1/10 Leo // PMPS - 261 +11 - 439 // AMPS - 447 +3 - 64

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Javier and Leo, Jan 10, 2021.

  1. Javier and Leo

    Javier and Leo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2020
    Leo is still not stable and we are struggling to regulate him. He's often going into bounces. The insulin is making him go down too quickly, although the 0.5U didn't anything to him last night. Leo continued going up last night after his shot. This morning, we gave him another 0.5 because he was too high, and his BG dropped all the way down to 60 after a couple of hours only :(

    Do any of you have recommendations based on what you see on the spreadsheet? We updated it with all the data from the last few days.

    This morning:

    AMPS - 447
    +3 - 64

    :( This is concerning...

    Thank you!
     
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Have you chosen a method to follow? Cats bounce from going to a lower bg than they are used to or dropping too fast. Both happened today. When you saw the bug drop at +1 what did you feed Leo if anything?
     
  3. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You also keep changing your dose which further confuses the picture.
     
  4. Javier and Leo

    Javier and Leo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2020
    I wouldn't be able to say which method from the ones described in the forum we are following. Just trying to stick to the 0.5U twice a day and watching closely.

    At +2, we fed Leo Ziwi Peak Lamb and Mackerel, which has been his staple for the last 5 days. This food is lower carb than what he used to so maybe that's something to consider.

    He continues to drop so at +3 we gave him a higher carb food: Friskies Prime Fillets Chicken and Tuna in Gravy.
     
  5. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    I know seeing those ugly high numbers can be upsetting and you think giving Leo a tiny bit more insulin might help lower them, but it won't. Lantus doesn't work that way. It is a depot insulin. A really good first step in helping Leo get over these bounces would be to keep every dose consistent. So not give 0.6u or 0.7u or 0.8u sometimes...but always 0.5u. Because even those incremental dose differences can disrupt the depot and make it confusing to understand what is happening with him. The FDMB board has people who are so incredibly knowledgeable and experienced. They can help you with Leo. It is going to take an ocean's worth of patience on your part (ie holding his dose and posting on the board for dosing advice).

    All of us who are trying to manage our kitties' diabetes need this level of patience. It is a marathon, not a sprint. Butters would come down below 100 maybe once in every six cycles, or sometimes she wouldn't for weeks. Every cat is different, but they all need us to have patience. My advice is to pick a dosing method, ask questions if you aren't sure which one to go with, and then let the board help you with Leo.

    Knowing he has steep drops early, if you get a +2 that is already quite a bit lower than AMPS, that may be a good time to try feeding some mc.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2021

Share This Page