1/12 Mannie PMPS 385, +2 388, +4 308

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle and Mannie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning LL!! ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) (YUM! A Mannie special!), and Happy Caturday!
LL beans! It is I!, Mannie, kitteh barista! For today I proudly offer Mannie's special 10 hour energy coffee, AND Triple shot espressos, with beans from Starbucks Pike Place Market, their original blend, AND.... for all my Mocha fans: a venti quad peppermint white chocolate mocha, with peppermint infused whip, garnished with peppermint candy chips and white chocolate shavings.... OOOOOOOOOOO!, PRIMO! Only the best for all my customers....OH! Tea infusions too, by request. they is primo! I SWEAR! Today: lemon minty zest!

THANK YOU EVERYONE for your well wishes for Mannie. We are still truckin', taking one day at a time. An U/S has been set for this coming Tuesday, in an effort to see if we can determine any underlying conditions that were not indicated in is recent labs.

1/11 in MannieLand

1/11 RECAP
1/11: fed meal at ps, mini meals @ +1, +2, +3: AM CYCLE:FF Chicken and Beef Feast w/gravy 16%, Tuna Feast w/ Gravy 14% PM CYCLE:FF Tuna Feast with gravy 14% (PS, +1), Wellness Tuna Dinner 14% (+4)
1/11 amps 438: 1st cycle on this dose (.5u), fed BF/16% HC
+1.5 HC gravy - all he will eat
+2 HI :sad:
+4.5 583
+9 514
1/11 pmps 507: 1st cycle on this dose (1.0u), fed 16% HC: attempted...
+1 fed 16% - ate a little
+2 502
+4 319 fed 14% MC
+4.5 fed 14% MC
+5 282

1/12 amps 182: 1st cycle on this dose (.5u), fed 18% HC: what he would eat anyways
+1.5 fed 8% LC
+2 231
+4 140
+6 220
+9 353
1/12 pmps 385: 2nd cycle on this dose (.5u), fed 14/16% MC/HC mix
+1 fed 14% MC
+2 388 fed 14% MC
+3 fed 14% MC
+4 308

Things remain about the same with Mannie. We get a few licks of the gravy fuds, sometimes he will eat some, sometime not. Overall he simply does not feel well. I am hoping that with more consistency in dosing we can at least get his numbers down some, give him a fighting chnace at feeling better. I have set an U/S for him on Tuesday. We did one back in July and at that time it was discovered that he has a lesion on his liver, a growth of some sort. At that time we elected to monitor, and recheck in a few. looks like it it time to recheck, so we will. Perhaps it will reveal any underlying conditions that were not indicated by recent labs. In the meantime I will hopefully find a dose that will keep him in better numbers, taking into consideration his lack of eating. I have been trying to assist feed as well. Not the best thing for him, as it stresses him out something fierce - fearfully stressed. it would be one thing if it irritated him or he just didn't like it, but this is major stress out. so we offer, and stop when the fear starts. it has not been successful. Mannie - here's to you, some very strong feel better vines. Lubs ya big guy! cat_pet_icon

I would love to say all is well in MannieLand, but I am not too sure I can. He does Mannie things, but all is extremely subdued. He's visited the nanners, found a few sunbeams, made snuggles in his bed, even let me gently brush him. He has let DGS visit him, pet him as well. We have had a few sit down and talks, usually resulting in some purrs. He seems very content then. Here's hoping that all will indeed soon be well in MannieLand. Paws crossed. :-D We are.... not quite normalcy in MannieLand.

Have a great day everyone! It will be catch ad errand day here. So much to do! now will I do it? dunno! We are very cold here, but eh days are sunny and bright. I would like to get out on a trail today, might even go to a swim meet where a friend is coaching. That would be fun - love the swim meets. Sure would beat errands.... :-D :-D :-D

Hey everybody!! Molly is OTJ today - we gots a party to do! Don't worry about the manster - I am fine, and I would not miss cooking for an OTJ party for anything!!! I am so there. We is off to Virginia! How cool is that... last minute planning session in the treehouse - bring all your friends - we needs all the help we can get! See you guys! ~~ Mannie

And completely OT: here are some photos taken yesterday from DGS's stay with me. The weather is so cold that we didn't venture out far, as it was difficult to keep him warm in 28 degree weather. :shock:
 

Attachments

  • IMG_4200.JPG
    IMG_4200.JPG
    163.7 KB · Views: 1,022
  • IMG_4224.JPG
    IMG_4224.JPG
    178.8 KB · Views: 1,024
  • IMG_4220.JPG
    IMG_4220.JPG
    67.1 KB · Views: 1,027
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182

Morning Michelle, I had to check and see how our Manster was feeling, but so sorry to hear it is about the same with the appy. We're sending mega healing and feel better vines. Bummer with the assist feeding if it stresses him. Would he lap it from a spoon I wonder? I let Mags lick her bf Miralax cocktain from a spoon. His AMPS this morning is great and getting back on track may help, too. I hope the u/s will help diagnose any changes and get him on a good treatment if need be.
That sure was cold yesterday. I saw the cute video of DGS pulling on some twigs. :-D That third pic is a real winner with the smile.
Mannie, many thanks for all the good coffee no matter what you are always there for us, loves ya, Auntie Ann.

Oh wow with Mollie's party in Virginia. I've been taking some tv cooking lessons, so I can test my culinary skills for today's party with assisting all of you, watch out. :lol: See ya soon at curb, Mags
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182

Hi, Michelle! The amps looks good! I wish Mannie felt better, though. He is getting lots of love from us -- and so are you!

Have a good day and stay warm.

~Josie

PS: That smile! Oh, that beautiful smile instantly opened my heart.
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182

Good Morning Michelle.....Very nice morning start for Mannie, but I too wish he felt better, and would get his appy back. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182

Good Morning, Guys,

Mannie, that's a much better number to start out the day. It should help you feel better to be out of those black numbers. Now, all you have to do is eat some of your good fuds. Rusty is bringing you a nice pot of chicken soup and some beautiful, strong eating vines. He'll be over soon to help with the preparations for Molly's party.

Hi Michelle, I hope that today will be the day when Mannie will begin to eat again. The assisted feeding sounds so stressful for him (and you). Did you see Karrie's suggestions for Salem that Ann/Tess cited for you late last night? (in Camille's condo)? http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=86555#p928782
Karrie knows so much about assisted feeding and also about nausea and what meds NOT to give when your kitty has nausea. Have you joined the Yahoo Assisted Feeding Group? They might have many tips on how to avoid stressing the cat. Perhaps send Karrie (Maverick) a P.M. for assistance.
http://pets.groups.yahoo.com/group/Feline-Assisted-Feeding/

I hope that you will be able to get out today to hike and clear your head. You need some R&R too after this tough week. Thinking of you and will check back with you later. Those are wonderful pictures of Nicholas!

Hugs,

Ella

Yo Mannie, I've got all my grillin' stuff ready for Molly's OTJ party and I'll be over to your place first with some energizing chicken soup for you. We can round up all the Kitchen Krew and get everything under control so the Master Chef can supervise in comfort. See ya soon,
your pal,
Rusty
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182, +2 231

231 @ +2. I was able to get some 8% LC into him. That was encouraging. ;-)

Morning Ann ~O) ~O) ~O) Thanks for the vines - I am remaining positive that we can get this turned around for Mannie. Right now he will eat off of a spoon, if I can find a food that interests him - that varies from day to day. Me too on the U/S. oh yes, we are very cold here - DGS made a few trips out, but not for long. THX on the vid - he was having fun exploring frost. It was cute. I really like that last photo too.
Auntie Ann - you are so welcome! I LOVES my job - wouldn't miss it for anythings! You need more? ~~ Mannie, kitteh barista

Hi Josie ~O) ~O) ~O) it was a great amps - I hope it helps him get back on track. paws crossed! Thanks for everything. and yes, wasn't that a great smile?

Morning Barb ~O) ~O) ~O) Many thnaks - so do I. We keep on truckin' and hope he can turn this around. paws crossed.

Morning Ella ~O) ~O) ~O) Many thanks, and so do I. I did get some LC into him about an hour ago, will be back at that in a few. The assist feed is stressful for him. Yes I did see the links, and yes I am a member of the assist feed group - joined when we had problems with BJ. Playing this one day by day, offer as much assistance to him as I can. And Thanks - I plan on doing just that: getting out for a few. It will clear the head, rejuvenate the juices. :-D Thanks too on the pics - he's a great kid.

Rusty! AWESOME - I am so stoked for this party!! I will be a ton of fun. OOOOOOOOOOOO! Thanks too on the chicken soup. I LUBS that stuff, and it does make me feel so much better. THX! heeheehee - I gets to supervise today? COOL! See you soon!~~ Mannie

Maggie!!! You've been to kitty culinary school???? AWESOME! I am so ready to have you assist in the kitchen - this will be so cool! let's roll - pics you up at the curb. ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182, +2 231


Hey Mannie,

I guess you won't need the KPS after all! Whew! That's good, now you won't have to go into hiding! But hey what's with the tummy upset? If you feel like gacking, be sure to do it on the rugs! It's great! I do it there all the time and love to hear the bean come running and try to put a towel in place before it lands on the rug! It's such a fun game. Sometimes I make noises to give her a running start and sometimes, I like to be stealthy about it and give a silent gack. Maybe if you gack your tummy will feel better?

Just don't gack in the party fuds! That would be a disaster!

Signed Maui the Magnificent

 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182, +2 231

Been thinking about you & Mannie non stop because we love you so much--Hope Mannie will eat a bit today & feels a little better..I know what you are going through & it's very upsetting--Hugs & Many Prayers for our boy Mannie to be better really soon...Maybe feeding him off a spoon would be a good idea,maybe he wouldnt feel so threatened..Moonie hates the syringe, but she must have her meds..I have syringed HC into her several times and baby food..She fought, but I did it.. Not FUN!!! You are a wonderful bean,
I know you will help him..
Pretty good numbers for Mannie today~~ Hope the day improves--We Love you sooooo much!!
Hugs & Love from us!! And HEALING VINES!!!
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182, +2 231

Hey Mannie - Sad to hear you are still having eating issues. Lets hope the U/S on Tues will give answers and they will be good answers. Go find yourself another sunbeam and soak it up. We are currently at 0 (yep, that is cold for almost 10am) with intermitent sun. Fur Ball is in front of the patio door but curls up in a tighter ball when the sun goes away. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Karen
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182, +2 231, +4 140

(((((Dear Mannie))))) Thinking of you and sending eating vines to you dear friend.....
(((Michelle))) You are doing so much for Mannie...hope he will feel better real soon.
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182, +2 231, +4 140

Morning Michelle and Mannie! Soooo sorry for your appy issues! Sending appy vines and healing vines to Mannie! Hope the specialist can figure out if something is wrong so we can fix Mannie up! A lot nicer numbers today for Mannie, nice to see his Mr P and L working. Hope you can get him to eat! Have a great day and hope you get all of your stuff done and save some time for something fun for yourself. Happy Caturday!
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182, +2 231, +4 140

Morning sweet Mannie - I'm sorry you're still feeling crappy, that stinks. I see better numbers but we want to see the WHOLE you feel better.

Michelle, lots of prayers here for ALL of you - it's so hard when our babies are sick, it takes so much out of US too. Take care of YOU too please, worry lets germs attack quicker.

Nicholas - oh what a smile! It lights the world! He's such a beautiful child, I've loved watching him turn from a 'baby' to a 'toddler' to now a 'young child'. He's lost that 'baby' look, I love the look of confidence he has - THAT is priceless!!

BIG HUGS and extra prayers continue,
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182, +2 231, +4 140

140 @ +4, fed some 8% LC, some Whiskas treats. at least he ate the treats, the FF was so so.

Hi Roni - me too on the eating. We are trying all sorts of things: some successful, to a point, some not. And yes on the spoon - that method works best, when he decides that he likes what it is. Thanks for all, we keep on truckin'!

Hi Karen - I hope so too on the US. a big yes on good answers. :-D oh wow - 0 tempo there?? I won't complain about our 26! At least we have sun today. I so hope I can get out for a short hike today.

Hi Pat - thanks so much! We just do the best we can, and hope he gets better soon.

Hey Maui - nope, no KPS for me - all is well. heeheehee on the gacking, nah.... no gacking here. But ya know - I am so there on the rug thing. My bean runs too. It is so funny! My sister does the silent ones all the time. She is the master! Hey - I SWEAR on the party fuds - PROMISE! See you!~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182, +2 231, +4 140

We are oh so very sorry for our Mannie's eating problems. We know how this feels and it is awful. Last year at this time, after Zener's dental, we had to syringe feed him for a week. Liz did most of it. We got in touch with Karrie and she was so very helpful. What turned the corner for our big guy was Cerenia injections and we also started him on ondansetron on a regular maintenance level. And he now takes a maintenance dose of cerenia. We are keeping paws crossed the U/S gives some info to you about our Mannie. Zener is having his U/S on Wednesday. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182, +2 231, +4 140

Hi Anne - I so remember what Zener went through. I may try and syringe feed him again, see how tolerate he is of it all. I so hope too on the US. These next four days will be hard to wait through. I wish the best of luck for Zener too.

Hi Lyresa - Me too - a whole well cat would be so nice! THX, taking care of me too, trying to at least! :-D Thanks so much on Nicholas pics, and all you wrote - he is a ton of fun, and it is just so great to watch him grow up.

Hi Michelle - THX on all. I too hope they can figure out what is going on with him. It was nice to see the better numbers - so agreed. And yes, something for me today. it is a gorgeous sunny day here so we shall head on out in a few.
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182, +2 231, +4 140

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon More hugs for you this morning and scritches for Mannie too. I so hope that he starts to eat soon and that the US give a good result. At least it is great to see him in blues today.

Everyone has suggested so many things I'm running out of ideas. Have you tried blending it up w/ lots of water or what about tuna water? Thinking of you both today. I hope you go out and get to clear your head. It's so great for you to have Nicholas around to lighten the atmosphere.

Mannie, thanks for the late delivery this morning, I appreciated being able to sleep in! And now I'm awake and you've got me raring to go, Auntie Ann

Mannie! You still don't want to eat!!!?????? You GOTS to eat! We needs you to run the kitchen! Well, you can sit and supervise while we work, I gots the mixer and a super recipe for Virginia Apple Cake! The smell of it baking is sure to make you want to eat! -- Tess
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182, +2 231, +4 140, +6 220

MANNIE?! No, no, no! I don't like hearing that you're feeling under the weather. Please get better soon. Like real soon. I know it's got to be stressful on you and your mama bean. **Scritches** to you and ((hugs)) to your mama. Sending health and appy vines your way, Mannie.
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182, +2 231, +4 140, +6 220

Hi Michelle, Sorry Mannie still has appy issues and feeing poorly, I hope the U/S gives you some answers and Mannie gets to feeling better soon. Sending hugs for you and healing and appy vines for Mannie. cat_pet_icon
Leslie
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182, +2 231, +4 140, +6 220, +9 353

353 @ +9. interesting.... I almost hope he stays here. no improvement in appy, poor guy!

Hi Ann - mega thanks on all! it was ncie to see the lower numbers today. It is extremely difficult to know what to shoot, and try to maintain any sort of consistency, when you know eating is a huge issue. we may give the syringe another shot today see if he will accept it. Blending with water is next, got all everyone else has suggested too. it just boils down to the fact that he wants nothing to do with food whatsoever. ARRGGHH! Will try tuna too, got the sardines today - I hear that is very successful. and yes - I did get out, nice walk/hike in the woods here. Very cold out, but it is sunny and quite nice out. and a big YES on having Nicholas here - always brings a smile, lifts my spirits.
Auntie Ann - you gots it! I can still makes the best espresso ever! See you tomorrow, 'K?~~ Mannie, kitteh barista

Hi Deborah - many thanks! I hope he does too. it is as you say - very stressful. We both appreciate the vines. :-D :-D

Hi Leslie - Me too on the US. It is difficult to wait until we can get in. Tanks for the hugs and the vines - we both are grateful.

Tess.... it is true.... I don't like my food, it makes me feel yucky and stuff. My beans says we will go to the vetty in a few to see why. I hope they can fix me, cuz this is so not the Manster. I GOTS TO COOK, ya know? Rusty said I could supervise tonight too. that is cool, but can I just cook one thing? OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO on the cake - I want some already!! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182, +2 231, +4 140, +6 220, +9 353

Hey Michelle,
I'm wondering if Mannie ate the Wiskas treats, might any other Wiskas food appeal to him? saying Mannie prayers and sending you lots of "mom, my tummy feels better and i'm hungry, feed me please" vines.

Hey Mannie, I gots these big shrimp wrapped in bacon on a stick thingys for the party tonight. they go on the grill. I've burned 'em two times already.. Can you do 'em?/ got party hats in my backpack...and foo foo dust to sprinkle on you.. you'll feel better on my way. PARRRRRRTY! Snap your fingers!!!! oliver
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie AMPS 182, +2 231, +4 140, +6 220, +9 353

I'm sorry to hear Mannie is feeling bad and still not wanting to eat. I hope the U/S gives you some idea of what is going on. Sending prayers for Mannie to feel better and start eating.
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie PMPS 385

'Evening (for me) Michelle. .....I have nothing to add to the appy conversation. You are already doing everything a loving mamabean can do for your baby. We've got all fingers and paws crossed that Mannie will want to eat soon.

I just wanted to send a hug to let you know I care. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie PMPS 385

385 @ PMPS. With alot of encouragement I got him to eat some fuds: Hill's MD (yeah I know... but at this point ANY food will do if he will eat it), and some FF Seafood in Gravy, 1/2 a sardine, and a couple bites of tuna. ;-) Dose was still reduced - I really struggled with what to shoot, kept the dose from this morning. we shall see how good of a decision that was. :shock: :razz:

Hi Carla - so many thanks! I do too - the next three days will eb so hard to wait through. I just hope it gives us some answers. Many thanks for the prayers.

Hi Barb - thx, trying the best I can. Such an ordeal! no worries on adding anything, the visit is enough. :-D I so hope he deos too. paws crossed! and many many thanks for the hug: more than appreciated!!

Hi Mary - THX, that is a good thought, and I will pick up some of what Whiskas sells. He did seem to like the treats. At this point I just need him to eat - anything would be good. THANK YOU for the vines. AIyee - this can end anytime soon! :lol:

Oliver dude! That is so cool! big shrimp wrapped in bacon on a stick thingys!!! I LOVE BACON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and shrimp!! ***SWOON*** heeheehee on you burning them - let me show you how, 'K? I lubs to help!! heeheeheee: foo foo dust? maybe that will make my tummy better! :-D :-D uhhhhhhhhhhhh.... do I hafta wear a party hat? ok, I will! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie PMPS 385

Hi again,

Just to report that Rusty tried Wellness Core Turkey and Duck today and liked it a lot. Maybe it will be something that Mannie will like, too.

As you "get through" the next few days, Michelle, remember that you have all your friends here thinking good thoughts for Mannie's U/S. There is power in the board!
Rusty and I send you and Mannie more hugs for tonight.

Ella & Rusty

Hey Chef Mannie, I hear that you are planning to create a new, secret dish for the party tonight. Can't wait to sample it. See ya soon, my pal,

Rusty
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie PMPS 385

Hi Michelle I am so sorry to hear Mannie is not feeling well sending him lots of feel better vines and hope things improve for him soon and gets back to his feel good Mannie self cat_pet_icon :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie PMPS 385

Not a bad day for Mannie today, it was nice to see him get down to blues last night. I am so happy to hear that you go an assortment of different foods into him today without having to assist. Only two and a half more days to the U/S. In the mean time, you are doing all you can. Mannie is lucky to have such a great bean. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie PMPS 385

Michelle, glad you got out on a hike/trail walk today, always helps. It was also very cold here today, too. I'll look for pics on FB tomorrow. Mags and I are saying prayers and sending good appy and healing vines for our Mannie. Hang in there.
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie PMPS 385

Hi Ella - oh cool on the Wellness Core Turkey and Duck. I bought some a while back, and haven't had a chance to try it. Willing to try anything at this point, just as long as he eats. Who knows - maybe he will love it. and THANK YOU for your thoughts - all you guys have been great. and I appreciate knowing that all are there in the trenches with me. It sure does make all of this easier.

Rusty - DUDE! That I am! YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMM! It will be mega good too! See you soon. ~~ Mannie

Hi Lisa - many thanks! I hope he does too!

Hi Wendy - It was actually a good day I think -a t least we had some good Numbers. I expect tonight won't be so good, but it's OK. And me too on then o assist feed. I am really hoping to avoid that if we can. Yupp only 2.5 more days to go. and thanks - I sure am trying. :-D

Hi Ann - me too on the hike. It did alot for that feel better stuff. It was really cold, but the trail was nice, sun was out, so it made for a great time. There are some photos on FB if you have time. Mannie and I say THANK YOU for the vines. yupp: hanging in there! :-D
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie PMPS 385

Michelle I just heard Mannie wasn't eating well. I just posted a lenghty reply to Lisa and DL about appetite stimulants, anti nausea medication and assist feeding. I see he may have a liver issue also.

I urge you to join the Feline Assisted Feeding Forum. You don't have to post but you can read the files. When you join you will be sent five autofiles - one is an indepth article on assist feeding with tips. If you join tonight you can read this article for members on nausea: http://tinyurl.com/nausea-file It won't work unless you are a member.

My thoughts:
1. Sniffing/licking and walking away is classic for nausea. Maverick did this. My Dad had liver disease also and was able to verbalize what liver disease did to him nausea wise and also taste bud wise - 1000x's more sensitive. He didn't eat solid food for six weeks until he went to the hospital and got his diagnosis. Vets are not educated on treating nausea in cats. Just like with FDMB -don't assume they know what to do. Cerenia does not help nausea overall just vomiting. Ondansetron/zofran or dolasetron is a must!!!! It is like insulin is for a diabetic. The nausea article I linked to above has a technical article linked in it written by a renouned vet on why Cerenia, Reglan/Metoclopromide etc is not good for Nausea in cats. Please read and get this for Manny. Dosing is 1mg twice a day. You can increase from here or add a third dose. it can be given along with Cerenia.

2. An appetite stimulant without fully addressing nausea is a bad combo. It would be like chemically forcing you to eat with the stomach flu. If you can't assist feed, you may want to consider an etube. You can read up on this in case you need to go this route on the FAF Forum. For some reason I believe you have experience with this. I can't recall. Appetite stimulants can work so I'm not anti stimulant - I would try everything else first though and ensure that you have nausea addressed. Cerenia will not addresss nausea. If you address nausea he may be more keen on assist feeding too.

The article on assist feeding gives tips on things to try if your cat isn't adjusting well. Some cats need to be constrained but some cats don't for example.

I was thinking about Mannie yesterday and was wondering how he was doing. Hoping everything is okay and this is just a little blip. Maverick needed occasional assist feeding after his recovery from FHL and diagnosis of FD. Only about a week at a time. After his recovery from FHL and having the tube for ten weeks he completely changed personality wise and assist feeding became an option. It wouldn't have been a possibility before the feeding tube.

Sending hugs.
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie PMPS 385

At +1, offered 2 tsps of MD, and he ate it, on his own. Not my fav food, but for now - it's good enough.

Hi Karrie - Thank you for all of the info! I did join the assist feed group last December when BJ was going through her problems. So yes, I am a member. I did watch and read few things just to refresh my memory on it all. I will ask the vet about the Ondansetron/zofran. see if I can get that. I too hope this is just a blip, and all will be well. The U/S on Tuesday will tell us alot. Thank you so much for visiting Mannie, and for taking the time to pass on all that info.
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie PMPS 385

I keep hoping when I stop in that I will see Mannie feeling better. Sending floods of healing white light and absolutely delicious eating vines!
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie PMPS 385

Michelle, I don't know about Mannie's issues - I haven't been on in a long time. I'm also not confident on what medications are compatible so I'm glad you are running it by the vet. Maverick had undiagnosed heart issues. Had I known, I would do things to avoid stressing him also. I'd have been nervous about assist feeding (the Maverick before his feeding tube would not have been okay with syringe feeding) or having a tube placed. I hated bringing him to the vets because he stressed so much. Maybe the appetite stimulant is the best thing but make sure you address the nausea. Make sure you aren't giving too much. The vet can read up on medication compatibility. I can also ask some of the geeky forum moderators and others may know. Sending more hugs.
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie PMPS 385

Just stopping in to send many vines and feel better prayers your way...you're in our thoughts!!!
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie PMPS 385, +2 388

388 @ +2. WOW - no fuds spike... yes: FUDS!!!! This is MD,and he is eating it. I need to warm it, shove the first bite under his nose ,but the rest h did on his own. I so hope this is good news... and I do wish he's chosen something besides MD :roll:

Hi Ann - I would like to think things are better, if only becasue he did eat what was offered, with encouragement. He still seems like he is not 100% - the LB is a mess, but when up and about he seems content. So we continue to ride this out, and do the best we can.
Auntie Ann - I UBS THEM! Those are the best vines: absolutely delicious eating vines :-D :-D :-D ~~ Mannie

Hi Karrie - Mannie was diagnosed with hypertension, and a thickening of one of his atrium walls. he was put on plavix and amlodopine (sp) Plavix as a blood thinner to reduce the risk of clots, and the BP for obvious reasons. Plavix is known to cause nausea in some cats... so we have discontinued that, will start with baby aspirtin, the other treatment drug of choice, once we get through this nausea stuff. IN the interim I have stopped with the meds - as they are precautionary more than anything else. the other issue was that in July of 2012 when we did the first U/S it was discovered that he has a lesion on his liver. we opted to monitor only as I will not put a 16 yr old cat through invasive exploratory surgery to determine what exactly that lesion is,. anyways.... that may have changed since july, may be causing the current problem, therefore the U/S this Tuesday. so.... I really want to avoid any additional stress for him. So am glad we can get the food in him with out the assist feed - only for the stress factor. yes on addressing the nausea and the appy stim. I have stim, but have not used it. THANK YOU for all your help. :-D :-D :-D :-D

Hi Amy - thank you so much - it is so appreciated!!! I hope things are starting to turn around. he did eat on his own... with a little encouragement. :-D
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie PMPS 385, +2 388

(((Michelle))). We are sending Mannie powerful, powerful eating and healing vines. I'm so sorry he's not feeling well and is not doing the CPC thing. Come on Mannie! Get your appy back.

Tobey and Gracie are bringing KTSS and lots of prayers. Tobey thinks some of AuntieEllabeans cimmamum cookies will make Mannie feel better.

I hope some of the great suggestions will work.
 
Re: 1/12 Mannie PMPS 385, +2 388

Hi Amy - so so true! I really do not care right now what he eats as long as he eats. it has been encouraging this evening. :-D :-D

Hi Marje - many thanks! I thank everyone for all their suggestions - we have an arsenal of them all, all lined up and ready to go. ;-) Many thanks for all those vines - they seem to help! :cool: It's hard to say if he really feels better or not, but I am encouraged in that I can get food into him, without having to assist feed. so much less stress for him that way. Thanks for everything.

Tobey? Gracie? you gots auntie ella bean's CIMMAMUM cookies??? really ??? I LUBS cimmamum cookies. bring lots - I am hungry just thinking about them YUMMMMMMMMMMMMM! hey if you don't that's ok - we can bake them here! my bean said it was all good. See you! ~~ Mannie
 
Hi Michelle,
thanks for stopping by tonite!!! I didn't know if i should respond in ollie's condo or Mannie's... so here i am. I hadn't read about Mannie eating some by himself and that is wonderful news.
what, in the name of the round earth are you doing awake??? It must be hard to quiet your mind and put your head down? I'm up for another test or two for ollie. these last couple nights have been kind of late.. but i'm seeing lots of the nocturnal animals in the yard that i usually miss because i'm sound asleep. :lol: :lol:
take good care my dear. mary and ollie
 
Hi Mary ~O) ~O) ~O) it was good to see him eat some on his own. this morning was a bit more of a challenge, but he did eat enough on his own that I could give him his shot. oh well on the hour - it wasn't too bad.... i just wanted to say hi to those that visited us yesterday. somehow that didn't happen during the day. :roll: I know on what one sees out the yard when it is way late - fun huh!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top