1/11 Zeke AMPS 169; PMPS 85; +6/107 (Shoot - too much carbs)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Happy Caturday LL ~O) ~O)

Sending healing, appy and comfort vines to all that need them.

Well, Zeke was a little higher this AM than he's been the last couple of mornings. Looks like last night he had a little bit of a bounce from the low numbers in the AM cycle. Fortunately he cleared it pretty quickly but I guess still had a little bounce left, as he was at 169 at AMPS. Due to higher BG, I kinda thought that maybe today we might be able to relax a bit on the monitoring, maybe see him dip only as low as perhaps 80 or so.

While sitting and relaxing having coffee with DH, started thinking I guess I better just go check on Zekey. Twenty minutes later walked over to Zeke and did his +3 (20 minutes late). Whoa. The meter registered 54. Well, just goes to show I should not EVEN try to pretend I can predict what he might do any given cycle. So I guess I’m back on the hourly testing (at a minimum) for the next two hours or so. I’m just hoping he doesn’t dip below 50. I feel really bad that I didn’t get him above 50 yesterday sooner than I did (he was below 50 for about 2 hours :sad: :-x :oops: ). I thought I was giving him enough carbs to get him up but I guess because he’d thrown up I should have known that I needed to be more generous with the carbs and break out more of the gravy and MC/HC. Trying to balance giving him enough carbs but not too much and only testing him every 30-45 minutes or so vs every 15-20 is very tricky. I need to keep working on that balance. Well, I'm off to get his +4.

Zeke's Yesterday
 
Re: 1/11 Zeke AMPS 169;+4.25= 43; Dose Advice Plz

Sorry I missed you all yesterday and I looked for you Thursday but didn't see a condo. I know life gets really busy.

So I think it's time for a reduction for Zeke :mrgreen: :mrgreen: He's been between 40-50 three times and so I recommend you to drop his dose by 0.25u to 0.5u. YAY!!!! Great job Zeke and Laura!!!! Let's see how he will do with a full reduction. If he doesn't like it, you have something to go back up to (0.75u) if you need to.

What do you think?

Have a great Saturday.
 
Re: 1/11 Zeke AMPS 169;+4.25= 43; Dose Advice Plz

YAY, I did a better job today of getting him back up above 50. At +5.25 he's at 55. Will continue to monitor.

On this current dose of 0.75u, Zeke dropped below 50 on 1/8, 1/10* and today.
*Zeke threw up during his pre- & post-shot feeding routine so I was inclined to dismiss the drop that day as I felt it was most likely due to him throwing up. We feed 1/2T each during the T/F/S process, after his shot and again approximately 20-30 minutes after eating his post-shot meal.

Because he dropped again today without any mealtime issues, I'm thinking that I should not dismiss yesterday's drop but instead include in the number of drops <50 on this dose which would bring the running total to 3. We know what that means - REDUCTION.

OK, I'm pretty sure I know what you are going to recommend but here's my question. Because dose adjustments are based on the nadir, and he's dropped 3 times, I should take the full reduction despite the fact that one could argue that yesterday's drop may not have occurred had Zeke been able to keep his breakfast down, right?

Recommendation is: I should (i.e., MUST) take the full reduction and start Zeke on 0.5u tonight, right?

Another question (I expect you guys are gonna say - "Ah.... can't tell the future", "Who knows" , "ECID" or something along those lines). Because Zeke's still having PSBGs above the normal range, is it more likely that the reducie is not going to take? I know I should (well, really, must) take the reduction but at the same time I'm anxious about it because his BGs are above the normal range. Seems counterintuitive to therefore take the reduction but I know this "rule" is in place to keep the kitty safe. Still, I was curious if you've seen a kitty's BGs improve on a lesser dose despite having above normal numbers before the reduction. Have you?
 
Re: 1/11 Zeke AMPS 169;+4.25= 43; Dose Advice Plz

Marje and Gracie said:
Sorry I missed you all yesterday and I looked for you Thursday but didn't see a condo. I know life gets really busy.

Hi Marje, I was actually getting to ready to PM you. Was worried because I didn't see a condo for Gracie yesterday. Did I overlook it?

Marje and Gracie said:
So I think it's time for a reduction for Zeke :mrgreen: :mrgreen: He's been between 40-50 three times and so I recommend you to drop his dose by 0.25u to 0.5u.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: You beat me to the punch!!! My post came in just after yours. I know, I know, I know. It's REDUCIE time!!! We'll be keeping fingers and paws crossed that somehow his numbers are going to improve on a lesser dose. Not sure how that's gonna work but we're gonna stick with the Protocol and take the recommended reduction. Is there something I can do to help with the PS numbers? I've seen some posts about feeding 3 hours before PS to cause the BG to drop but of course that only happens if Mr Pancreas will play along. Do you think I should try that with Zeke? Just feed him like 2% perhaps?
 
Re: 1/11 Zeke AMPS 169;+4.25= 43; Dose Advice Plz

We cross posted so you might want to look at my post above yours :-D

The PSs are usually the last to come down and especially the AMPS. Yes, I have seen cats continue to come down the dosing scale even though their PSs were not in normal range but their nadirs were. Take a look at Leo's SS. Ignore the pink/red PS as he got lower in dose because Lisa travelled with him and it always made him sick and made his BGs rise. It seems to me that cats coming down the dosing scale slowly (not speeding down), just start to get more and more green as they spend more time in normal numbers and stop bouncing. They tend to flatten out.

I wouldn't worry about those PSs right now. Just keep doing what you are doing which is good....he's doing great!
 
Re: 1/11 Zeke AMPS 169;+4.25= 43; Dose Advice Plz

Marje and Gracie said:
I wouldn't worry about those PSs right now. Just keep doing what you are doing which is good....he's doing great!

Thanks Marje for your words of encouragement. I'm feeling a little less nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile (you know how I am)
 
Re: 1/11 Zeke AMPS 169;+4.25= 43; Reducie on the way

Yes I know how you are because you are a "mini-me" :lol: :lol: :lol:

No...I wouldn't feed a +9 meal. That is really for cats that are about to go OTJ and it's a food trial we do just to see if the pancreas is working before they stop the juice. What typically happens when you feed a cat after nadir is it slows the effects of the insulin. Think of it as a car coming up to a stop sign. Th insulin is the car and the PS is the stop sign. If you don't feed after nadir, it's like just taking your foot off the gas and gliding up to the stop sign. If you feed after nadir, it has the effect of just slamming your brakes on. So let the insulin be able to do it's full job. Use food at the beginning of the cycle to manage the curve as the insulin onsets. Unless he's got low numbers after nadir, you wouldn't feed.

You know I'm cheering Zeke on with his reduce!!

PS...you didn't miss our condo yesterday. Just a really busy day here so I didn't get to post. thanks for thinking of us.
 
Re: 1/11 Zeke AMPS 169;+4.25= 43; Reducie on the way

Marje and Gracie said:
You know I'm cheering Zeke on with his reduce!!

Thanks Marje! Zekey and I can use all the cheering on we can get.

I may not have the time to post on many condos but I skim through the subject lines most every day. I get so excited when I see that someone has had an awesome surf, earned a reduction or is just doing better overall. On the other hand, when I see that someone is having difficulties or just not that great a day, I am so bummed out. My heart goes out to them and their beans. It would be my wish (as I'm sure is the case for everyone here) that ALL our sugarbabies bodies would heal and resume their normal functioning again. I'm cheering on everyone that's on this board.

(Pssst - Don't tell anyone but I'm doing some extra cheering on for you and Gracie ;-) )
 
Re: 1/11 Zeke AMPS 169; PMPS 85 (Reducie tonight)

Hi Laura,
Zeke is looking good, and YAY for keeping him from further dropping earlier today!
Congratulations and good luck on the reduction!
Paws crossed the new dose holds.
 
Re: 1/11 Zeke AMPS 169; PMPS 85 (Reducie tonight)

HI Mariko,
Thanks for dropping by and wishing us well. I'm glad to see that Lucy felt well today. Hope you recovered quickly from your Cosco ordeal. Hope you continue to have a nice weekend.
 
Re: 1/11 Zeke AMPS 169; PMPS 85; +6/107 (Shoot - too much ca

SOG - Over did it with the carbs again. I just didn't know what to expect with the lower PS, got nervous and I over did at + 2.5. Gave him 13% and 9%. DARN IT! I just didn't want to risk him going below 50 again. One day too little carbs and another too much. UGH!! I'm just hoping I'm not gonna wake up to some really high AMBG. No, please, NO. I just want a nice easy flat green surf for Zekey. Hopefully, I'll get a chance to get it right tomorrow. Stupid carbs. :-x

Fingers and paws crossed we have a better surf tomorrow on this 0.5u.
 
Re: 1/11 Zeke AMPS 169; PMPS 85; +6/107 (Shoot - too much ca

Remember that Zeke's body does not know the difference between 85 and 107 ;-)

Both are normal numbers and his pancreas is healing. Also.....carbs wear off and wouldn't be responsible for a higher BG tomorrow. If he's higher tomorrow, he's bouncing or his depot is draining.

Night, Laura!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top