1/10 Ole +3 170+4 131 +5 71 +5.5 101 +6 87 +7 97 +8 211

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebekah

Member Since 2013
Good Morning!

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=111571

Ole's BG's from last night;

PMPS 449
+2 350
+4 469
+9 481

Ole got baked chicken snacks at +4 and at +9. I was happy that he didn't creep back up into the blacks, but he never went back to sleep after his +9 snack so he got his time out a little early. Because Fifi lives in the garage, it is set up for kitty comfort with fresh water, a LB and plenty of beds for cat naps. It is not a swanky space, but we keep it clean and uncluttered. Ole has a crush on Fifi, which is not reciprocated by the recluse! hahaha There is no tension, Ole sniffs and Fifi hie tails it out of there.

I'm able to be home for most of the day, Yay! I'll schedule a date for a dental for Ole, thank you.

Thanks again for your helpful advice and encouragement.
 
Re: 1/10 Ole AMPS 482

Hi guys .. mm yummy baked chicken! Sounds like ole is living the life when he get's a time out .. cat beds ..a litter box .. fifi .. oo la la :lol: have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/10 Ole AMPS 482

Poor Fifi, getting chased :o . And poor Ole, with unrequited love! :lol: I hope Ole slides down for you today. Happy Friday! :-D
 
Re: 1/10 Ole AMPS 482 +4 317

Hi there :cool:

Have a look at this. Sienne put together fabulous info on dentistry for kitties.

A couple things I'll mention. First, the cost can be daunting.
Also, I got a bit of pushback due to BKs insulin resistance and high BGs. Depending on the vet/dentist they may want Oles BGs to be regulated first.
I'm not sure what that is about - since infection and inflammation are know to raise BGs and periodontal disease causes both.

I see Ole has taken the elevator down to the 3rd floor and is very close too the 2nd floor. . . cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/10 Ole AMPS 482 +4 317 +5 247

Hi!

Mellowing in yellow, over here. Also, neg for K. Out for a bit, but will be back asap!

Rebekah and Ole
 
Re: 1/10 Ole AMPS 482 +4 317 +5 247

The vet wasn't sure of Ozy's mouth condition and it was worse than suspected. It turned out he had two teeth removed because they were resorbed. I didn't see an immediate drop in his BG but the dental is most likely contributing to his good numbers. And those teeth HAD to be hurting.

I am definitely keeping on top of his teeth though I am not brushing his teeth. On his recheck, he had some redness on his gums. We will be watching that. They suggested some sort of additive to his water or something I can rub on his gums. Not sure about those yet. I feel like he is already being subjected to a lot of things....
 
Re: 1/10 Ole AMPS 482 +4 317 +5 247 +7.5 225 +9 240

Hi Everybody!

I like this day! It's nice to see Ole resuming some of his more colorful antics. I stopped by the pet store for some litter and FF, I also picked up a new aquatic plant for The Monster (he eats plants and minnows). Ole loves plastic bags. He carries them around, shreds them, hugs them.... yes, I have to secure any plastic bag, including the newspaper bags that I use to scoop the litter. Anyway, I digress. The Monsters new yummy plant is in a plastic bag so of course, Ole wanted that plastic bag now! *pop* *pop* he pops the bag and swoosh, water all over the kitchen table.


It is so fun to have my crazy back. I hope he sticks around!

Tonight will be the 5th cycle at 5uL. Should I stay put or increase to 5.25 or 5.5?

Thank you!
Rebekah
 
Re: 1/10 Ole AMPS 482 +4 317 +5 247 +7.5 225 +9 240 Dose ???

Good thing I've got my shades on - mighty bright in here today :cool:

What a great Ole update - glad to hear he is getting his crazy on. . . .

Rebekah said:
Tonight will be the 5th cycle at 5uL. Should I stay put or increase to 5.25 or 5.5?
Being that it's taken 5u to see some yellow I'd consider that a 'high-ish' dose kitty and recommend an increase of 0.5u instead of 0.25.
The 'colors that shall remain nameless' have been so relentless.

I think maintaining an aggressive approach now that Ole has one paw in the door of the 2nd floor would be a good strategy.
So new dose tonight would be 5.5u.

What do you think?
 
Re: 1/10 Ole AMPS 482 +4 317 +5 247 +7.5 225 +9 240 Dose ???

Hi Sandy,

So, I don't know what I'm talking about, and I'm probably way off the mark, but my inclination is to either stay put or increase .25u. Here's my thought process. He just got into yellow, why rush? Maybe it is good to wait and see what another cycle will bring? Though I don't know the best way to ride out of a probable bounce coming our way....secondly, Ole was at 5 U when I joined FDMB 3 weeks ago, so I'm nostalgic about this number, scientifically implausible I know, but there you have my 2nd reason. Thirdly, Before Ole joined FDMB, we went up to 8uL, then dropped like a stone, so my intuition tells me to inch up from this point if his numbers permit. My reasonings, many times have no rhyme nor reason, so I'll do what ever you good people recommend.

Thanks tons!'
Rebekah
 
Re: 1/10 Ole AMPS 482 +4 317 +5 247 +7.5 225 +9 240 Dose ???

Rebekah said:
My reasonings, many times have no rhyme nor reason,
There is something to be said about instincts. :cool:

Mine is just one opinion. You have time before PMPS to hopefully gather a few more opinions/recommendations.

(I'm going to have a good look at your pre-FDMB data)
 
Re: 1/10 Ole AMPS 482 +4 317 +5 247 +7.5 225 +9 240 Dose ???

Love all the sunny yellows going on in Ole's world today, and the playing. :cool: Sorry about the plant bag, I hope the plant survived.

I second Sandy's thoughts on the next dose. A .5U increase on a 5U dose is like a .25u increase on a 2.5U dose. It's just a 10% increase. Once you get to 5U, then it's a good increase amount. When Neko was over 5U, we increased by .5 if all we were seeing was yellow nadirs. I did .25 increases for green and sometimes still .5 for blue. You will learn what size increase works when for Ole. Another thought on the .5 increase is that it's the weekend and hopefully you'll be around to monitor.

A second bit of advice, try to ignore the dose number but rather think of it as the amount Ole needs to get into greens. Harder to do than say - I know all too well that feeling. :roll: And what they need varies over time. Ole today is not the same as Ole last year. I just increased again today. I feel like I'm aiming for a moving target but my mantra is "green is the goal".
 
Re: 1/10 Ole AMPS 482 +4 317 +5 247 +7.5 225 +9 240 +11 280

Thank you for all of the sage advice.

He is at 280 at +11. I'll shoot him 5.5uL in an hour unless otherwise advised.

Thanks again!

Cheerio!
Rebekah and Golden Ole
 
Re: 1/10 Ole AMPS 482 +5 247 +7.5 225 +9 240 +11 280 PMPS 29

Hi!

I'm so happy he held on to yellow to PMPS. I gave him 5.5u and he liked it. Also, I got my test fluid for the Relion and everything is fine.

Cheerio!
Rebekah
 
Re: 1/10 Ole AMPS 482 +5 247 +7.5 225 +9 240 +11 280 PMPS 29

Hey Rebekah,

I know increasing at bigger doses can be nerve wracking. Cobb hasn't been tested for acro or IAA just yet, but if Ole has an any insulin resistance then popping up at the .5 unit could help him get ahead of that and help to bring him down.

Yellows aren't bad - but blues and greens are what you want!! I say that with humility since Cobb just dipped. I also wanted to pause when he got to the yellows. Matt and I had several discussions about how we needed to give him a chance to adjust to a new dose before increasing again. But I didn't and it is hopefully paying off!

Good luck with the dosecrease. Ole, work the extra juice and come on down for your mamabean!!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 1/10 Ole PMPS 295 +1 332

One thing I'd point out about the 8u dose and Ole dropping like a stone is that your dose increases were not systematic. You were increasing by 1.0u, often at each shot time. You've been increasing far more systematically and by a relatively small amount especially when compared to previous dose increases.

You also have a great deal of experienced support to help you if Ole decided to visit the green numbers.
 
Re: 1/10 Ole PMPS 295 +1 332

nice to see Ole' spent the day in the sunshine! it's looking good. :-D

i think it was smart to go with the 0.5u increase. what we know is that sometimes when we inch up, it's like you're always kinda behind the game. For whatever reason, it seems to be helpful to "get on top of" the blood sugar in order to bring it down. It's probably related to glucose tolerance, which you can read about in a link on the bottom of the New to the Group sticky. The cat gets used to certain ranges of numbers and it takes more insulin to bring them down once they are used to them. You can't use Lantus or Lev to hammer down numbers, but they will do the trick and increasing in appropriate amounts is the best way to get there.

There is something about the dose number that's magically attractive. :-D I found it very dismaying to have punkin's dose seeming to not do much, and getting bigger and bigger while other people talked about fattening a half-unit dose. It was easy to compare and find my cat wanting! But people reminded me that the only number that mattered was the blood sugar. The dose is constantly changing for almost all of the cats following the TR Protocol. That helped me to not be bothered quite as much when my baby was getting 15u! He might've been getting 15u, but it got him into good numbers, so that's what mattered. :mrgreen:

Ole' is definitely looking better - and great to hear he's feeling playful!!! that's what it's all about!
 
Re: 1/10 Ole PMPS 295 +1 332 +3 170

Wowser, blue!

Just to clarify my SS before FDMB, I gave Ole 2 doses a day (12 hrs apart) for a week at a time, so in LLLand speak, 14 cycles, testing only once/week 2x/day (usually Sundays at 6:00 and +6. If his numbers were flat or increasing, we would increase his dose by 1 unit. If he decreased, we would decrease by increments, testing every hour or so. My vet sees the wisdom of more frequent testing and smaller dose increases, that's why she is totally on board with what we are trying to do here, and she is learning from it.

Excited and nervous about the blue! Ole is movin' and a groovin' today!

Be back in a few!

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/10 Ole PMPS 295 +1 332 +3 170

upozna12.png


Wow!!! I'd test in an hour. This is so exciting! :-D :-D
 
Re: 1/10 Ole PMPS 295 +1 332 +3 170

Oh, pardon me - I thought this was Oles condo.. .this decor is completely different. . .. .I must have gotten off at the wrong floor. My apologies.
:cool:
 
Re: 1/10 Ole PMPS 295 +1 332 +3 170+4 131

Oh, what a cute blue kitty with green peepers!

We are pretty excited around here. Ole is indulging in his fave snack, baked chicken. I'm so glad you could all come to Ole's party! He thinks you're great! See you in an hour.

It's Friday night and we're partying all night long! Ole's wearing his blue suede shoes!

Words of wisdom please.

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/10 Ole PMPS 295 +1 332 +3 170+4 131

he's dropping at a nice speed - 39 pts in the past hr is just right. dropping at 100pts per hr is fast enough that it can cause a cat to bounce, but Ole's speed is wonderful. no worries. see ya in an hour-ish!

blue%2Bsuede%2Bshoes.jpg


nice shoes, Ole'!
 
Re: 1/10 Ole PMPS 295 +1 332 +3 170+4 131 +5 71

Oh my!

I don't even know what to say...

I've got a green eyed green baby! He had another snack of chicken, I'll test again in a half an hour!

Excitement!

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/10 Ole PMPS 295 +1 332 +3 170+4 131 +5 71

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :cool:

Good plan on testing. Just in case, I presume you have some HC or gravy food around?
 
Re: 1/10 Ole PMPS 295 +1 332 +3 170+4 131 +5 71

:mrgreen: :lol: :mrgreen:

What a day! Every time I look in on Ole he is a different color- a kaleidoscope day :cool:

eta -TGIF!!!
 
Re: 1/10 Ole PMPS 295 +1 332 +3 170+4 131 +5 71 +5.5 101

Hey!

Okay, I hope ole isn't on too big of a rebound, snack spike? He's just hanging about, waiting for snacks. Ole loves snacks more than he loves Fifi and plastic bags combined! It is a toss up with playing fetch though.

See you in .5. And yes, all set with HC

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/10 Ole PMPS 295 +1 332 +3 170+4 131 +5 71 +5.5 101

was that rise to 101 without giving him any carbs? if so, he might've hit the low point. another 30 min check would be good though.
 
Re: 1/10 Ole PMPS 295 +1 332 +3 170+4 131 +5 71 +5.5 101

Has Ole had any food lately? That's quite the jump to his +5.5.

BTW: If you go to your first post, you can de-select the ? icon and select Mr. Greenie. :cool:
 
Re: 1/10 Ole PMPS 295 +1 332 +3 170+4 131 +5 71 +5.5 101

Yes, Ole has been snacking on baked chicken (about .5oz though I'm not measuring) after each test this evening, no carbs though. I thought I'd see what was up at +6, but I did also think that he might have bottomed out.

Thank you all!
Rebekah
 
Re: 1/10 Ole PMPS 295 +1 332 +3 170

What a great day for Ole :cool:
I agree with Wendy - raise the :mrgreen: flag!

Rebekah said:
Before Ole joined FDMB, we went up to 8uL, then dropped like a stone,
Sienne and Gabby said:
One thing I'd point out about the 8u dose and Ole dropping like a stone is that your dose increases were not systematic. You were increasing by 1.0u, often at each shot time. You've been increasing far more systematically and by a relatively small amount especially when compared to previous dose increases.

You also have a great deal of experienced support to help you if Ole decided to visit the green numbers.
Sienne nailed it.

I'll add something which was taught to me back in the day -
when looking at the past as part of a dosing decision process, in general it's best to limit your view to the last 2 weeks.

Any further back is ancient history. :cool:
 
Re: 1/10 Ole PMPS 295 +1 332 +3 170+4 131 +5 71 +5.5 101

Looking forward to that +6. The general rule of thumb is we like to see 2 tests with rising numbers, without influence of food, before calling it a night.
BTW: we are dancing here too! dancing_cat dancing_cat Go Ole!
 
Re: 1/10 Ole +1 332 +3 170+4 131 +5 71 +5.5 101 +6 87

Okay,

what the...

Was the 101 a bad strip? Ole just finished his no carb snack as should I see you in an hour?
 
Re: 1/10 Ole +1 332 +3 170+4 131 +5 71 +5.5 101 +6 87

I'll still be up in an hour. When kitty is in the 80's, you are OK with once an hour testing at this point of the cycle, as long as he's not diving down.

Any chance the baked chicken was brined first? I know some people have had issues with serving turkey because some manufacturers like to brine the bird first and brine means salt and sugar in the water.
 
Re: 1/10 Ole +1 332 +3 170+4 131 +5 71 +5.5 101 +6 87

The chicken was a leg that I just threw in the oven for him. Naked except for it's skin, which I removed before shredding the leg into small bite sized pieces. I don't know if it was brined or not.
 
Re: 1/10 Ole +1 332 +3 170+4 131 +5 71 +5.5 101 +6 87 +7 97

Mercy, 97!

What's Next!

Thank you, Wendy, for sticking with us.

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/10 Ole +1 332 +3 170+4 131 +5 71 +5.5 101 +6 87 +7 97

Nice little green surf going on there Mr. Ole! How about doing it in the daytime next time?

OK Rebekah, you've got a couple of choices. Option 1 is to check again in an hour. If he's about the same or up then, you can head to bed. It's getting late enough in the cycle and he's close to 100. Option 2 is to give him a low carb snack and head to bed now. I'm not sure what that blip was at +5.5, but he's done two rising numbers without carbs since that 71. Normally you wouldn't give an LC snack this late in the cycle, but that's just a little insurance in case he did actually go down from that 101 to the 87, and if you really want to go to bed.

What would you like to do?
 
Re: 1/10 Ole +1 332 +3 170+4 131 +5 71 +5.5 101 +6 87 +7 97

Hi Wendy,

I'm pretty sleepy, but +8 is only 1/2 hour away. I'm suppose to hike the Grand Canyon tomorrow., but I don't know. Alex will be home all day to take care of Ole.

I think I can stay up.

Be back in .5

Thanks again!
 
Re: 1/10 Ole +1 332 +3 170+4 131 +5 71 +5.5 101 +6 87 +7 97

You could also test again now and if he's up, hit the pillow. That should be enough time to tell you if it's an upward trend.
 
Re: 1/10 Ole +1 332 +3 170+4 131 +5 71 +5.5 101 +6 87 +7 97

Whoa! These cats and their middle of the night surprises!! Yay Ole! :mrgreen: it's nice to see Me. Greenie made his way to your condo tonight!!!
 
I know!

I tested him 2x to make sure I didn't have a bad strip and 211 it is. I suppose he is bouncing.

Thanks again for hanging with us. We'll see what surprises tomorrow brings.

G' night!
 
Great job tonight Rebekah! I guess Ole is allowed a small bounce after this. :lol: Sleep well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top