1/10 Ivy Amps 246, +3 163, +6 213, +9.75 161, +11 318, Pmps 309, +2.7 177, +3.5 89, +4 110 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-323-3-195-6-216-9-320-pmps-315-1-292.285469/
Amps 246
+1 258https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-323-3-195-6-216-9-320-pmps-315-1-292.285469/
Good morning, I need extra coffee today. Long night with hours of surprising no power from a heavy rain storm :coffee::coffee:
We don’t lose power often since our power lines are underground.

I hope everyone survived the bad weather around the US ok.

So yesterday was interesting. I changed Ivy’s tee shirt, which she hated, to a tube top (covers her Libre sensor). She immediately started licking all the fur areas she hadn’t been able to lick for months. She groomed a lot yesterday but seems calmer by later yesterday and again today, less licking so far (it’s only 7:30 am now so it’s early.)
I’m hoping that the biting and itching was just a reaction to the tee shirt? Could it be possible it’s not allergies?????
I will be watching her closely of course.
I still have the meeting with the nutritionist on January 22 to change her food recipe due to the itching.
I may have to revisit that request if she really stops itching.
I guess we shall have an idea over the next few days if she really calms down.
She does seem much more relaxed, which is wonderful! :)

As far as her bgs, she’s had lots of yellow and some ugly pink and red ps.
Last night’s cycle was lots of blue (Libre bgs) and while I was sleeping at +8 she went down to 73 on Libre (so would be higher on a handheld meter, but still a nice drop, even though a late nadir).
I was happy to see a yellow AMPS today finally after a week of higher Amps!
Let’s go Ivy. More lower bgs please. :cool::D

Have a safe surf kitties and stay safe everyone with all the winter weather. :smuggrin:
 
Hi Staci,
Very interesting that the change to the tube top changed her demeanor so much!
It'd be nice if this is the answer to the mysterious itches! You have such a knack for figuring things out, Staci :)
Looks like Ivy is coming down nicely.
Surf safe, sweet one!
Wishing you a very nice day, Staci :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci :)
Sounds like you had a rough night. If it's not the cat there's something else, ha?! :banghead: I hope the extra coffee helped some and that you'll be able to catch some cat naos.
I'd be curious as well about the top and itchiness. It sounds very plausible that she was itching and biting because she needed to get to her body and clean herself. I'll be interested to see how she is evening today during the day.
Good that you have time until the appointment with the nutritionist so you can assess how much you need it.

Ivy, there's a request for more blues and green so hmmmm please some more blues and greens :cool::D:cool::D:D

Wishing you a lovely day :bighug:
 
That's very interesting. Maybe she was trying to show you she needed the shirt out.
I was glad to see her numbers this morning :bighug:
I hope the weather calms down before the next storm. Here it's calm but the real cold is coming, finally.
 
I’m glad you all are safe from the storms and didn’t lose power. It looks really wicked up there right now. Stay safe.

Nice cycle last night and looks like maybe another today? Paws crossed.

I’ve been thinking about Ivy’s allergies and while the cause of them is befuddling, I thought of more one more thing that “might” help. My youngest kitty is a Scottish Fold and she was born with stenotic nares so when she was 10 mos old, she had to have surgery to widen her nostrils a bit. While it worked great, she did develop a little scar tissue and so, especially in winter, she can sound quite snuffly in her breathing.

I am a big believer in holistic medicine, whenever possible, and have used flower essences in the past but many have alcohol which I won’t use. I found Green Hope Farms flower essences and they have one called Breathe that I use for Livia. While it does not fully resolve her snuffles because it’s also physiological, it helps quite a bit. I didn’t know the extent until we recently went to Africa for three weeks and the petsitter ran out. When we got home, Liv sounded very snuffly so I immediately got the order in and really saw the difference when I was able to start using it again. I’ve used several of their others like the one for animal emergencies because, sadly, birds hit our large picture windows and go into shock. That stuff brings them around really fast! The Breathe says it works for allergies but I don’t know if it means more like inhaled things (pollen). The great thing is they have small, inexpensive bottles that you can try it first. However, if you look through them, maybe there is another that might be helpful?

I don’t know if you saw it, because I don’t always get my tags, but I left you a long post on the end of Ivy’s 1/7 condo if you have time to read and address.
 
Hi Staci,
Very interesting that the change to the tube top changed her demeanor so much!
It'd be nice if this is the answer to the mysterious itches! You have such a knack for figuring things out, Staci :)
Looks like Ivy is coming down nicely.
Surf safe, sweet one!
Wishing you a very nice day, Staci :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit, interesting, right? I’m not sure I can actually figure anything out, I just keep asking questions and observing. I just really hope this was the solution. But only time will tell if she’s actually less itchy and less licking and biting.

Wishing you and Mikan a calm day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I’m glad you all are safe from the storms and didn’t lose power. It looks really wicked up there right now. Stay safe.

Nice cycle last night and looks like maybe another today? Paws crossed.

I’ve been thinking about Ivy’s allergies and while the cause of them is befuddling, I thought of more one more thing that “might” help. My youngest kitty is a Scottish Fold and she was born with stenotic nares so when she was 10 mos old, she had to have surgery to widen her nostrils a bit. While it worked great, she did develop a little scar tissue and so, especially in winter, she can sound quite snuffly in her breathing.

I am a big believer in holistic medicine, whenever possible, and have used flower essences in the past but many have alcohol which I won’t use. I found Green Hope Farms flower essences and they have one called Breathe that I use for Livia. While it does not fully resolve her snuffles because it’s also physiological, it helps quite a bit. I didn’t know the extent until we recently went to Africa for three weeks and the petsitter ran out. When we got home, Liv sounded very snuffly so I immediately got the order in and really saw the difference when I was able to start using it again. I’ve used several of their others like the one for animal emergencies because, sadly, birds hit our large picture windows and go into shock. That stuff brings them around really fast! The Breathe says it works for allergies but I don’t know if it means more like inhaled things (pollen). The great thing is they have small, inexpensive bottles that you can try it first. However, if you look through them, maybe there is another that might be helpful?

I don’t know if you saw it, because I don’t always get my tags, but I left you a long post on the end of Ivy’s 1/7 condo if you have time to read and address.
Hi Marje, yes we did lose power for several hours last night. But luckily no damage or water damage (I’ve lived through a flooded basement in the past where sump pump failed, before we had Ivy).
Anyhow, I will definitely check out the flower essences link. This allergy stuff is new to me.
Ivy was having a snotty nose for a while and had some nasal discharge. As soon as we put her on the Animal Essentials Season Allergy drops, that stopped last Fall.
She’s also on Zyrtec 5mg daily (divided dose in 1/2).

I am also a believer in holistic treatment whenever possible. My vet is holistic combined with conventional medicine. I’m all in with holistic ways.
(Have used it whenever possible when advised for all my cats over past 30 years)

I did see your post and will respond. Was nuts at work yesterday:(
I also am trying to process all of your thoughtful comments so I can properly respond!! (You’re an angel!)

I agree, Ivy finally had a nice cycle last night and today looks good so far. We are at +4 now.

Thanks again for your continued support and for keeping at it, trying to help me work through some issues.
I feel like you are my fairy godmother who just showed up. I really can’t thank you enough. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy

Nice start and cycle so far. Hopefully she keeps going.
So glad to hear the itching has eased up a bit and she's a happier girl. Hopefully it's going in the right direction meow.
And I hope the coffee will help but also wish you a peaceful and relaxing today.

upload_2024-1-10_10-19-10.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-10_10-19-10.png
    upload_2024-1-10_10-19-10.png
    161.2 KB · Views: 254
Hi Staci :)
Sounds like you had a rough night. If it's not the cat there's something else, ha?! :banghead: I hope the extra coffee helped some and that you'll be able to catch some cat naos.
I'd be curious as well about the top and itchiness. It sounds very plausible that she was itching and biting because she needed to get to her body and clean herself. I'll be interested to see how she is evening today during the day.
Good that you have time until the appointment with the nutritionist so you can assess how much you need it.

Ivy, there's a request for more blues and green so hmmmm please some more blues and greens :cool::D:cool::D:D

Wishing you a lovely day :bighug:
Hi Shelly, it was a night I would like to forget. But it could have been worse, so I’m very thankful!! No damage to report. Yep, always something. I was digging around for flashlights.
Also gonna order a headlamp to be prepared for the next time. (I like to be prepared and not be reactive as a principal).

Hoping she gives us a nice cycle today. I also hope you and your boys are having a wonderful day and feeling well!!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy

Nice start and cycle so far. Hopefully she keeps going.
So glad to hear the itching has eased up a bit and she's a happier girl. Hopefully it's going in the right direction meow.
And I hope the coffee will help but also wish you a peaceful and relaxing today.

View attachment 68738
Thanks, Karolina, I hope so too. I hope you are safe and not having bad weather in CAN.
Big hugs to Nestle from us. Hope Ivy meets him at the beach, but maybe with a parka on top! :joyful:
Brrrrr :rolleyes:
 
That's very interesting. Maybe she was trying to show you she needed the shirt out.
I was glad to see her numbers this morning :bighug:
I hope the weather calms down before the next storm. Here it's calm but the real cold is coming, finally.
I think you may be right, Cecile! I really hope the wardrobe change was the answer. Paws crossed big time.
Hope you stay warm and safe!! :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Marje, yes we did lose power for several hours last night. But luckily no damage or water damage (I’ve lived through a flooded basement in the past where sump pump failed, before we had Ivy).
Anyhow, I will definitely check out the flower essences link. This allergy stuff is new to me.
Ivy was having a snotty nose for a while and had some nasal discharge. As soon as we put her on the Animal Essentials Season Allergy drops, that stopped last Fall.
She’s also on Zyrtec 5mg daily (divided dose in 1/2).

I am also a believer in holistic treatment whenever possible. My vet is holistic combined with conventional medicine. I’m all in with holistic ways.
(Have used it whenever possible when advised for all my cats over past 30 years)

I did see your post and will respond. Was nuts at work yesterday:(
I also am trying to process all of your thoughtful comments so I can properly respond!! (You’re an angel!)

I agree, Ivy finally had a nice cycle last night and today looks good so far. We are at +4 now.

Thanks again for your continued support and for keeping at it, trying to help me work through some issues.
I feel like you are my fairy godmother who just showed up. I really can’t thank you enough. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I’m glad you’ve got power back. Do you have a generator so you’ve got heat if the power goes down? I missed the “no power”…not enough :coffee::coffee: when I wrote the first post.

With everything else she is on, the flower essences might not add anything but I was just brainstorming. And no thanks needed. What good is all I learned from Gracie, Libby, and Jill if I don’t pass it on? It’s certainly a tribute to my beloved girl and to Jill (still miss her).

Unfortunately, I’m just not around as much as I used to be because DH is now retired and we travel a lot. We are often out of the country for a month at a time but we just happen to be here for a bit so I was checking in here. Plus….December is a busy month getting all the World SSs up-to-date for members.
 
Thanks, Karolina, I hope so too. I hope you are safe and not having bad weather in CAN.
Big hugs to Nestle from us. Hope Ivy meets him at the beach, but maybe with a parka on top! :joyful:
Brrrrr :rolleyes:

Thanks Staci and Ivy. Luckily no rain/snow here today. Only high winds. Both of my jobs are so weather dependent I'm always monitoring the weather. Luckily shouldn't have any issues today.

Stay warm and comfortable and hopefully Ivy visits the beach :cat::bighug:
 
I’m glad you’ve got power back. Do you have a generator so you’ve got heat if the power goes down? I missed the “no power”…not enough :coffee::coffee: when I wrote the first post.

With everything else she is on, the flower essences might not add anything but I was just brainstorming. And no thanks needed. What good is all I learned from Gracie, Libby, and Jill if I don’t pass it on? It’s certainly a tribute to my beloved girl and to Jill (still miss her).

Unfortunately, I’m just not around as much as I used to be because DH is now retired and we travel a lot. We are often out of the country for a month at a time but we just happen to be here for a bit so I was checking in here. Plus….December is a busy month getting all the World SSs up-to-date for members.
We don’t have a generator, but last night finally had that discussion for real. It never really mattered to me so much before, but now with Ivy being so dependent on all systems in the house being operational I feel it’s very important. (Already scheduled someone to come out next week for a quote!!)

I totally understand your wanting to honor Jill and Gracie and Libby. I’m so sad I never knew them :(
I feel the same about paying it forward. I try to offer help where I can if I see someone struggling, especially with the Libre since I’ve been using it for a while now. There don’t seem to be many “helpers” in that regard.
I still have soooo much to try to learn to help my sweet Ivy.

Good for you for being able to travel now extensively. It is so wonderful.
We had just started to travel overseas in the past 8/10 years (now that our kids are grown) and then the pandemic caused us to lose several years. Now with Ivy’s unstable situation there’s no way I could leave her.

I just have to keep on turning over every leaf to try to better help her to be more regulated, if at all possible :bighug::bighug:
 
We don’t have a generator, but last night finally had that discussion for real. It never really mattered to me so much before, but now with Ivy being so dependent on all systems in the house being operational I feel it’s very important. (Already scheduled someone to come out next week for a quote!!)
Smart idea. We are on solar but don’t have batteries yet as they are so $$$$$ so if there is a power outage…no solar. Cause we are in AZ and summers are hot, we’ve been thinking about a generator that could even just power one of our ACs and the freezer for the cats’ raw food.

I totally understand your wanting to honor Jill and Gracie and Libby. I’m so sad I never knew them :(
Thankfully, Libby is still alive but burnt out and I don’t blame her. She was here a long time. Yes, I’m sad you never knew Jill….incredible encyclopedic knowledge but also out-of-the-box thinker which she taught to many of us. And Gracie…..everyone loved her. She was an FDMB favorite, my little gangsta’ princess.

I feel the same about paying it forward. I try to offer help where I can if I see someone struggling, especially with the Libre since I’ve been using it for a while now. There don’t seem to be many “helpers” in that regard.
That is much appreciated. You might want to search @Tomlin as she has a ton of expertise with the Libre and posted some great info. I’m assuming you’ve also seen this.

Good for you for being ableto travel now extensively. It is so wonderful.
We had just started to travel overseas in the past 8/10 years (now that our kids are grown) and then the pandemic caused us to lose several years. Now with Ivy’s unstable situation there’s no way I could leave her.[/QUOTE
I understand. While we also travelled before Gracie’s dx, during the five years she was diabetic, one of us was always here with her. I completely changed my work schedule (thankful I could) because my DH was a commercial airline pilot so I worked from home when he was flying before it was a “thing” to work from home. After she crossed (broken heart), we started traveling again but then COVID. Now, since we are both retired, we are as nomadic as we can be but still have plenty of time at home with our two kitties. Thankfully, we have an incredible petsitter who lives in our home when we are gone & sends us photos every day.
 
Smart idea. We are on solar but don’t have batteries yet as they are so $$$$$ so if there is a power outage…no solar. Cause we are in AZ and summers are hot, we’ve been thinking about a generator that could even just power one of our ACs and the freezer for the cats’ raw food.


Thankfully, Libby is still alive but burnt out and I don’t blame her. She was here a long time. Yes, I’m sad you never knew Jill….incredible encyclopedic knowledge but also out-of-the-box thinker which she taught to many of us. And Gracie…..everyone loved her. She was an FDMB favorite, my little gangsta’ princess.


That is much appreciated. You might want to search @Tomlin as she has a ton of expertise with the Libre and posted some great info. I’m assuming you’ve also seen this.
I’ll have to check out @Tomlin for her experience and insight. It’s always good to learn from others!

I’ve been to AZ a few times and just loved it. It’s such a beautiful state with magnificent natural beauty. My kids were young the last time I was there I think.
Sounds like you need a generator, too, for some of the same reasons.
The first thing I said to DH last night was we need to save the insulin and the homemade cat food.
Who cares about the human food. :p
 
Pmps 309
Nor sure what’s going on with Ivy’s bg lately. We are back to ugly pink pre shots in both cycles too often lately and more pink and red than I would like to see. Frustrating.
And then at times she throws in a lower dip. Not much low numbers since the new year in her am cycle. Maybe she’s done with this dose?
Have a good night everyone.
 
I’ll have to check out @Tomlin for her experience and insight. It’s always good to learn from others!

I’ve been to AZ a few times and just loved it. It’s such a beautiful state with magnificent natural beauty. My kids were young the last time I was there I think.
Sounds like you need a generator, too, for some of the same reasons.
The first thing I said to DH last night was we need to save the insulin and the homemade cat food.
Who cares about the human food. :p
Yes, it’s very beautiful here. We live in the foothills of the mountains outside of Tucson. So far, we’ve had no blackouts due to heat like CA and AZ seems well prepared but, you never know. So true about the human food. I don’t want to lose $200 in raw meat!!

And then at times she throws in a lower dip. Not much low numbers since the new year in her am cycle. Maybe she’s done with this dose?
Perhaps but I’d like to first discuss with you what I said the other day about SLGS before I would feel comfortable with it. Especially since she is still having nadirs in the 90-149 range.

Sleep well.
 
Hey Staci! I hope you didn't have too much flooding from the storm. Where I am is awful - we had a dam break a town over and they had to evacuate the area... It then flooded all connected waterways.

I hope her new fancy tube top helps her feel less itchy!
 
Yes, it’s very beautiful here. We live in the foothills of the mountains outside of Tucson. So far, we’ve had no blackouts due to heat like CA and AZ seems well prepared but, you never know. So true about the human food. I don’t want to lose $200 in raw meat!!


Perhaps but I’d like to first discuss with you what I said the other day about SLGS before I would feel comfortable with it. Especially since she is still having nadirs in the 90-149 range.

Sleep well.
I agree. I will respond to your message with some clarity and perhaps we can come up with a good plan!
I need some sleep so I can think straight.
Should I respond to the original thread or here/tomorrow thread?

I’ve only been to the Scottsdale, Sedona area, Flagstaff, Grand Canyon and then visited friends a few years ago outside of Scottsdale.
I’ve never been to Tucson, although I always wanted to see it and go the renowned gem show there (I used to make jewelry and use fabulous gemstones)
:)
Thanks, Marje.
 
Hey Staci! I hope you didn't have too much flooding from the storm. Where I am is awful - we had a dam break a town over and they had to evacuate the area... It then flooded all connected waterways.

I hope her new fancy tube top helps her feel less itchy!
Oh no, Alli!! That’s just awful. I hope you didn’t have damage at your home!
The flooding was bad in this area as well. But yours sounds worse.
After our water damage years ago, we had the ground regraded away from the house, downspouts moved to redirect water and had a water/gravity based sump pump installed. (Our original sump pump had failed and so did the back up pump. It was really bad!)

Glad it’s a distant memory. I had to throw out so much stuff and the hardest stuff was things my kids had made. Artwork and such. Things you just can’t replace. It was so sad.
Anyway… how is our boy Smudge doing? Is he just living the good life with no pokies?? I hope you guys are doing well. I love seeing you pop up to say hi!! Miss seeing you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I agree. I will respond to your message with some clarity and perhaps we can come up with a good plan!
I need some sleep so I can think straight.
Should I respond to the original thread or here/tomorrow thread?

I’ve only been to the Scottsdale, Sedona area, Flagstaff, Grand Canyon and then visited friends a few years ago outside of Scottsdale.
I’ve never been to Tucson, although I always wanted to see it and go the renowned gem show there (I used to make jewelry and use fabulous gemstones)
:)
Thanks, Marje.
Yes, please rest. You are working and you’ve had all those storms.

You might want to copy and paste my comments in the condo the day you want to address them. I don’t want to be pushy about when you respond but it would be a good discussion so we know how to move forward on her dosing.

It’s about gem show time here soon. It’s pretty huge, to say the least. You’re welcome!
 
Yes, please rest. You are working and you’ve had all those storms.

You might want to copy and paste my comments in the condo the day you want to address them. I don’t want to be pushy about when you respond but it would be a good discussion so we know how to move forward on her dosing.

It’s about gem show time here soon. It’s pretty huge, to say the least. You’re welcome!
Perfect I will paste the comments. And you’re not being pushy. You’re helping me! :)

Someday I’m coming to that gem show!!
 
So happy to see those greens, come on Ivy, keep 'em coming baby girl!!!! :D:D:D

Looking forward to see what the nutritionist whips up for new recipes. :p
Thanks, Jason. She decided to get to work last night a little.
Should be interesting to see what the nutritionist has to say!
Have a great day :bighug::bighug:
 
Hey Staci! I hope you didn't have too much flooding from the storm. Where I am is awful - we had a dam break a town over and they had to evacuate the area... It then flooded all connected waterways.

I hope her new fancy tube top helps her feel less itchy!
Great OTJ video, Alli :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top