1/11 Zener PMPS 241;+1 312;+4 75;+5 68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Today
1/11/2012 Zener
AMPS 175, 1st cycle @0.25u, 0.25oz Wellness chicken, 1 mg ondasetron, 1/4PP, FDCh
+1 0.15 mL bupe
+2 syringe fed 20mL Wellness chicken = 0.7oz

I want to nominate Karry (not our Karrie) for an FDMB Academy Award for her vidioe on assisted feeding. The link is also available on the Yahoo assisted feeding group website. I actually got most of 20 mL down Zener this morning with no disaster on the carpet and just a few growls. Kind of cute if it wasn't so stressful. :lol: :lol: He seems to feel better now too. We gave him the ondasetron (anti-nausea) and bupe (pain). Since his dental on Dec. 13, he has only eaten well when on the bupe. :roll: We are going to get an ultrasound when the doc is available. Looks like that will be Saturday. I just gave a token dose this morning since his bg is rather low (for him) and we don't know about eating and he tanks when not eating. Will check go check now for a +3.

Thank you for everyone's caring, concern and expertise. We truly appreciate it! Thinking of ailing kitties, beans and droolers and hoping for speedy recoveries. Tracy, especially you. :smile: Happy Wednesday LL!
Liz
 
Re: 1/11/ Zener AMPS 175 still not eating

Hi Liz, so sorry to hear Zener is still not eating and so glad you found a good video, as it always helps to see it. I've heard that is an excellent Yahoo group with the assisted feeding. Sending more healing vines for Zener and prayers. I hope the Vet can possibly get Zener in sooner if it's at all possible. Hugs and vines for you, too, Liz and Anne.
 
Re: 1/11/ Zener AMPS 175 still not eating

Poor Zener! I am so sorry he's still feeling under the weather. I know how nerve wracking that is for you; all three of you! I hope the vet figures out what has him off his food. Be well Zener.
 
Re: 1/11/ Zener AMPS 175 still not eating

Hoping the bupe and ondansetron help and the ultrasound gives you more information.

That isn't me LOL. That's actually a FAF Member Kathy and her kitty Miss Toady. Its a wonderful video - which is why its on the homepage. Even those without sick or inappetant kitties should watch it. And share if you see other members having difficulty with an inappetant cat. Cats can't go without food like you and I can - their livers don't deal with processing body fat for fuel and clog.
 
Re: 1/11/ Zener AMPS 175;+3 113;+5.5 117 still not eating

I know how stressful syringe feeding can be, for you and Zener. The video helped me with Mookie, too, although neither one of us was that calm. I hope Zener starts eating on his own soon. We're holding him in our thoughts today.
 
Re: 1/11/ Zener AMPS 175;+3 113;+5.5 117 still not eating

I hope Zener starts eating on his own soon. I'm going to watch the video when I get home from work. Too many eyes to do it around here. Big hugs to y'all!
 
Re: 1/11/ Zener AMPS 175;+3 113;+5.5 117 U/S question

Zener spent the afternoon outside in the sun while the cleaning lady was here. Now we are playing "tent". I haven't tried to feed him but don't expect any more success. :sad:

He is getting an ultrasound on Sunday. After Anne leaves for Germany. Oh well. What kinds of things should the vet look for? What questions should I ask?
Liz
 
Re: 1/11/ Zener AMPS 175;+3 113;+5.5 117 U/S question

I'm sorry Zener is still feeling icky, and you're not able to get the US sooner. Just wanted to stop by and let you know we're thinking of you!
 
Re: 1/11/ Zener AMPS 175;+3 113;+5.5 117 U/S question

I'm sorry to hear the Z man us still off his fuds. I wonder what the heck it could be, if only he could talk :roll: Feel better buddy, Leo and I will send you all of our eating vines, lord knows Leo doesn't need to eat THAT much! :lol:

Thank you Anne and Liz for the healing vines for me, I appreciate it BIG TIME! :-D
 
Re: 1/11/ Zener AMPS 175;+3 113;+5.5 117 U/S question

Really sorry to hear Zener is still not feeling well, but I'm glad your syringe feeding today went ok! That is a good video. I'm really fortunate with Jetta, she took to syringe feeding great and it's almost easier to do that than to test her ear sometimes. Bizarre! Anyway, Vines and hugs to all of you, I hope Zener starts to feel better soon. As far as the U/S, the few I've ever had done for various critters, they should examine all the abdominal organs, so you shouldn't have to ask for anything. I prefer to have U/S done by a board certified radiologist perosnally. They're usually better at picking up small oddities and also have always provided me with a full written report detailing every organ, whether normal or abnormal. If you don't get a written, report just make sure the vet runs through all of the organs with you so you have a clear picture of what's going on. We'll be thinking of you and pulling for Mr Z!
 
Re: 1/11/ Zener PMPS 241 U/S question

Today
1/11/2012 Zener
AMPS 175, 1st cycle @0.25u, 0.25oz Wellness chicken, 1 mg ondasetron, 1/4PP, FDCh
+1 0.15 mL bupe
+2 syringe fed 20mL Wellness chicken = 0.7oz
+3 113, 0.7oz 4% Wellness syringe fed
+5.5 117, 0.9oz 4% Wellness syringe fed, 2.5mg pepcid
PMPS 241, 1st cycle @0.5ou, 1.0oz 4% Wellness syringe fed, 1mg Ondansetron

Liz is getting to be a pro at syringe feeding. Zener has not eaten anything on his own today, so we continue with the syringe feeding. We aren't able to get much insulin in him as we are worried about the lack of eating and fortunately his numbers are not sky high. We have been varying between 0.25u and 0.5u depending on his intake of food and welcome any advice from those of you who have been syringe feeding.

We are seeing another vet in the same practice tomorrow as the vet we saw previously felt like she wanted another opinion. The ultrasound is scheduled for Sunday. She also suggested a clinic in Phoenix that is 3 hours away and we just aren't able to make the trip with work and me (Anne) leaving for meetings in Germany on Sunday. I am the one who is thinking about all the bad things that could be going on, like gastrointestinal lymphoma or pancreatic cancer and such. The is his second day on the nausea meds, so we are keeping paws crossed that something changes soon.

Thanks to you all for sending healing vines, advice, suggestions, support and love. I'm sorry I don't have time right now to reply to each and everyone of you or to visit condos. Please keep all that wonderful healing LL energy coming our way. We'll post vet results tomorrow afternoon.
 
Re: 1/11/ Zener PMPS 241 U/S question

Sending feel better and appetite vines to Zener, and hugs to you guys.
 
Re: 1/11/ Zener PMPS 241 U/S? Dose syringe feeding?

Praying that Zenner starts to eat on his own soon and that the US will ot show anything serious. You are taking such good care of him, I know the syringe feed must be hard for you, but that video was great. One thing she mentioned that we tell newbies and is really good to remember. If you get stressed out, Zenner can tell and he will stress out too. Maybe replace that iced tea she was drinking w/ a glass of wine! ;-)
 
Re: 1/11/ Zener PMPS 241 U/S? Dose syringe feeding?

Also sending many prayers. If the person doing the U/S is not a board certified radiologist, ask them if one will be reading the U/S. Many clinics have contracts with board certified radiologists and they send them the images to read. That is the next best thing.

I've linked to Kathy's video many times in other condos....it is great. Glad you were able to learn from it. I'm hoping he'll start eating on his own soon.

Keeping you all in our thoughts and wish we could be there to help you out. Sending big hugs and Gute Reise wishes for Anne.
 
Re: 1/11/ Zener PMPS 241 U/S? Dose syringe feeding?

Thinking of all of you tonight. Healing vines, snowflakes, and good energy being sent your way. Hugs and scritches to all!!
 
Re: 1/11/ Zener PMPS 241 U/S? Dose syringe feeding?

Hi guys,
Lots of healing vines for Zener tonight. I'm so glad that the syringe assist feeding is going well. Zener, you'll be eating again on your own very soon!
It's good that Zener will be getting the ultrasound. We will be thinking good thoughts on Sunday and keeping you all in our thoughts and prayers.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/11/ Zener PMPS 241;+1 312 U/S? Dose syringe feeding?

Thanks to all for your support and responses. You keep us going!
PMPS 241, 1st cycle @0.5ou, 1.0oz 4% Wellness syringe fed, 1mg Ondansetron
+1 312, offered food but not eating yet
~2 1.1oz 4% wellness syringe fed

It looks like perhaps we are getting in enough food syringe feeding to get a food spike at +1. If his numbers get a bit higher and the syringe feeding remains successful, we will try to increase his insulin dose tomorrow.

@Dyana - thank for the appetite vines and hugs, much appreciated. :YMHUG:

@Ann & Tess - Liz likes the wine idea! I am from the south and we always referred to ice tea as "the wine of the south". :lol:

@Marje - thanks for that. The clinic does not have a board certified radiologist, but they will send them to be read by one. This is the only clinic in town that has ultrasound services at all. Thanks for the hugs and the travel wishes. It will be extremely difficult to be so far away. :sad:

@Melissa & Mr T - thanks for all the goodness coming our way. :-D

@Ella - Liz is becoming a real pro with the syringe feeding and Zener is getting more adjusted to it. We keep offering food before hand but nothing happening yet. I will be leaving for Germany Sunday am, and it's about to kill me. Liz will post results to LL once we have them.

Thanks again to everyone for all your help and support. We are so very grateful. Will have another vetty report tomorrow evening.
 
Re: 1/11/ Zener PMPS 241;+1 312 U/S? Dose syringe feeding?

aw, it's so natural to have your mind go to the worst possibilities, anne. hang in there! you've got the power of Lantus Land all cheering for zener! and of course it's when you're traveling.

we'll be watching for more updates.

hugs!
 
Re: 1/11 Zener PMPS 241;+1 312;+4 75

PMPS 241, 1st cycle @0.5ou, 1.0oz 4% Wellness syringe fed, 1mg Ondansetron
+1 312, offered food but not eating yet
~2 1.1oz 4% wellness syringe fed
~4 75, 1.1oz 4% wellness syringe fed

We tried to give Zener one of his treats, which is the only thing he has eaten since the vomit episode Monday night. He started to eat and chewed it a little then dropped it out of his mouth and wasn't interested in it anymore. He got up and moved away from it. So, since he had dropped so much, we gave him 2 drops of karo while we were syringe feeding him. I was trying to find him to start his feeding and told Liz "he's hiding from us". Just then we hear the cat door into the garage and Zener runs down the hall - a happy crap dash! So, he is pooping (and it looked pretty normal) and peeing. Missed the catch to check for ketones today. Liz managed to get over 3 oz in him tonight!

@julie - thank you for the reassurances. I had a bit of a cry tonight when he wouldn't eat his favorite treat and told Liz I was so discouraged and didn't want to be "torturing" him. Then the happy crap dash, maybe Zener knew I needed some sort of reassurance too.

I hope all kitties are doing well in LL, we just don't have time to check in right now.
 
Re: 1/11 Zener PMPS 241;+1 312;+4 75

Please give Zener our strongest Healing vines & wishes for him to EAT!!!
I know so well how upsetting it is to have your kitty not want to eat, but a spark of energy tells you that
Zener still has his spunk & that is great!!!
Just keep doing it your way--KNOW THY CAT! and You Do!! So go the way that he has done the best with-
My Prayers for Healing & a good vet visit with some new ideas & Zener eating are sent to all of you!
Holding you close with Hugs & Love from us!!
 
Re: 1/11 Zener PMPS 241;+1 312;+4 75

Hi guys - I am so sorry that Zener is still not felling that well, having eating issues. I now how it feels when you have so syringe feed then. Been there too on the cry when they won't eat there fav foods. It was tough with BJ - we went through that with her, I hoe Zener feels better tomorrow. hang in there - things will improve, I am certain. it is good I think that you will be getting an U/S - it will rule out any serious illness, and hopefully let you know what is happening with Zener. many healing vines to all!

Zener - watch for us - the KTSS is coming. I will bring you some of my chicken soup - I know you will like it. and uhhhh... it fits in those syringes too, if you want. See you later! ~ Mannie psttt - leave the aback door open for us, OK?
 
Re: 1/11 Zener PMPS 241;+1 312;+4 75

You're the bestest, Mannie! Back door is unlocked, come on in. I am in my yurt. See you soon! Zener
 
Hi ladies (and Zener),

Sorry that the big guy is still not eating :sad: I was reading this thread on Health viewtopic.php?f=28&t=60867
and I thought you guys might be interested in some of the info there. Also, Carolyn (and Latte) mention in that thread that IV meds worked better than oral for her kitty - this might be something to mention at your next vetty visit. Since Zener's problems have been GI in nature he may not be absorbing drugs very well through that route. Just a thought, I know you guys have to be worried sick :sad:

We continue to send you vines and have our paws crossed. :YMHUG:
 
You guys are doing everything you can. Hearing the updates on how Liz is doing with syringe feeding made me smile. You won't be adding liver issues on top of what ever he is dealing with.


Have you tried seeing if he will lap up pure meat baby food on his own? Its not that high in calories (the pure meat and broth ones - no onion or garlic/seasoning) but it may wet his appetite. You can also try syringe feeding a mouthful or two and then presenting food also.

If mouth pain or discomfort is a possible factor, have you tried blending his old food with a bit of warmed up water? See if he can lap it up. This is how a lot of cats return to eating on the FAF forum. I wouldn't try and rush him back to eating on his own trying a million things. This can backfire and lead to food aversion - when a cat isn't ready to eat on their own. They will eat on their own when they feel better.

I know your heart is heavy thinking of leaving him for a week, but it really seems like Zener is in amazing hands while you are away. Sending hugs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top