? 1/12 Flame AMPS=316, PMPS=296, +3=319 - Baffled!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna and Flame

Member Since 2009
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-11-flame-amps-319-pmps-294-3-322.171164/#post-1868510

good morning..
typing fast cause i am running late. little man was not so cooperative this am. GAH!! he moved again just as i was pushing the plunger for his shot!!! i can not afford to be giving fur shots with his numbers high!! little stinker!! i hope i got it in. didn't feel anything wet or smell any insulin, but i am not sure. i hate that feeling.

ok, gotta run. gonna be late for work! ack!!

hugs and scritches to all the beans and kitties!!
 
Well, I made sure I got that shot in tonite. Had my son distract him while I gave shot. He didn't move this time. Yeah! I haven't given his Flovent tonite yet. Trying a bit of a different tactic. Anyone who read my thread from yesterday knows how distraught I was with him now being afraid of me. I've been doing everything in the same spot, and he's now shying away from me even when I have to test and , which is NOT good. I think I'm going to sit on the floor in the living room tonite to give him his Flovent, so that is not done in the same spot as his testing and shot. Wish me luck!!

Tomorrow could be the big day when I start lowering his pred dose. I was considering holding off another week, keeping up with the training and increasing his Lantus dose for a week, but with his numbers being high for a while now I think I am going to try this. Worst case, if the flovent is a total fail, I put him back on the increased pred dose and work the insulin around it. You never know unless you try.

I think I was so upset yesterday because my AC did a Reiki session with him yesterday and she said his energy was right back to where it was 2 weeks ago where he was the grumpy old man and was just wanting to give up - just kept saying he's tired of all of this and told her in no uncertain terms that he REALLY dislikes that mask. I'm trying to make it less intimidating, getting my technique down and above all... changing my energy to be calmer and more peaceful while doing it. Things could change by tomorrow but that's the plan right now.

Going to go eat something. BBL to check on some of our other kittie friends. Hope everyone had a good day!!
 
I am baffled by these numbers. Down a bit at PMPS, 3 hours after insulin, back up. What's up with that? I KNOW I got that shot in tonite.
I've decided that tomorrow, I'm definitely decreasing his pred to 1.25 mg and I'm going to keep working with the flovent with him. I've gotta get him off this pred and get these numbers moving down.

Is there any reason he would go up at +3? I'm confused. He does nibble at his food since I free feed, but not sure that's it. He had some tuna after his inhaler as a reward, but not that much. He had a little bit of tuna earlier after his shot when I was working with the mask again. Just not at all sure what this boy is doing.

Have to go to bed. Work tomorrow, but at least working from home. Will be getting some mid cycle tests in tomorrow for sure.
What would you suggest in terms of best test times? I'll be decreasing his pred to 1.25 mg starting tomorrow. I don't necessarily think I'll see a big difference on the first day. Would a +2 or +3 be good and then maybe a +5 or +7? I have not been able to really see an onset or nadir yet cause he's been so flat so I'm kind of digging for clurs here. Opinions and advice welcome!!

Thanks everyone... see you in the AM... sweet dreams!!
 
I just looked online to see how long prednisone remains in the system, and multiple sites say that its half life is roughly 4 hours, meaning that half of it is gone in 4 hours - in people. How that translates to cats, I don't know, but I think it would be safe to assume that it works out of the body fairly quickly. They also all say to reduce the dose slowly. Has your vet given you guidelines in how slowly to taper the dose?

As far as testing, I would let each test decide when I tested next. Your goal with SLGS is to keep him over 90, so I would watch his numbers, look at how fast he is dropping, and decide from one test how long you can wait for the next one.

Are you shooting while he is eating? That worked for me because Punkin was definitely more interested in food than in what I was doing with the shot.
 
Sending hugs and vines...:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

I also gave Gussies shot as he ate, and shot on his side rather than his scruff. He really hates having his scruff touched..Vetty ptsd?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top