immediately any time I got a number that surprised me.
I've definitely done the same and found bad test strips, more than I would have liked!
maybe you should consider a second test any time you get a number that earns a reduction?
REALLY good idea, because now if I don't take the reduction, I might be playing with fire. I suppose if Uncle goes straight into a bounce, that could be a tell that the 46 was real. If it's a high bounce I will shoot through it. I will ask for feedback later tonight either way!
 
Hey, Barb.

Can you please update your SS as soon as you have a chance? It's much easier to give input when you can see the picture the SS provides. Thanks.
Got distracted getting stuff together for Uncle's visit to the holistic vet tomorrow morning. She hasn't seen him since he was first diagnosed.
I ended up giving Uncle a reduced dose tonight. My uncertainty about today's cycle played a part in it for sure, but I think mostly fatigue. I think I'm trying to reduce the chance that I'll have to stay up with him all night again tonight or miss more work tomorrow. I guess we'll see what happens...
 
Sending surf safe vines your way and good very visit vines!
image.jpeg
 
Well, I thought I was being conservative reducing his dose tonight, but by the looks of it, it might be another night up with him.

With depot insulins, they have to "drain" a little (usually) before you'll see the effect of a reduction.....just like it has to "fill" when you increase

He's already earned the reduction today....he has nothing left to prove tonight....there's really no reason you couldn't carb him up so you can (hopefully) get to bed at a reasonable time
 
With depot insulins, they have to "drain" a little (usually) before you'll see the effect of a reduction.....just like it has to "fill" when you increase

He's already earned the reduction today....he has nothing left to prove tonight....there's really no reason you couldn't carb him up so you can (hopefully) get to bed at a reasonable time
Yes, I realized that after I wrote that about the plunger line. I remember that now, I am not seeing the new dose at play yet. Thanks for the reminder!
 
He's already earned the reduction today....he has nothing left to prove tonight....there's really no reason you couldn't carb him up so you can (hopefully) get to bed at a reasonable time
So watch him now (test, feed etc) to keep him above 50 and then carb him up with HC of MC for one last time tonight at around +4 or so?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top