1/11 Elvis AMPS 392 +2 419

Elvis & Scar

Member Since 2021
Elvis just started Lantus last night. He's on 1 unit 2x a day. He was on Vetsulin since his Dx 11/16. He was extremely sleepy all night and this morning. His sugar went up a day before I took him to the vet yesterday. I haven't given him anything new other than boiled chicken as a treat. I'm scheduled to call into the vet Wed. to give him the numbers over the phone. Until then is there anything I should look out for? I don't like seeing these high 300s and low 400s all of a sudden.
 
Hello and welcome to the Lantus forum. Looking at the test data for the last few days on Vetsulin, it looks like 1U was not enough for Elvis.
Was he changed to a low carb wet food diet recently?

I'm going to tag a few members for their advice on whether you need to be go with a higher starting dose than 1U.
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Marje and Gracie
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee

Link to your previous thread for continuity:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/newly-diagnosed-help.257515/

Btw, I think Elvis is on Basaglar and not Lantus (both are glargine)? If yes, could you please change your SS and Signature to reflect that? Thanks! :-)
 
Hello and welcome to the Lantus forum. Looking at the test data for the last few days on Vetsulin, it looks like 1U was not enough for Elvis.
Was he changed to a low carb wet food diet recently?

I'm going to tag a few members for their advice on whether you need to be go with a higher starting dose than 1U.
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Marje and Gracie
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee

Link to your previous thread for continuity:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/newly-diagnosed-help.257515/

Btw, I think Elvis is on Basaglar and not Lantus (both are glargine)? If yes, could you please change your SS and Signature to reflect that? Thanks! :)
Hi! Thank you for linking my previous thread! Elvis has only been Fancy feast classic pate since his diagnosis. I'm not sure if the flavors could change it but I've been rotating the seafood variety and poultry. Nothing new except the cooked chicken he tried night of 1/9 and seemed to really like it.
My vet called me yesterday to return to the pharmacy and get the Lantus pen. I returned the Basaglar kwikpen. He made it clear to me he didn't want Elvis on something he wasn't familiar with. I know going through here it's generic.
Did you notice I had upped the 1 unit to a fat one since I started seeing his numbers go up and then they really went up on 1/9.
 
I hope you didn't pay extra for the Lantus. We've had people do experiments with it and Basaglar and not note any difference. Ditto for Semglee, though it's newer.

Lantus (no matter which variety) is a depot style insulin. We hold the initial doses 5-7 days, depending on which dosing method you want to use and the numbers. It can take a while for the Lantus depot to "build up", meaning the numbers should get better over those days. You also skipped the shot yesterday morning, there was no need to do that, it just ensured his numbers were really high before starting the Lantus.

I do suspect, like Bhooma suggested, that he'll likely need an increase. The 1 unit of Vetsulin wasn't doing it either. But let's wait a couple more days to give the depot time to build and see if the numbers get better.

Are you testing Elvis for ketones daily? I'd do that when he's in those higher numbers. How is he acting otherwise?
 
I hope you didn't pay extra for the Lantus. We've had people do experiments with it and Basaglar and not note any difference. Ditto for Semglee, though it's newer.

Lantus (no matter which variety) is a depot style insulin. We hold the initial doses 5-7 days, depending on which dosing method you want to use and the numbers. It can take a while for the Lantus depot to "build up", meaning the numbers should get better over those days. You also skipped the shot yesterday morning, there was no need to do that, it just ensured his numbers were really high before starting the Lantus.

I do suspect, like Bhooma suggested, that he'll likely need an increase. The 1 unit of Vetsulin wasn't doing it either. But let's wait a couple more days to give the depot time to build and see if the numbers get better.

Are you testing Elvis for ketones daily? I'd do that when he's in those higher numbers. How is he acting otherwise?
The vet called me today to say he'll call me next Monday to talk about units. I'll continue the same dose then. How do you deal with your kitty's ears reddening from all the testing? I saw the vet check his blood, not in the sweet spot, but front of ear...can I try there too? I've never tested ketones at home just at the vet. I did ask for that yesterday and none was seen. Apart from the extreme fatigue, he's eating a little less today so I spoon-fed him. His hind legs were on the ground when he was eating instead of his normal crouch. He's a little fragile to hold cos he meows when I hold him which he never does. I'm going to have to update my ss... He has dental disease, gingivitis, and a grade 3 heart murmur. I was curious if naturally derived alcohol will affect insulin because it's listed as an ingredient in toothpaste for cats. I need to get on with his daily brushing. I can't wait to get his diabetes under control so I can carry on with the rest of his health.
 
Monday is 5 days away, so that's what we would have suggested for holding the dose too.

Alcohol is not good for diabetic cats (or any cats actually). My vet recommended just using some damp gauze or a baby face cloth to wipe the teeth. Or you can use a "natural toothpaste" such as chicken gizzards which are fibrous or small pieces of uncooked chicken neck.

Here are some tips on ear care and testing that might help: Testing and Shooting Tips and to add to the reading list: Tips to catch and test a urine sample
 
Back
Top