? 1/11 Bubby back from dental. Now what? BG 350

Status
Not open for further replies.

LisaStew

Member Since 2016
Bubby had his dental this morning. They finished up at 10 am which is about 5 hours ago.
No extraction ! Just tartar. He has been home for 3 hours and is kinda walking around (under close supervision) is not intrested in food at this time, so I assume he is not to have his shot. The vet wanted to give him his 11AM shot but I said I'd rather wait til he will eat but 350 is pretty high. He last ate 11 hours ago. I gave a reduced shot last night because his PMPS was 105. He was due for a shot 4 hours ago. He seems alert but doesn't really respond to touch or talking to him. Any ideas when he might eat or about how long to wait to shoot. Maybe a reduced shot?
 
Sorry, without the latest spreadsheet data, it's hard for me to know what to suggest. Glad to hear Bubby came out with all his teeth. :)
 
Sorry, without the latest spreadsheet data, it's hard for me to know what to suggest. Glad to hear Bubby came out with all his teeth. :)
This years are now at the bottom of last years. Sorry didn't take the time to start a new sheet when I got on here the other day.
 
If you shoot now, it would be a late shot, then you could skip tonight and get back on schedule tomorrow. Or use this opportunity to change your shot time earlier if you want.

You should be good to give at least a half dose, but I'm surprised he's not eating now. Do you have something yummy and enticing like some all meat babyfood? Every time Neko came out of anesthesia she was "starving" right away.
 
If you shoot now, it would be a late shot, then you could skip tonight and get back on schedule tomorrow. Or use this opportunity to change your shot time earlier if you want.

You should be good to give at least a half dose, but I'm surprised he's not eating now. Do you have something yummy and enticing like some all meat babyfood? Every time Neko came out of anesthesia she was "starving" right away.
He had a few licks of ham baby food when we first came home, about 3 hours after the procedure. But then about 15 minutes later he threw up a tiny bit and has had no interest in food since. He is sitting with up with his eyes closed so I think he is uncomfortable, either the dental or that and his high BG
 
Put a little butter on it, and you should be able to throw it down his throat, followed by a squirt of water (don't squirt the water directly down his throat, but into the back of his mouth - you don't want it going into his lungs). If you haven't done it before, here's a video showing how to give a pill.
 
Well finally he is doing a bit better. Not as loopy and ate 1/2 ounce of food. So I gave him.75 unit, a starting point as his preshot was 245 which is down from the 350 high earlier today. He ate his Cerenia in his food and hopefully will eat again soon so he can get his Pepcid. The vet said it took longer for the ketamine to wear off due to age (13) and slower metabolism.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top