1/11-Flame-AMPS=319, PMPS=294, +3=322

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thanks Carla! I hope so too, but unfortunately, I'm at TBP so not home to test. :( We saw a little bit of yellow last nite and I was hopeful, but back in the pink this morning.

Hope you have a great day!!
 
Maybe you'll come home to a yellow number. I completely understand not being able to test during the day. When Furball was on insulin, I could not come home from work to test.
 
PMPS a little bit lower. I decided not to do a full .25 dose increase, but did "fatten" up the 1U slightly. Instead of the plunger being exactly even with the middle of the 1U line I measured so the top of the plunger was at the bottom of the 1U line.
I have to be honest, he is having a really hard time accepting the Flovent so I am now undecided whether to give him more time to adjust before I wean him off the pred. In that case, I'll probably have to increase his dose. I am having a very hard time with all of this.

I will be gone for a couple hours. I go to a yoga class for an hour on Wed. It's my only sanity right now, so I need to go. BBL...

Hope everyone is doing well today. :bighug:
 
Hi Donna Hope Flame will start to show you some lower numbers soon and that you will be able to reduce the pred .Sorry about the Flovent and him not accepting it very well. Have you tried putting it on him briefly and then taking it off and giving a low carb treat? And then next time keep in on a litte bit longer before you give a treat
 
Hi @Bobbie And Bubba
Yes, I've worked with him for about 2 weeks. First introducing the mask alone with small pieces of tuna or turkey lunch meat inside it so he has to eat it out of the mask. Then, when that went well, I put the mask on the AeroKat chamber and did the same thing for about a week. In between, I'd just put it on him without the inhaler and reward him every time he kept it on for a few seconds. He will bury his nose in the mask to get the treat, but when I try to do a treatment, he fights like heck.
The worst part is, he now seems afraid of me and that is quite literally breaking my heart.

I do everything on my kitchen bench (I have one of those built in corner units) and he'll lay up there, even started coming for testing and shot, but now that I've been using the inhaler, he shies away. I am considering only doing t/s there and taking him someplace else to do the inhaler. I am wracking my brain trying to figure out what to do.
I do end up getting a full dose (10 breaths) into him but at the cost of having a freaked out, fearful kitty. He used to be my "velcro" cat.. always with me, always on top of me whenever I sat down... now, he want's little to do with me. It hurts my heart.

This is why I'm hesitating starting to wean him off the pred now, yet, I want to get him off that stuff. Steroids are no joke. I'm afraid of what they do to his body and I'm afraid that his chance of remission shrinks with every week he's on insulin, at high numbers and on pred. I know I can work the insulin around the pred, but I don't like the thought of steroids long term.

And, I can't figure out his numbers either. His PMPS was 294. Not great, but yellow at least. I come home and do a +3 and he's 322! I fattened up his 1U tonite to hopefully bring him down a little bit and instead, he goes up. Wasn't sure if the shed needs to rebuild, etc. from just fattening the dose, but the higher numbers at +3 confuse me.

I'm just exhausted and stressed by all of this and trying to manage these 2 things simultaneously. I'm SO glad I made it to Yoga tonite cause I REALLY needed it!!

Thanks for being here Bobbie! You and a few others do stop by our condo to check on us and offer help and encouragement and I really appreciate that!! Sometimes, I just need to vent, sometimes I need some other eyes, sometimes I need some guidance.

Thank you again!! Time for bed for me. Getting bleary eyed. G'night L&L. Kiss your kitties for me!!
 
I'm sorry things are so stressful. I'd definitely try a different place for the inhaler. After he gets upset about it, I'd give him a little space to calm down and then go find him and give him some loving until he feels better. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Some cats experience NDW (New Dose Wonkiness) when you increase the dose, where the numbers go up before they come down.
 
Hey Donna, and I agree too a different place for that treatment . I can only imagine how much it breaks your heart for him to react to you that way since he was your "Velcro cat" (love that term) And Carla made a good point about NDW where the numbers go up before they come down when you start a new dose . Let's see what he does with a fattened 1 unit .

Last night, I sent some Reiki to him, fell asleep sending it......hope he soaked it up. Keep on keeping on and keep imagining that things will get easier because they will. I don't know anything about the treatment but is there a noise to it when it is doing a treatment ? Or is there something that blows in his face that is to strong of a sensation that can be reduced? Is there a support group of sorts for cats that need that treatment or could the vet put you in touch with other patients that have gone through it that can offer suggestions that helped them? I am grabbing at straws............Oh Donna, it's got to be so frustrating to have him fight you on something that will help him. Sending you hugs and vines of strength and calmness. And so glad that you went to yoga last night to restore your mind body and soul. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@carfurby and @Bobbie And Bubba now you've got me all teary eyed before work. Thank you thank you thank you for your kind words. And Bobbie, thank you so much for the Reiki. You guys have no idea how good having you here makes me feel. Wish I could give you both a hug in person!!
I joined a group for Feline asthma for cats on inhaled meds. They've been helpful, but nothing like the FDMB!! BTW... they all know about us and recommended that I come here for help!! Gotta go post today's condo and get my butt in gear to get to work. Thank you both again!!:bighug::bighug::bighug: times a million!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top