1/11 Chyna PMPS 355 +4 308

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Happy Caturday, LL! Thaks for visiting after my bedtime, Deborah and Patty :-D I'm so glad it's the weekend. This bean went btb but is still sleepy... ~O) ~O) ~O) Yesterday: Chyna 1/10

We're back to pink today. I'm not sure if this is a bounce, or if I should dosecrease tonight, and how much if I do...? I guess it depends on what today shows...

Last night I did the second (maybe the first if the actual first was sprayed on the wall :lol: ) Cartrophen injection (not in subqs). It went ok, but those syringes are like trying to stick superman with a needle! ohmygod_smile I know when they taught me subqs at the vets office their needle (Monoject? 18g) was really tough to push in but these were 25g so I thought they'd be ok. I bought the Terumos UTW 20G for subqs and they are like slicing into butter...I'm thinking of trying to swap one onto the next injection syringe on Tuesday, it looks like the tip is changeable. Other than a bit of a jump when I pushed the fluid in and a very thorough bath in the general area afterward it seems ok, no side effects that I have seen :-D

Fellow Canadians! You may remember a bit ago me asking about cheaper syringes, well I was in Wal Mart last night and they were $27.04/cs of 100. Everywhere else I've looked so far they are $37-40. Just wanted to share in case your Wal Mart is equal to this since that's $10 cheaper :-D Also, they said BD changed their short needles from 8mm to 6mm...I got the last case of 8mm. Their strips weren't cheaper though :roll:

Ok, breffis time for the bean, then I'll shower and come see how LL is doing today :cool: . Hugs and scritches!
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 Cheaper syringes:)

Come down please Chyna! No more ceiling climbing little girl.
Great find on the syringes Rachel. I don't know why, but I never thought to check Walmart. That's a pretty significant savings! Yay for a the Terumos needles. Monoject is notorious for having dull ends and unfortunately they seem to have cornered the Canadian market :roll:
Have a fabulous day! Woo Hoo weekend!!
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 Cheaper syringes:)

Come down please Chyna! No more ceiling climbing little girl.
Great find on the syringes Rachel. I don't know why, but I never thought to check Walmart. That's a pretty significant savings! Yay for a the Terumos needles. Monoject is notorious for having dull ends and unfortunately they seem to have cornered the Canadian market :roll:
Have a fabulous day! Woo Hoo weekend!!
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 Cheaper syringes:)

Come down please Chyna! No more ceiling climbing little girl.
Great find on the syringes Rachel. I don't know why, but I never thought to check Walmart. That's a pretty significant savings! Yay for a the Terumos needles. Monoject is notorious for having dull ends and unfortunately they seem to have cornered the Canadian market :roll:
Have a fabulous day! Woo Hoo weekend!!
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 Cheaper syringes:)

Come down please Chyna! No more ceiling climbing little girl.
Great find on the syringes Rachel. I don't know why, but I never thought to check Walmart. That's a pretty significant savings! Yay for a the Terumos needles. Monoject is notorious for having dull ends and unfortunately they seem to have cornered the Canadian market :roll:
Have a fabulous day! Woo Hoo weekend!!
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 +3 347 Cheaper syringes:)

Come on Chyna! You don't want China to beat you do you? (just a friendly competition...no wagering...LOL)

Hope the new needles work out better for you. I know it used to be syringes/needles were always interchangable...not so much anymore.

Have a great Caturday Rachel!!
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 +3 347 Cheaper syringes:)

Morning Rachel ~O) ~O) ~O)

Ah Chyna..... pink? come on down, I hear the other floors are really nice too. No need to be a pink kitty today. Good luck on today Rachel, hope she comes down. good luck with the new dose if you decide to go ahead with that.

NICE find on the syringes! I hope too that maybe the needles are interchangeable? That would be nice! Good luck with it all, including giving the SubQ fluids. It's something I never had to do. We just never made it that far with Mannie. I am sure after a few you will be a pro at it.

Have a great day today. I hope all goes well.
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 +3 347 Cheaper syringes:)

Good morning, Rachel and Chyna.

Chyna, sweetie, you need to step on down, please. See the pretty yellow? Makes you think of sunshine - so warm and cosy. Come see it - there's a good girl! cat_pet_icon

Are you buying your test strips at Walmart? I get mine on e-bay. Sometimes you can get a great deal there - often the exp dates are less than a year away, but I go through them so fast that this is an non-issue for me! :lol:

Good luck with the Cartrophen shots. All it takes is practice, right? I haven't had to give Cinco sub-q fluids (anti-jinx), but when Kisa was on the decline, I had to learn how, and I was so intimidated. I was surprised that I was able to do it (I have a hard time with the insulin syringes as I have arthritis in my hands pretty severely). I think I only gave us both a bath once. :lol: :lol: It's no fun, that's for sure, but if it helps....

Hope Chyna comes down for you. Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 +3 347 Cheaper syringes:)

Thanks for visiting us!

Kim, all 6 times it was lovely to see you! :lol: The board is being really glitchy for me today when I try edit or submit I get errors a lot...yep, I knew about the Terumos way before we started subqs and had ordered them, they were at home waiting for the day the vet said it was time ;-) Even then when I told them I had nice ones at a lower gauge that ran faster fluids and slid in easy, they tried to sell me the Monoject :roll: I keep meaning to bring them a couple to say "try these, and tell me they aren't better!" :!: Not much sliding yet...

Hi Chris, I hope Chyna sees me praising China and follows suit! The needle end just pops off so I'm thinking a Terumo will fit, I will just have to see :-D

Morning Michelle! Subqs aren't too bad, we've been doing them for three or so months now every second day...she is a good kitty, but runs away when done no matter how much love or treats I offer after! :sad: Sometimes are better than others, not like when she jerks the needle out and sprays it everywhere? Not so good :lol: She's still pink but I'm hopeful :-D

Hi Tricia! I do buy strips on ebay...post office isn't so great at delivering when I need them though, no matter how long I order ahead :roll: So I look for good prices in town ( :lol: ). So far nada :o Subqs aren't so bad, but we do have our nights of ouchies and annoyance :? It's a good skill to have but not so nice if you have arthritis :sad: The Cartrophen shot was just like a giant insulin needle...weird but doable. I hope that I can substitute the Terumo one :-D I hope Chyna listens to you on the yellow ;-)

Well it's time for a +6 and mini meal for Chyna now. Hope you're all having a good one!
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 +3 347 +6 319 Dosecrease?

It's not only you the board is being glitchy on....When I went to edit China's condo, I got an error message too
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 +3 347 Cheaper syringes:)

Chyna - I'm just itching to post that blue smiley for you again. Won't you please oblige me?

After the first attempt at giving the civie Cartrophen with those Monoject harpoons, I transferred it into an insulin syringe. So much easier that way! I've been thinking I should drop a couple of those syringes off to vetty and get them to load those instead. Did you make sure the bevel was down when you gave the Cartrophen? I did, and it still wasn't easy.

Thanks for the tip on the syringes. I just found out yesterday that the lancets I like to use (Onetouch Delica) are a dollar cheaper at Safeway than anywhere else. And interestingly, the Walmart in the US is a couple bucks more expensive and they are being sold on Ebay for more than what I paid at Safeway. Seems like no one store has everything cheaper so I have to get syringes at one place, insulin at another, lancets at a third, and a fourth for strips. :roll:
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 +3 347 +6 319 Dosecrease?

Ok, sorry it's me asking about dosecreases again! Pink nadir today...still a bounce and I should hold the dose because of the blues we saw at nadir/AMPS the other day? Or increase tonight anyways since she's still high, if so by 0.25 or 0.5? I don't know which nadirs to look at for the protocol :? Thanks so much for any help :-D

Thanks Chris, I was wondering if it was my computer!

And Wendy, thanks, I'd love a blue smiley :shock: :-D I know, it seems like we have to shop everywhere to get a decent price... :roll: I did have the bevel down, it's sure easier to see on those harpoons than on the insulin syringe :lol:
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 +3 347 Cheaper syringes:)

Ok, Miss Chyna, time to come down and surf in a better color :-D Your friends are waiting :-D
Hope you see improvement in her walking Rachel. Does it take a few weeks to know if it is helping?

Love the btbs!!! Enjoy your Saturday :-D
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 +3 347 +6 319 Dosecrease?

Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.

I think Chyna is bouncing and you should wait for it to clear. And go for a .25U increase this time since you look at the non bounce cycle nadirs. That tells you what the dose is capable of doing.
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 +3 347 +6 319 Dosecrease?

Thanks Wendy, does that mean patience pants and no dosecrease yet? Blech, they make my butt look big :lol: (and stupid ?...how do you tell if the bounce is clear? she just keeps going up to pink and staying there it seems...)

Thanks Jane, I'm not sure how long the shots will take to show anything. I know some of the Adequan peeps told me that two shots and their cat showed improvement, but I'm not sure on Cartrophen. Paws crossed it's sooner than later :-D
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 +3 347 +6 319 Dosecrease?

Glad the second Cartrophen injection went okay. I hope it helps her soon. I hope Chyna keeps sliding down.
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 +3 347 +6 319 Dosecrease?

Since she went into the blues on the PM cycle on 1/9 and started there on the AM cycle on 1/10, I'm thinking that Wendy wants you to wait for a few more cycles (at least) to make sure she's not still in "bounce mode"..bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear, and she hasn't had that much time yet.

I agree on the patience pants...they sure aren't the most flattering of clothes, are they? :lol:
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 +3 347 +6 319 Dosecrease?

I'm thinking you have room to increase by 0.25u either tonight or tomorrow morning.

Do I think she is bouncing? Yes. Did she get into blue numbers? Yes. Does the protocol indicate you might want to hold the dose 6-10 if the nadirs are below 200? Yes. And it even says if nadirs are below 200, hold the dose ten cycles.

But....the protocol does not take into account cats returning from remission. You are experienced. You've been here a while. You know how to handle low numbers. You have data. I think the decision is yours as to whether you want to be a little more aggressive and increase the dose during a bounce or wait for it to clear and see if she might come down to green. Do I know if she will come tumbling down fast if you increase and she clears the bounce at the same time? I don't know that. She might do it but it just seems to me she has room for an increase.

And having said that, I totally support you in whatever decision you make. You are there; you know how you both feel physically.

Please note: this suggestion is made solely because Chyna is returning from the Falls and Rachel is an experienced caregiver. If you are new, please follow the protocol guidelines and/or ask for help. :-D
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 +3 347 +6 319 Dosecrease?

Oops, I didn't see your post in time Marje, and shot the 3.5u tonight. I'm thinking I will increase in the morning to 3.75u then, I should have done it this morning I guess. Unless I see miracle blues or greens tonight (haha). Thanks so much :-D I don't mind aggressive, when I'm home to see. I really want her to be in healthy numbers again!

Thanks Carla, I hope to see some sliding to yellow or blue... :-D

Thanks Chris, I couldn't remember the bounce clear thing :? Patience pants are definitely not comfortable or flattering ;-)

PMPS=pretty in pink again...she sure likes pink :roll: We're still trying to catch pee...hope you all are having a nice day!
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 +3 347 +6 319 PMPS 355

Sorry to have been late for the party! One more cycle won't matter.

And she might surprise us!
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 +3 347 +6 319 PMPS 355

Hi Rachel!!
I hope Chyna slides down for you tonight!
And good luck with the dosecrease tomorrow.

Thank you for the info about the syringes.
I should try Walmart - that's a really good price.
Some stores have some pricing programmed incorrectly, so if that's the case with your Walmart, you should stock up!
I had one pharmacy near my office selling a bag of syringe for about $2.5/bag of 10, and I used to buy from them by bags all the time.
When I asked for a box one day, the price showed $40, and I stupidly pointed it out, and that was the end of my secret syringe deal.

I should stock up on syringes anyway.... I don't know if I'll like the 6mm needle.....
 
Re: 1/11 Chyna AMPS 358 +3 347 +6 319 PMPS 355

Hi Rachel! I just haven't been getting around to posting lately but was reading through some of the condos tonight and wanted to say hi! Thanks for posting the info about the syringes, when my stash runs out I'll know where to start! Have a great rest of the weekend!
 
Oh Marje, you weren't late, I wasn't paying attention to my computer that last little bit before shot time, I was getting supper for Chyna ready :oops: Looks like dosecrease tomorrow morning!

Thanks Mariko! The Wal Mart had the price tags in front of all the BD syringe cases for that price a case...so I was excited and snapped one up :lol: I wonder how much they'd charge for a bag of 10...Shoppers Drug Mart asked once when I was getting syringes if I wanted a case or a 10 pack once and I never thought to ask a price, I just said case and bought/left! I'm not sure if I'd like the 6mm needle either. I wonder if they shortened their other syringes at all...

Hi Amy, nice to see you! Hope your weekend is going well. I guess when you have 1000 stash it will take awhile to run out :cool:

Have a nice sleep, LL. Hope you all catch some zzz's!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top