1/10 Zener PMPS 219;+2 261;+3 239 vet report syringe/water?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo
1/9/2012
+11.8 89, FDCh, 1/8t Miralax
AMBG 87, FDCh
+12.5 78, FDCh
+12.8 65, FDCh, 1/4PP, 1.25mg Reglan, 1.1oz 8%
+14.5 106, 1/4PP with 2.5mg pepcid, 1/4 PP + mirtz, 0.4oz 10%
+16 1.1oz 8%, followed by BIG BURP
+16.5 0.75oz 10%, negative ketones & glucose
+18 262, 1.3oz 8%
+19 0.35oz 5%
~22 FDCK
PMPS 387, 1st cycle @1.75u (after skipped AM shot), 1.1oz 8%, 1/8t Miralax, large soft poo
+1 419, 0.8oz 8%
+2 390, 0.2oz 11%, 3/4PP with Zobaline
+3 1/4PP with pepcid
~5 341, unable to get him to eat or take pill
~8 soft poo in LB, drinking water
+10 pee in LB
+11.3 245, FDCK +1/8t Miralax
+11.5 220, not eating

Today
1/10/12 Zener
AMPS 6:00 236, 0.25u
+1.5 178, drank water
+2 syringe fed 2mL recovery (royal canin wet good-8%, we think)

Good grief, our poor guy has had a rough go for a few weeks. Yesterday no AM shot because numbers were low and dropping, and then last night a big puke and no eating. Still not eating this morning. Liz gave him a little freeze dried chicken at AM BG test and he ate, but would not eat anymore at shot time. We opted for a token dose rather than nothing, since we had to skip yesterday AM. We were able to syringe feed a little bit and about 15 minutes later, he ate a bit of the recovery on his own. We didn't let him eat too much because we want him to keep it down. He has peed, pooped and drank water, so that's good. We called the vet and will go in at 5pm.

@Melissa & Bailey - Zener is having poo, 2x yesterday and both solid, but looks like vetty visit is in order because of his nausea. :sad:

@Dyana - Zener's numbers are on the roller coaster lately, some is we have not been getting his insulin in on a regular schedule and the other is his appy issues. Thanks for the feel better wishes. :smile:

@serryn - perhaps Vyktor was expressing his opinion of health insurance paperwork? ;-)

@Sienne - we went back to the vet Sunday and repeat x-rays showed nothing in the distal colon and rectum, though there were pockets of gas and feces in the large intestine higher up. The vet did not recommend an enema then. He has been on the miralax a few days now and had a fairly normal poop last night and another about 2 am this morning.

We are heading back to the vet at 5pm. Until then, will syringe feed small amounts, or try to get him to eat on his own. He ate a small amount about 15 minutes ago. Any advice on Reglan or mirtz - he was prescribed both on Sunday and we are wondering if one or both could have caused nausea and puke.

Also advice on insulin doses - particularly when he is not eating or not eating well - is appreciated. We are afraid to jump back in with his full dose at PM if he is not eating well today and at shot time tonight. And we also don't want to skip all together if that is possible and safe. Please keep Zener in your thoughts.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236 Not eating?

Sending all kinds of healing vines and energy to poor Zener. He has had a rough few weeks. I hope the vet visit gives you some answers and Zener starts eating again. Know that we are thinking about all of you and waiting for an update. cat_pet_icon :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236 Not eating?

Anne, so sorry to hear Zener is still not eating. Sending good Vetty vines for Zener and you. At least with the syringe feeding, something is in his tummy. The Mirtz usually always increases the appy, not sure if it causes nausea. Hugs and will be waiting for updates.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236 Not eating?

I'm sorry Zener still isn't feeling well...maybe the mirtz didn't agree with him?? We're thinking of you!
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236 Not eating?

Poor Zener! Eat some of your good fuds buddy. I hope the vetty visit gets to the bottom of this. I'm sending feel better vines for Zener and try not to worry too much vines for the beans.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236 Not eating?

Hi guys,
I would tend to agree that you should give less insulin since he isn't eating, but be sure to do ketone testing if you decided to lower his dose. Rusty and I are sending lots of feel-better, eat-better vines to Zener. I hope that the vet visit will provide some answers to your questions. Do you think his problems could be related to the dental surgery he had recently?

Keeping your boy in our thoughts,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236 Not eating?

Poor Zener! I hope things get better quickly and I'm glad to hear you are bringing him in to the vet today. I hope they will be able to pinpoint what is going on. I agree with Ella on not giving the total amount of insulin since he is not eating. You don't need to worry about really low bg's today. Healing vines coming your way.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236;~1 178;+4 87 syringe & eating a litt

Thanks to all for your support! Zener did a slow tour around the backyard and is resting in some of his favorite spots this morning. He is not hiding away in his "I feel bad, leave me alone spots".

Today
1/10/12 Zener
AMPS 6:00 236, 0.25u
+1.5 178, drank water
+2 syringe fed 2mL recovery (royal canin wet good-8%, we think)
+2.5, ate ~2mL recovery on his own
+4 87, syringe fed 2mL recovery, put 1/4 pill pocket with pepcid in his mouth and he swallowed. Then offered him one of his treats and he ate it. Followed this with 0.2mL 11% and he ate that

We keep working at getting some food in the big guy. So far, he has been syringe fed twice, small amounts and kept that down. And after the last syringe feeding I tried one of his treats, he ate it! So, I tried about 0.2oz of the 11% and he ate most of that. He is acting a bit more like he wants to eat but has a queasy tummy. :sad:

@Melissa and Mr T - thanks for the healing vines. He is definitely better than last night. We wonder if one of the new meds doesn't agree with him?

@Ann & Maggie - we are wondering if he could be reacting to mirtz or the reglan (or both). Hopefully we will get some answers later today.

@Amy - thanks for the kind thoughts. We are wondering too if the mirtz didn't agree with him. It was the new med we added yesterday and he ate quite a bit because of it, then puked most of it up last night.

@Linda - he acts more like he wants to eat now just can't quite bring himself to eat, so could be nausea. The mirtz, or any appy stimulant, would not be a good choice if he is having nausea. Will have a full report tonight after the 5 pm vet visit.

@Ella - thanks for the info on insulin. We regularly check ketones so will keep that up. We have wondered if his problems were due to the dental surgery, but nothing conclusive there, post-procedure x-rays were all clear. We believe he got constipated from the anesthesia and then our longer term use of bupe, but he is not blocked.We will ask the vet to check this out again tonight.

@Georgia-we are seeing low BGs today, so won't worry now that we are getting a bit of food in him. The numbers could be from his shed draining and we don't want to skip shots but we do need him to eat! Thanks for the healing vines.

Thanks to all for stopping by to offer advice and support. Zener does not act like he feels as bad as last night post-pukus and he has not vomited anymore since then, that we can find. He just ate a little bit of food that I offered him in his bowl, but his tummy is just not right. :sad:
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236 Not eating?

Gosh, I'm so so sorry to read that Zener is feeling poor. Sending tons of healing vines, appy vines, and comfort vines for you, Anne and Liz. Hopefully the vet can get to the bottom of this.

As far as shooting when not eating, I think ECID definitely comes into play here. I always shoot Jetta full when her appy is off, she never drops as a result of not eating, and usually within a few hours she gives in and eats. How much Mirtz are you giving? The CE seminar I went to in NY last month, that Dr recommended 1/8 tablet, not 1/4. Most vets prescribe 1/4 but he said there are fewer side effects with 1/8s given deaily versus 1/4 every 3 days.... Just a thought.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236 Not eating?

Jacspets said:
Gosh, I'm so so sorry to read that Zener is feeling poor. Sending tons of healing vines, appy vines, and comfort vines for you, Anne and Liz. Hopefully the vet can get to the bottom of this.
Thanks Jaq, we are way more worried than Zener, so we appreciate the comfort vines.

Jacspets said:
As far as shooting when not eating, I think ECID definitely comes into play here. I always shoot Jetta full when her appy is off, she never drops as a result of not eating, and usually within a few hours she gives in and eats. How much Mirtz are you giving? The CE seminar I went to in NY last month, that Dr recommended 1/8 tablet, not 1/4. Most vets prescribe 1/4 but he said there are fewer side effects with 1/8s given deaily versus 1/4 every 3 days.... Just a thought.
Zener does drop from not eating, and is appy is so iffy, which I know you understand about. I suppose if we get more comfortable with syringe feeding then we can always do that, but this time we were worried about him keeping anything down. That's great info on the mirtz and sounds more like the cypro dosing. Right now, we don't want to give any appy stimulant since he seems nauseated, but good info for when this passes!

Any thoughts on anti-nausea meds?
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236;~1 178;+4 87 Not eating?

No info on the meds , just sending healing vine for Zenner and hugs to you and Liz. I hope the poor gut feels better soon.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236;~1 178;+4 87 Not eating?

When Tawny was going through DKA and not eating, she was given Reglan, and I thought Karrie (& Maverick) said that it didn't work very well in cats. I am not sure about this, but you might PM Karrie or Desi and see what they have to say.

Another good anti-nausea med is Zofran (ondansetron), you could ask for that at your vetty visit. There is also Cerenia, I think that is more for an actively vomiting cat, but may be worth discussing.

We are keeping the vines coming, I hope the big guy feels better soon.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236 Not eating?

Anne & Zener said:
Any thoughts on anti-nausea meds?

Well, what works for Jetta (ECID) is pepcid then wait 30 minutes and give her 1 tsp- 1 tbsp of food (syringe fed or otherwise). Her nasuea is most often related to having an empty stomach so the key for us is gettng food into it. The tiny bit at first settles it down then she wantes to eat on her own soon thereafter.

Cerenia has worked well for her also. It's been given as a longer term solution, at half a 16 mg tablet every day for 5 days.

I hope you find what works for Mr Z.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236;~1 178;+4 87 Not eating?

+5 117, ate a treat and 0.2oz 11% on his own.

@Ann & Tess - thanks for all the good wishes, we can use them!

@Melissa & Bailey - thanks for the suggestion, I sent a PM to Karrie.

@Jaq - thanks for the meds info. We will ask the vet about these today.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236;~1 178;+4 87;+5 117;+6 125 nausea me

Anti-nausea meds - We have used Ondansetron when Tarragon had acute pancreatitis and it worked wonders on him. I have also heard good things about Cerenia.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236;~1 178;+4 87;+5 117;+6 125 nausea me

Pepcid is not an antinausea treatment - it only works on excess stomach acid which may be a cause of some nausea - like in CRF cats. Symptoms include clear/frothy vomit.

Reglan isn't an antinausea treatment for cats - it works on improving stomach motility if this is a factor. It works for nausea on dogs but not cats.

Ondansetron is a great antinausea medication for cats. You can get it from Costco without being a member for a decent price. Cost varies dramatically between pharmacies so call around. Ask for 4mg non disolving pills. 1mg two times a day. (So quarter the pills). The plumbs guide instructs up to 4mg a dose but most cats are on 1mg.

Cerenia is good for acute vomiting but not general nausea. Keeping food down is important.

As you know keeping food down is important to a cat to prevent FHL. You should syringe food that Zener wouldn't eat normally. Such as wellness chicken which is high in calories. This way they don't associate this food with how they are feeling and you don't have to deal with food aversion. Good for you not throwing an appetite stimulant into the mix. This should never be given to a cat when nausea hasn't been fully dealt with.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236;~1 178;+4 87;+5 117;+6 125 nausea me

You know, some of this could be due to the Miralax -- certainly tummy gurgling and less than solid poo. You might want to cut back on the dose or go to once a day dosing.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236;~1 178;+4 87;+5 117;+6 125 nausea me

I can't send you anything but vines and snowflakes for Zener...
but sending a flurry of those!

snowstorm09december282006snowstorm.gif
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236;~1 178;+4 87;+5 117;+6 125 nausea me

aw, i was hoping to get on and see that zener was back to feeling well. so sorry he's still punkish - but good news that he's not in the "leave me alone" hiding spot! that's a very good sign.

you're probably at the vet's right now - thinking of you guys and hoping for some good news for the little boy!
 
Re: 1/10 Zener AMPS 236;~1 178;+4 87;+5 117;+6 125 nausea me

Sweet ZenerBaby - your numbers look good but the rest of the cat doesn't sound so good, I'm sorry your tummy's actin' funny. I hope it gets better.

Anne/Liz - I don't know how you keep up with all the info you do...it amazes me every day.

Big hugs,
 
Re: 1/10 Zener PMPS 219 vet report

We are back from the vet without much more info than when we went, but we did get the Ondansetron injection and the 4mg pills to start in the morning. The vet did not find anything new or different on exam, and we decided no to another x-ray (we had one Fri and Sun) or blood work (only a week old). She was fine with that, just at a loss of what else to do we think. We are getting an abdominal ultrasound to get a better look internally if there is something else going on - either tomorrow or Saturday, depends on when we can get scheduled with the vet that does this.

We are not giving the mirtz at this point, because we can't be sure what is pain and/or nausea, though he doesn't act like he is painful when the vet palpates his belly. The vet halved the Ondansetron pills and suggested 2mg twice a day, but we are going to start with 1mg as Karrie suggested. Liz is off buying Wellness chicken for syringe feeding. He ate 0.5oz 11% when we got home from the vet so we gave 0.5 units of insulin and will monitor his numbers. We will try to get him to eat some on his own and then syringe feed the rest as Karrie advised.

He sure is a trooper but we can tell he feels weak and low energy. We will love on him as much as we can and paws crossed the injection helps. I am supposed to leave for Germany on Sunday for a week and can hardly bear to leave with him in this shape and Liz as his sole caregiver.

We have a few questions about syringe feeding - syringes (we have pretty small ones for karo) and water mixture with food. I'll see what I can find on the list but welcome advice.

Thanks to everyone who has replied to our condo with information, healing vines and snowflakes and comfort for us. We are so worried and your support really helps.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener PMPS 219 vet report syringe/water?

(((Anne and Liz))) and (((Zener))) I hope the ondanestran injjection helps and the pills. It sounds like the ultrasound later this week is a good idea and may show what going on with Zener. So sorry he is feeling so weak and tired. Karrie is really good with help on syringe feeding and there are some others here, too. Vines and lots of prayers for Zener and you and Liz.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener PMPS 219 vet report syringe/water?

Our thoughts and prayers continue for you guys...feel better Little Z!!!
 
Re: 1/10 Zener PMPS 219 vet report syringe/water?

Anne and LIz, I am so sorry Zener is still not feeling that well. I give my cat Cleo ondansetron 2x/day, 1 mg. each time. I think it has helped her alot with the nausea. The trick to to make sure you give it spaced out 12 hours apart, not more or less. I found out that it doesn't work that well if you don't do it like that (kind of like Lantus). Thanks to Claudia who helped me figure out what was going on! Hoping it helps Zener feel better tonight.

Anne, I can imagine that you are nervous leaving to go out of the country right now, but Liz will do a fabulous job, as always. You are so blessed to have each other!

Karrie is the expert to go to for syringe feeding questions. She will definitely be able to help you.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener PMPS 219 vet report syringe/water?

Glad you got the injection. I hope it gives Zener some relief. Tarragon was in 1 mg twice a day. Georgia is right. Be sure to do them 12 hours apart.

Healing vines for Zener and lots of hugs for the two of you. ((((Anne & Liz)))). We are saying a special prayer for you all tonight and sending lots of good energy your way!
 
Re: 1/10 Zener PMPS 219 vet report syringe/water?

More vines and snowflakesfor Zenner. I really hope the injection works.

Animated-snow-cute-cat.gif
 
Re: 1/10 Zener PMPS 219 vet report syringe/water?

(((Anne and Liz))): We're so sorry to come on today and find Zener so sick with the vet not knowing what might be going on. It's smart to get
the U/S as soon as you can. We're sending many, many healing vines and snowflakes for him. I'm glad to see his numbers a little higher tonight
just so you don't have to worry about him coming down too much and not eating.

Sending many prayers.
 
Re: 1/10 Zener PMPS 219 vet report syringe/water?

Oh my goodness, you are all so very wonderful and supportive. Thank you thank you. I'm sorry I don't have time right now to reply to each and every one of you here and on your condos but know we are thinking of you all and so grateful.

PMPS 219, 0.5u, 0.5oz 11% ate on his own
+1 0.35oz 11% ate on his own
+2 261, 0.2oz 10% on his own, syringe fed 0.3oz wellness chicken - I am blanking on the carbs for this one right now, Karrie told us this was high calorie and it was good to use something other than his regular food

So far tonight, he is at about 1/2 of his regular food amount, so we are thinking if this is about where he is then tomorrow perhaps we should consider gradually going back up with his insulin to about 1/2 his dose, so 0.75-1.0u. Of course, all depends on his numbers and how he is eating.

The vet is trying to coordinate with the vet in her clinic that does the ultrasounds so that we can get in tomorrow. If not, we will take him on Saturday, the next time she is in the clinic. Paws crossed he is eating like a lumberjack by then, but if not, then knowledge is power!
 
Re: 1/10 Zener PMPS 219;+2 261 vet report syringe/water?

Sending Healing Vines & My strongest Prayers for Zener's full recovery from this--Know how you feel seeing Zener not feeling well! Just went through this with Moonie. Hope & pray he will be better in the morning--
You are in my thoughts & my heart! Hugs & Love from us!!
 
Re: 1/10 Zener PMPS 219;+2 261;+3 239 vet report syringe/wat

Poor Zener, we are thinking of you and hoping that you feel better real soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top