Heike & BInie
Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-7-binie-pmps-241-2-84-big-drop-what-to-do.297275/
Good evening,
we had a bounce day today
I have two questions, one to learn from past failures and the other one, to make no new mistakes:
1. past failure?
Yesterday we had an almost blue amps. I decided to give her besides her usual low carb breakfast one tsp of high carb so she is not dropping so fast. She stayed steady for the +2 and then went down. As I knew I would have to leave the house at +5.5, I became a bit worried and started to give her 1 tsp. of high carb (20 %) from +4 on every hour before I left. Hoping, she would not go too low while I am away. I also gave her a pill pocket before I left.
I was able to shorten my appointment and took another test when I came home. She went up to higher blues and I thougt - Good job, I didn't overdo it with the highcarb. When I took her preshot at night she was over 500.
Not so sure about the good job anymore. My first question: Was the 500 created by me giving her high carbs or was it a bounce because she was in lower blues for a longer time? How else could I have kept her safe while being away?
2. Upcoming challenge
I have to leave the house directly after shot-time on Monday and I will be away until +5.5 or +6. Usually my neighbor looks after her and gives high carb food if she would go too low but now Binie is not wearing the libre and my neighbor can't test so far. So I wonder, how I can keep her safe, while being away.
If she has a lower pre-shot, which is for Binie yellow or blue, I don't feel confident to shoot full and leave the house. Even if I leave out high carb food, I can not be sure that she will eat it. What is the advice for this situation? Shoot a reduced dose? How much reduced? Or am I too anxious?
If she has a pink pre-shot I wonder, if it is safe to shoot full but leave some high carb (?) or medium carb food out? Again: I can not be sure, that she will eat them while I am away.
I would be so grateful for any advice how to handle this situation. Thank you!


@Wendy&Neko @Angela & Cleo
Good evening,
we had a bounce day today
I have two questions, one to learn from past failures and the other one, to make no new mistakes:
1. past failure?
Yesterday we had an almost blue amps. I decided to give her besides her usual low carb breakfast one tsp of high carb so she is not dropping so fast. She stayed steady for the +2 and then went down. As I knew I would have to leave the house at +5.5, I became a bit worried and started to give her 1 tsp. of high carb (20 %) from +4 on every hour before I left. Hoping, she would not go too low while I am away. I also gave her a pill pocket before I left.
I was able to shorten my appointment and took another test when I came home. She went up to higher blues and I thougt - Good job, I didn't overdo it with the highcarb. When I took her preshot at night she was over 500.
Not so sure about the good job anymore. My first question: Was the 500 created by me giving her high carbs or was it a bounce because she was in lower blues for a longer time? How else could I have kept her safe while being away?2. Upcoming challenge
I have to leave the house directly after shot-time on Monday and I will be away until +5.5 or +6. Usually my neighbor looks after her and gives high carb food if she would go too low but now Binie is not wearing the libre and my neighbor can't test so far. So I wonder, how I can keep her safe, while being away.
If she has a lower pre-shot, which is for Binie yellow or blue, I don't feel confident to shoot full and leave the house. Even if I leave out high carb food, I can not be sure that she will eat it. What is the advice for this situation? Shoot a reduced dose? How much reduced? Or am I too anxious?
If she has a pink pre-shot I wonder, if it is safe to shoot full but leave some high carb (?) or medium carb food out? Again: I can not be sure, that she will eat them while I am away.
I would be so grateful for any advice how to handle this situation. Thank you!



@Wendy&Neko @Angela & Cleo



I didn't know you have a second feeder! You have such a good system with the camera and the remote feeder. If only Ivy would cooperate.... 