1/11 Jackson

Status
Not open for further replies.

JacksonCatson

Member Since 2012
Hi all,

After a high day yesterday after three days at 1.0 u, I upped Jackson to 1.25u. He had a pretty high morning, but has taken a dive this evening. Here's the numbers:

+11.25 317
AM shot: 1.25 u
+6: 235
PMPS: 304
PM shot: 1.25 u
+4.5: 75

I gave him a 1/4 can of LC FF at +4.5 (he typically gets 1/2 can, but I'm thinking that I may need to keep feeding him through the next few hours).

It's been about 20 mins since I last tested and I will probably test again 30 mins then will keep an eye at least through +7. I'm guessing we have some more dropping to see -- at what point should I try to slow things down?

Thanks -- sorry to be posting so late on a Friday night!
 
Re: 1/11 Jackson *please take a look -- Jackson taking a div

Sarah....let me look at his SS. That is a pretty good drop so I'd actually test 30 mins from when he ate and see if you got it slowed down. If not, give him a couple more tsp LC and retest in 30.

We call that lather, rinse, repeat....or test, feed, repeat.

Don't worry about asking for help on a Friday. There are several of us watching the board tonight. See you shortly.
 
Re: 1/11 Jackson *please take a look -- Jackson taking a div

Please be sure you read the above post.

He's clearing a bounce plus the added insulin is probably contributing to his fast drop. It's not really bad...I've seen them go faster :-D

I'd leave him at this dose unless he goes below 50 because often they get lower as they are clearing a bounce out but then they settle back into the dose with a little bit higher numbers. Hard to say for him because there isn't quite yet enough data ...you are doing fine with testing now but it usually takes more than a months worth of data on a newly dx kitty to really see how they respond.
 
Re: 1/11 Jackson *please take a look -- Jackson taking a div

Just tested. At +5 and after 1/4 can of LC FF, he's up to 82.

Is this likely a bump from the food? How long will it last, and should I keep feeding?
 
Re: 1/11 Jackson *please take a look -- Jackson taking a div

I'd get a test at +5.5 and see what the numbers tell you . You want at least 2 tests without food bumping up the numbers that have Jackson in a safe range.
 
Re: 1/11 Jackson *please take a look -- Jackson taking a div

Thanks Marje and Sienne.

Jackson is hanging in at 83 at a little after +5.5.

I'm going to take the opp to ask a few questions:

1. Do you have any advice for better understanding a "bounce"? Am I supposed to do anything in response to a bounce or just ride it out? Should I have waited on upping his dose until he had cleared the bounce?

2. Should I keep shooting at 1.25? I will be around tomorrow during the day to keep an eye on him, but I'll be gone soon after the PMPS until about +4 or +5.

Thanks for all the support!
 
Re: 1/11 Jackson *please take a look -- Jackson taking a div

When a kitty is first dx, they have usually been at higher numbers for a bit and the liver has gotten used to those numbers as normal. So when the depot fills and the kitty starts to see better numbers, the liver might "panic" and release counter regulatory hormones and glucagon to raise the BG. The numbers the liver reacts to might not be super low...just lower than it is used to...or also if the nu bears drop quickly. This is called a bounce. Bounces can take six cycles to clear..sometimes longer.

I think you were fine when you increased because he was starting a bounce. Jackson might be a slow responder and so next time he's seeing alot of blue, maybe hold the dose a few more cycles and see how he responds.

Yes, I would keep shooting 1.25u. See how he does tomorrow...if he's bouncing tomorrow night, you'd want to shoot his normal dose. If he's low,you might have to skip.

I'd test in an hour and make sure he's on the way up before I called it a night.

Good job!
 
Re: 1/11 Jackson *please take a look -- Jackson taking a div

How you deal with a bounce depends on your comfort level with managing low numbers. When someone is new to FD, we generally suggest waiting for the bounce to clear before raising the dose. The reason is, as your seeing, the bounce breaking AND raising the dose can cause numbers to drop, sometimes hard and fast. As long as you are comfortable using food to steer the curve, it's OK to raise the dose. You just need to monitor and make sure you have the supplies you need.

Unless Jackson's numbers drop into dose reduction range, hold the dose. It's possible that he's working toward a reduction.
 
Re: 1/11 Jackson *please take a look -- Jackson taking a div

Thanks -- that is helpful to know, and I appreciate your taking the time to explain. My plan is to get through +7, as I've seen lowish numbers then.

Somehow, the two cats are napping, and I'm the only one up waiting to do more testing...oh, the things we do. :-D
 
Re: 1/11 Jackson *please take a look -- Jackson taking a div

Oh yes...the things we do. :-D

I always like to suggest to new members that you go back and read your condo all the way through to make sure you didn't miss a post....sometimes the posts come at the same time and its easy to miss one.
 
Re: 1/11 Jackson *please take a look -- Jackson taking a div

OK, Jack is at 92 at +7, so I'm feeling comfortable with going to bed. And feeling sleepy.
Just gave him the rest of his bedtime snack and will start over tomorrow! Thanks for all the advice. Good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top