1/11 Gracie PMPS 290 +3 258 +5 272 +10 299 DOSE QUESTION

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS: 278 5th cycle f1u
+2: 197
+3: 124 one drop karo to slow drop
+4: 107
+6: 51 fed 1/2 tsp 4%/one dop karo
+7: 66
+8: 89
+10: 71 fed 1 tsp 4%
PMPS: 80 6th cycle f1u
+1: 89
+2: 43 fed 1 tsp 6%/2 drops kar
+2.5: 33 fed 2 tsps 18%/1/2 ml karo
+3: 59 fed 1 tsp 6%/one drop karo
+3.5: 68
+4: 47 1 tsp 14% gravy/one drop karo
+4.5: 48 1 tsp 6%/one drop karo
+5: 79
+5.5: 112
+6.5: 122


Good morning out there!! Still sending healing vines to Claudia and Rocket...they still need a little more of that good whammy. Also sending healing vines for Mannie today as he has a dental and has a small cyst removed (and butt shave) :lol: :lol: Comfort vines for Michelle as we all know how nerve wracking dentals can be. KTSS will be on its way as soon as Mannie gets home, Gracie tells me.

WCR: 3Ps in place and one scarf and barf. She seemed ravenous this morning and so I was worried her BG might be low. HA :shock: She did, in fact, bounce marring her beautiful SS with ugly pink after 6 days of none. I often do a +1.5 and didn't last night as she seemed on the rise and had a slight food spike at +1. So...back to doing +1.5 tests as that seems to be when her insulin onsets. Although she qualified for a reduction last night, I shot her f1u through the bounce and will see what she does today. She did eat again after she had the pukus...unlike Gracie so I know she just ate too fast...not a very good thing for a princess to do.

With Gracie's extra activities this morning and a few other cat-related issues, I'm running late so need to get to TBP. Will check in condos later today, I hope. Continued prayers for our Tucson community. I understand President Obama is coming to Tucson tomorrow for the memorial service for those slain.
 
Re: 1/11 Gracie AMPS 351

oh, gracie...you needs to stop visiting those upper floors, princess!

gracie...tells Misser Obama hello from all us kitties...
binks
 
Re: 1/11 Gracie AMPS 351

ah Gracie - it's OK, we all bounce now and then - i mean ya know, look at me! See you later. I gotta go - my bean has that traveling kitty palace and she says I need to be somewhere.... :shock: :shock: huh???? oh oh....... ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/11 Gracie AMPS 351

Good morning guys ... long night last night so a bounce was to be expected I guess .. I hope gracie comes back down to those greens again soon .. .have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/11 Gracie AMPS 351 +1.5 351 +3 315

Thanks Devon....well, we thought we were getting past those bounces...six days without one. I blame us....should have checked that 1.5 and controlled the drop like we have been doing. So...I don't think I'm going to reduce her until she starts getting back to where she was.....hopefully soon.
 
Re: 1/11 Gracie PMPS 290

Stubborn girl is still in this flat number today :shock: :? :? I still shot her regular dose of f1u and did not reduce it yet. I want to see her back in good numbers before we do a reduction. Paws crossed. Hope everyone has a great night....so glad Mannie is home safe and sound!
 
Re: 1/11 Gracie PMPS 290

Gracie was just on that bounce and it looks like she's coming down now. I hope she doesn't dive tonight and just comes back slowly from that bounce.

Thanks for the info on the Azodyl, Marjorie. I used it with Blackie for about 1 1/2 years and I never noticed any difference, so I stopped it. He's getting so many supplements now, I don't really want to restart it. You can post it in Supply Closet or if you belong to a CRF group, maybe you can find someone in your area that can use it.

Thanks for checking in on us, too. I really appreciate it.
 
Re: 1/11 Gracie PMPS 290

Hiya, Marjorie & Gracie.. Mike too! I totally feel ya on wanting to shoot through higher numbers.. & want someone else to weigh in with what I am about to type.. but I recall.... if you do not take your reductions you lose them.. I saw it in other condos & never asked because I did not want to hijack the condo with my own questions.. I wish there was a "general Lantus forum day" where we could ask questions.. unassociated with a direct condo.. like once a month because I have a handful of questions that do not "fit" on the board anywhere & I would like input. Anyway.. I have no idea what it means to "take it or lose it" but I interpreted it to mean.. take it. Love ya guys & wishing nothing but the best!
 
Re: 1/11 Gracie PMPS 290

Hi Marjorie, sorry to have missed a couple of days, been a little hectic around here and the old computer at DS is touchy. We have been trying your trick of a drop of syrup at the first sign of a big drop and I think it's helping! :-D Thanks!

You know what they say about flat yellow! ANd it is so much better than the bungee cords.

Gracie! Wow is Mannie out of it! Do you think we should stay w/ him all night? I think he needs some watching, or maybe just embarrassing pix for later! -- Tess
 
Re: 1/11 Gracie PMPS 290

Nicole: I don't know what that means either. Would be a good question to have an answer to.

Sienne: I was just trying to get her through this bounce and she was still so high tonight. Mike is staying up to keep an eye on her in case she starts to clear it during the night; if she's trending downwards by the time he's pooped, I'll get up and check her at +8/+10 and will definitely do a +11 to be sure she is not dropping. I'll shoot the shaved dose in the morning. As you know, she doesn't hold her reductions well and Jill/Libby said it isn't required to wait a certain number of cycles to go back up if the reduction fails so we'll shave and go back up pretty quick if we have to. Thank you!
 
Re: 1/11 Gracie PMPS 290 +3 258 +4 285 +5 272 +10 DOSE QUEST

Sienne pointed out last night that Gracie qualified for a dose reduction based on her 33 on the 2nd cycle 1/10. She is in a bounce right now and I shot the
regular dose (not reduced dose) through both cycles yesterday as we were here to monitor her. Checked her +10 this morning and still no breaking the bounce.
My question: if I reduce her dose today, how do I tell the difference between the bounce and a failed reduction as this is the step down she usually has a problem
with. Do I assume that her max bounce would be 72 hours and high numbers after that means failed reduction and take her back up. OR is it possible to just leave
her at her current dose through the bounce since Mike is here to monitor her all day and we are both here at night? That would be my preference....and then
to take her down AFTER she is through the bounce if her numbers warrant it. I am afraid this bounce may have set her up for a failed reduction before we even
get there. THANK YOU! Shooting today at 7:30 MST.
 
Re: 1/11 Gracie PMPS 290 +3 258 +4 285 +5 272 +10 DOSE QUEST

Hi, Marjorie.. I am not sure of the right answer.. but with Baby, I take the dosecrease & then hold the dose for 6 cycles & consider it failed if I have to go back up after 6 or so cycles. I am bumping you up.. I get the impression & could be way wrong.. but.. by not taking the earned dosecreases when due that it sets the kitty up for lower #s eventually, then causes the kitty to bounce & then you end up in a repetivite cycle that most of us are desperately trying to avoid.. low #s/bounce/low #s/bounce & so on.

I am bumping your question & wishing you luck ;-)
 
Nicole...thanks for the info!!! Jill told me there is no reason to wait six cycles on a dose reduction. I guess I'll reduce this morning and then see what happens. Thanks!!!
 
Yes, I would reduce this morning. Try not to get ahead of yourself, ok? Just reduce and see how it goes. When they start down the dosing ladder, it's a balancing act, but you don't want Gracie to get ahead of you, especially with the shed with lantus.

I know the dose (1.0u) is what is making you question the wisdom of reducing...try not to get too hung up on what doses didn't work before, because that was before, and this is NOW, things are changing for Gracie. You really need to reduce with a 33, and hopefully the bounce will clear this morning. Either way, it will clear and if you hold the dose, she may drop very low again....
 
I agree with everything Laurie posted. In addition, with a dose reduction, especially one off of a below 40 number, if you don't use it, you lose it.
 
Thank you all, esp Laurie and Sienne with dosing recommendation. I did reduce to 1u this morning and we'll see how she does. Thanks again!
 
Wishing Gracie and you the very best with the reduction. Learned a whole lot reading this. Thanks.

Cee & Gandolf cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top