? 1/11 AMPS 284, +5 263, +7 220 - Dosing advice - Emergency travel

Prikitiw

Member Since 2024
Yesterday's post.

Day 2 on 2.5u after earned reduction. After yesterday's bouncing, today's numbers have come down.

Questions:
  • Would 2 units be a safe dose for Des with potentially minimal or no testing for ten days?
  • If I leave this Saturday, should I start the travel dose on the same day or the day before (tomorrow/Friday)?
  • Is there a pre-shot number that my cat sitter should look out (assuming she can test) for her to reduce the dose (or skip dose)?

I have to travel due to a family emergency :(

I have a cat sitter who will come by twice a day to give insulin shots. I've shown her how to test Des before meal and insulin. She is inexperienced, but will try her best. This is why, in case regular pre-meal testing is not possible, I am wondering if 2u would be a safe dose for 10 (ten) days.

Thank you in advance for your advice. Being away from my diabetic kitty is always stressful.. :blackeye:

Tagging @tiffmaxee and @Wendy&Neko as they've been very kind and helped me before.
 
Last edited:
Not sure why, but I didn't see the tags, just happened to stop by.

Sorry to hear about the family emergency. He's still bouncing from the lows, so it's hard to say what he will do on the 2.5 unit dose. But 2.0 units should definitely be safe, and probably too low, but better safe than sorry. I would create a sample syringe filled with 2 units - fill it with tea, juice or coloured liquid so the petsitter has a reference. I won't tell you the details of someone giving a 20 units when it should have been 2 unit dose. :arghh: Thankfully that cat was a high dose cat and survived.

Since you are going quite a bit lower than his current dose, you can probably wait until Saturday to start the petsitter dose. Unless he hits greens before Saturday, in which case I'd reduce sooner.

It's hard to say on whether she should skip with below a certain preshot value. Most of the time he's just gone up after you've shot blue numbers, just the one time he went down. Make sure the petsitter leaves lots of food out for him. Speaking of which, do you know whether he's eat the same or less when you are gone? If less, that might change my thoughts on preshot. Side note, my picky kitty eats better for the petsitter than me who she's trying to play. :rolleyes:
 
20 units?! Oh my goodness, I'd have heart attack.. I will definitely leave sample syringes.

Thank you kindly @Wendy&Neko -- just trying to create less stress for myself and the cat sitter while I'm away, but still staying safe.

I will keep posting until I leave on Saturday (AM +2). As you said, better to be safe than sorry.

He tends to eat the same when I'm gone (I don't think he cares, haha). So at least this is of some comfort.. :cat:

Thanks again!
 
Back
Top