1/10 Zener PMPS 459

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

TGIF, LL! Everyone is fine here this morning. Zener is still a little high and he ate just before that +3. Oh well. Everything is staying down this morning. :-D

I have about decided that I can give the adequan shots. The needle is between an insulin needle and the cerenia harpoon, plus the adequan doesn't sting like cerenia. There's no point in hauling him to the vets just for that shot plus they have to take his temperature and do all that basic stuff (state law). I better send an email to the vet to get the script filled so I have it by next Thursday.

OT: Tillie had a good appy this morning. Yesterday, she hardly stirred before +3. :lol: :lol: Anne is doing fine in Germany. She got a good night's sleep last night but still had to get up when her body thought it was bedtime. We are both doing better with our throat virus. I have to remember to keep drinking lots of water. If you have any LL prayers and thoughts to send to my dear niece, that would be greatly appreciated. She's been diagnosed with a rare tumor near her spine. They are not sure what the treatment will be. Oh dear.

Thinking of ailing kitties and beans. I'm glad to see that Lucy is feeling well this morning! :-D Rhiannon's Shadow had surgery on her tail yesterday. Paws crossed for Ole to find a good dose soon. Haven't hear about Jupiter in the last couple of days. Sending comfort vines to Ann (& Tess) on the passing of her dear sister and paws crossed for the smooth introduction her sister's cat Izzy into the household. Sassy is doing well on her OTJ trial - paws crossed! Have a great day, LL!
Liz
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 333;+3 303

Morning Liz! I'm glad Zener kept down breffis :smile: I'm also happy to hear you and Anne are feeling better, even though Anne has her sleep cycles screwed up :? Woo hoo for a good appy for Tillie, too :cool: Thoughts and prayers for your dear niece :sad:

Good luck with the adequan shot! It's funny...did I inspire everyone to get them? I've seen a few people doing them (or Cartrophen) now along with Chyna and I :lol: I'm going to try the needle tonight myself instead of in subqs...you are right, it's way bigger than an insulin needle, but smaller than my subq one...we shall see how this goes ;-)

Happy Friday!
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 333;+3 303

Looks like Zener is sporting his pink pj's today. Buster put his on, too. Time to get some errands done or catch up on some zzzz's. I really like the Adequan. The needle is a bit harpoony, but we've been getting along ok. You guys are pro's so I'm sure it will be ok.

Sorry to hear about your niece. That's a rough one. We'll send her some strength and perserverence vines. Hopefully, she isn't in pain.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 333;+3 303

Pinkus? Really Z-man??? At least you are keeping your fuds down today. Smart Tillie , sleeping in. Ah, those were the days.

Liz, good luck on the Adequan. I hope it helps Zener move around a little more easily.

Sending continued vines to you and more for your niece. I hope they come up w/ a plan of action soon.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 333;+3 303

I didn't realize Z was going to start Adequan. Adequan was a miracle for our GA civvie Mario - made his last 2 years much more comfortable. You probably have heard, but in case you haven't, Dr Foster and Smith has the best price on Adequan - or at least it did when we were using it for Mario. Definitely check it out if you haven't done so already. And yes - you can definitely do this shot at home...you are more than experienced enough! I assume you're doing it as a subq injection, like insulin, right?

Come down from there, Z....that pinkus is SOOOO stinkus!

Sending tons of prayers for your niece...how scary.

Have a great day, guys!
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 333;+3 303;+6.5 359

Good luck on the adequan shots. We give them to Charlie but a cat would be a little trickier. It would sure be easier than taking him in though. I am so sorry about your niece. Healing vines by the buckets coming her way. Have a great day Liz!
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 333;+3 303;+6.5 359

Zener, the pink team doesn't need any extra members today, time to find yellow please.

Good luck on the Adequan shots. I get a prefilled syringe from my vet rather than getting a vial. It might be an option for you for next Thursday if you don't get the Adequan in on time. I have yet to give one to Neko but did have to give some to Theo for his cystitis. They are still intimidating needles for me. I guess I'll get to do it for the first time next week too. Yikes on the state law requiring temperature checks for each vetty visit. Neko would freak out at that - she hates that test.

Sending tons of vines for your niece. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 333;+3 303;+6.5 359

I'm glad Zener kept his breffis down. I hope he gets tired of the pink floor soon. Yay for a good appy for Tillie. I'm glad Anne got some sleep. I hope her body adjusts to the time difference soon. Sending prayers for your niece.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 333;+3 303;+6.5 359

Hi Liz!! Looks like Zener is firmly encamped on the pink floor today!! Hope he decides to come down this evening for you!!

I've been giving Champ Adequan injections for two years. I still order it from the Drs. Foster & Smith website. Buying it through the vet is twice as expensive. I use 30 gauge needles for the Adequan. There's absolutely no need to use a big needle. I order them from ADW along with my regular insulin needles. I use 31-gauge, 3/10 cc (holds 30 units) syringes for the insulin and I use 30-gauge, 1/2 cc (holds 50 units) syringes for the Adequan. I'm sure you already know, but 1 mg of Adequan is equal to 1 unit of insulin using an insulin syringe. Since the dose for Adequan is 2 mg (or 2 units) per each pound of body weight, Champ gets 33 units, which is why I had to get the 1/2 cc syringes. If Zener's dose is 30 units or less, you can actually use the same syringes for the Adequan and the insulin. I also give Champ his insulin shot when his head is in his food bowl so I just give the Adequan at the same time, opposite side. Just draw up the insulin syringe and the Adequan syringe at the same time and, bam, he doesn't even know he's getting two pokes instead of one. There is no sting with the Adequan. I hope this helps!!
 
Ugh. This looks like a failed reduction. Back up a drop in the morning.
Liz
ETA: Thank you, Patty! That is extremely helpful on the Adequan. Since it will eventually be once very month or so, I think we can do that. :-D
 
Glad the info helped. Just as an aside, Champ gets his shot once every two weeks because he would get limpy and slow right around the two-week mark. It's okay to dose more often than once a month if it helps...he won't overdose. After the loading doses, try the once a month dosing and see how he does. If you notice the effects wearing off before the one month mark, dosing early is always an option.
 
We also used to dose Mario on an as-need basis once we were past the loading dose. It usually ranged from 3-4 weeks, but we could definitely tell when he would need a boost - he would start bunny-hopping down the stairs again. When we gave him the booster shot, it took effect quite quickly - usually within a couple hours.
 
Hi Liz,
Good luck with the Adequan. Sounds like you'll be able to do the shot yourself easily, especially if the Z Man doesn't mind shots. Now, Mighty Zener, your Auntie Wendy didn't have the RED TEAM in mind when she advised you to get off of the Pink Team!! Come on down. Throw away the red broom!

Very sorry to hear about your niece and I hope that her doctors will be able to come up with a plan. We are sending many healing vines and prayers her way.

Glad to hear that Anne is adjusting to the time change and that she is feeling better. Now it's your turn to feel better, Liz!

TGIF! Have a good weekend!

Ella & Rusty
 
glad to hear you guys are feeling better! water is good, water is good! :-D

i used the same syringes for punkin for both the adequan and insulin. no harpoons for the little guy - he got poked enough! when we got to the point of giving him subq fluids several times a week, we got the IV tubing that has a port in it and put the adequan and the vit B12 (for chronic pancreatitis) in the port so it went in with the fluids. can't do that with insulin, but it works for those.

punkin got 30u doses of adequan. i got it from the vet - don't remember if it was expensive or not, now.

maybe you need to have a little chat with zener about those ugly 400's!! ;-)
 
Sorry to see that PMPS. Maybe he's just missing his Anne-bean. I have this feeling that he's going to shock and surprise you in the morning. I see it coming! Ok, I'm just hoping that he surprises you with some really pretty blues and greens. Come on, Zener, make my predictions come true! :-D (nothing dramatic though!) YAY for good reports on Tillie!!!!

Glad you and Anne are feeling better. WATER, WATER, WATER! :-D I have a tendency to consume most of my water after 8pm. Makes for a heck of an evening...constantly getting up to use the restroom...interrupting my sleep time! :lol: Saying prayers for your niece, her family and her doctors.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top