1/10 Frank PMPS 216 Late shot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/10 Frank AMPS 567

Frank and J.D. had like cycles last night. May both of them come down nice and slowly today.

Enjoy your btb, if you do.
 
Re: 1/10 Frank AMPS 567

Dyana, I was thinking the same thing when I was watching your condo last night. Got my fingers crossed.
 
Re: 1/10 Frank AMPS 567/+2 529

Hi guys .. woah frank! Talk about taking it to the extreme, what the heck are you doing way up there? Come on now, head on down like a good boy! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/10 Frank AMPS 567/+2 529

I vote for BTB! If I had that option today, I would so be doing that :razz: I don't think work would like that tho, if I tried to sleep at the desk... :lol:

Come down from there Frank! You know you like the lower numbers better ;-) Have a great Friday!
 
Re: 1/10 Frank AMPS 567/+2 529

I bet Frank voted for btb this morning. :lol:

A comment on your last post from yesterday regarding when to take reductions. We have a concept called "shooting through the bounce" that means a one time only shot of the old dose before going down to the new dose. This helps them get rid of the bounce. You don't wait until they've finished with the bounce to reduce, as it's too hard to predict when it'll end. And you don't want to be in a situation where the cat is dropping due to breaking the bounce and still giving the old dose which Frank already told you is too much insulin. So, good job on sticking with the old dose this morning, but you should go down to the new reduced dose tonight. At some point Frank will stop bouncing, or won't bounce very high and you may chose to take the reduction right away instead of shooting through the bounce.
 
Re: 1/10 Frank PMPS 216/+2 362 Late shot

Old Frank decided he wasn't hungry at Pre-Shot time which is completely out of character for him. His belly still felt full from this morning so I took him to the vet to see if maybe he had some digestion issues going on. Got to the vet and he pulled out some A/D... all of a sudden Frank is hungry. I guess I should have taken my own advice and put some stank on his food. He got his meal and shot 1.5 hours late after all that work to work him back to 5am. Had a little vomit this evening. Doc kept talking about stomach cancer. No need for alarm, right? He also mentioned something about there being a difference between diabetes as a primary issue vs. Diabetes as a secondary issue saying that he is confident that Frank has a true metabolic issue where the chances of him going into remission are slim to none. This is our local vet, not the one we generally take him to so I am not sure what to think of that. I know that, regardless, when we took him in, he was about 6 pounds, severly dehydrated and ematiated. He is now 10.5 pounds and while he is still somewhat deydrated, he is a far cry from where he was. What we are doing, apparently, is working for him on some levels... so... yeah. There is that. Anyway... hopefully he will do well on this new dose. :-D
 
sorry about the confusion last night - wendy's right - and you are right. it's fine to give one more shot of the old dose if a cat bounces really high and then take the reduction at the next cycle.

i'm not sure how long you will want to continue shooting through the bounce, though - look at how quickly he has cleared this bounce from last night's greens. Less than 24 hrs later he is almost back to the same level - i'm looking at last night's pmps of 92 to tonight's of 118. That's a pretty quick resolution from the 40's bounce. that would make me more cautious about the option of shooting through the bounce - although looking at an amps of 567 i can understand that anyone would think it would be smart to shoot through the bounce. i would too. but the speed with which he's resolving the bounce is something to keep in your mind.

One of the reasons you get seemingly conflicting advice is because cats do change the game on us. the cat that's just beginning to get regulated might take the full 72 hrs to resolve the bounce, but a cat on a pretty good dose and getting regulated, will at some point probably stop bouncing. so . . . we do the best we can and try to give all the info you might need to make decisions - because you're the person there having to decide.

i was making the comment about the volume of gravy based upon that rise from 75 to 145 in 15 minutes last night. if a teaspoon will pull them up, and that's usually plenty, then stick with a teaspoon. but yes, if he won't rise, then more gravy or karo is fine. punkin took longer than the suggested 15-20 minutes to show the rise from carbs in his BGs - more like 30 minutes. i started out giving him a tsp of gravy and retesting in 15 minutes, then thinking it wasn't working. i'd give him more cuz i thought he wasn't responding to the tsp. then he would end up really high with me thinking ohmygod_smile now i've over-carbed him! but what i learned was that he needed like 30 minutes, not more carbs. someone didn't point that out to me until i'd been doing it a while and i hadn't realized it on my own.

it sounds like you've got this all figured out, though. whatever works with Frank is what you should do! :-D

eta - regarding the vet's comments - i think if you stay the course, Frank will decide whether or not he's going to go off. he's doing really well right now. just enjoy him!
 
Wendy and Julie, Thank you for clearing that up for me. I wasn't complaining, just trying to iron out the details so if we get to this stage again, I am better informed about the course of action I should take. With his numbers and behavior not making sense to me, I went ahead and took him to the vet. I had a feeling something else was coming into play here. I'll carry that bit over into today's condo, however. Thanks again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top