1/10 Chaos +23 256, PMPS 261, +4 170

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Chaos

Member Since 2010
Chaos's BG is really responding to the removal of his dry food! This morning's +11 is pretty low. Hopefully he's going to be predictable and I'll see test numbers go up in the next hour or two. I have to leave the house in a couple hours so I hope it goes up so we can eat and shoot! DH can handle shooting but I don't think he's comfortable enough with testing to manage it. Chaos and I are sort of bonded and he's not amenable to others doing what I do- he'll let hubby shoot but it's not the same happy routine.
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +11 83

Until you have more data, this is too low to shoot but then again, a lot can happen in an hour.

Gabby won't let anyone except me test. She's done bodily harm to a vet tech that used to cat sit for me. Gabby would let her shoot (food was involved!) but not test.
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +11 83

I'll be home most of the day, just have to be away for 2 hours or so.. but must leave two hours from now. If it doesn't go up before I leave, obviously I will skip the shot and see what his numbers are when I come back. If they don't go up before I have to leave, do I still withhold food?
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +11 83

Hi Violet,
The reason for stalling the shot and withholding food is so that food doesn't influence (raise) the blood glucose number; this is important so that you can see what the number really is before you give the insulin. If you (and the dosing advisors) decide that Chaos's number is too low to shoot this morning, skip the shot. If you skip the shot there is no reason to withhold food, so FEED him!

Good luck today. Keep posting your numbers so that the experts on dosing can advise you.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +11 83

Yeah, my buddy sure looks good in green and blue :) It's amazing what the LC diet is doing for him, even if getting his new dose dialed in is a pain in the neck (or ear, if you're Chaos!). Will keep testing up until I have to leave, and if I don't see bigger numbers, he's getting his breffist and no shot, and some spot checks throughout the day.
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +11 83

Good morning guys! What a nice start to the day with this +11 .. Hopefully chaos can just surf the day away in green for you .. and as far as others testing/shooting mocha, well that's a no go .. we've been at this for almost two years now and it STILL takes both me and peter to hold her down while giving her shot .. I couldn't imagine someone else coming in and trying ... have a great day!
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +11 83, +12 73 ????

Oh, he's surfing, all right! After an hour (and NO food given), the number went down ten more points. I thought it would go up. I know this new diet will be so much better for him, but it's scary when his BG doesn't do what I expect. Will keep testing.
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +11 83, +12 73 ????

Hi Violet and Chaos, I don't think I've posted in your condo yet. I love the name! Welcome to LL!

It looks like the diet change is doing great things for Chaos' BG numbers! I'm glad you lowered the dose last night, and good job getting a +11 this morning so you can see that the 73 is a dropping number at +12! :-D As Sienne pointed out, you don't have the data to shoot such a low number, and you wouldn't want to shoot a dropping low PS anyway, so unless you get a dramatic turnaround and a big rise, I would consider skipping this shot. In fact, since you are planning on leaving soon, I would suggest that you make that decision now so that you can feed and get another test a while after feeding to make sure he is rising before you leave. The 73 is a beautiful number, but if he continues to fall, you want to know that so you can intervene before you have to leave, ok?
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +11 83, +12 73 ????

Yes, I am feeding right now so I can test before I leave to make sure the number is up. I thought the same thing- I wouldn't want to leave just after feeding without knowing that his BG is rising rather than continuing to fall. I'm loving the numbers and other changes the diet has made. After only a couple of days, even my civie's eyes look brighter!
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +11 83, +12 73 ????

These are beautiful numbers!!!!

You'll get the dosing figured out. Its amazing how carbs affect our kitties. Makes no sense the vets pushing the high carb stuff.

Maverick was managed for 9 months on just a switch to wet food. He was just barely diabetic then though.
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +11 83, +12 73 ????

Got 180 after food, so I'm not worried about a crash. Looking good in blue! Will check him again when I return in a couple hours. Thanks for the love, everyone!
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +11 83, +12 73, no shot, fed, then 180????

I'm glad he came up for you after feeding. :smile: Nice job, we'll see where he is later. Don't be surprised if his numbers go pretty high, that is would not be unexpected because of skipping the shot, and possibly bouncing from the lowish numbers. He'll get back on track soon!
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +11 83, +12 73, no shot, fed, then 180, +2 26

Three hours after eating and no shot, we have 260. That's not super high, so I'm not freaking out. I'll keep spot checking him, but am not sure what to do when it comes to his PM cycle. His usual time is 7:30-ish, but because of low numbers and stalling last night, his time got moved back to 9:30. With no shot this AM, does this mean I could possibly move his PM shot time back to 7:30 this PM? I am sorry if these are stupid questions but I have never skipped a shot before.
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +11 83, +12 73, no shot, fed, then 180, +2 26

Violet, there are no stupid questions! We LIKE questions! ;-) Yes, you can go back to shooting at 7:30 tonight...that's one of the nice things about skipping, it allows you to get back on schedule.
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +11 83, +12 73, no shot, fed, then 180, +2 26

Whooo-hooo, Laurie! :mrgreen: I'm going to keep testing every few hours, but it looks like he will be above a safe number to shoot tonight and I like getting back on schedule. That is indeed a nice thing about skipping! Now... 1u was what landed him at 73 at AMPS time this morning. I know you're not supposed to change the dose until kitty's had several days to adjust and such, but I'm torn between giving him 1 or 0.5u this PM. There are hours before I have to make a decision, so I'm wondering what others have done when in these shoes.

I suppose I should be grateful that I'm getting low numbers when others are working so hard to try to get their sugar kitties' numbers down!
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +11 83, +12 73, no shot, fed, then 180, +2 26

Violet, I know that you woke up to a low PS # this morning, and I do understand your concern about giving 1.0u again. However, you have to remember that Chaos has not been getting 1.0u right along, he was getting 2.5u, then 1.5u, then you gave one shot at 1.0u last night. Because of the higher doses before that, his shed was overflowing. Now that you have skipped the shot today, that has allowed the shed to drain a little. That may make a big difference.

With the diet change, his insulin requirements will be less....how much less is a hard thing to guess since ECID.

I've asked some other folks to take a look at Chaos and give some feedback. Could you please get a test an hour before your scheduled shot time tonight, and post it here? How is your schedule for tonight, will you be able to monitor? How about tomorrow?
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +11 83, +12 73, no shot, fed, then 180, +2 26

Thanks, Laurie. I will be able to test and post all evening tonight and all day tomorrow- there's the sliver lining in being unemployed. I'll post a new test an hour before he normally get his shot to get feedback this PM. I am understanding the shed concept more fully now that I am seeing the effects on my cat, and how it may be best to see how he does on a regular dose of 1u before changing it. He's had a rough couple of days so I can see where letting things settle where dosage is concerned. While I was out today, I bought plenty of test strips and lancets! Chaos is currently doing his best to prevent me from making this post by head-butting my hands as I type, so he's acting normal lol!!
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +12 73, no shot, fed, +1 180, +2 260, now 256

Looks like Chaos has an appropriate name. :) FYI... since you didn't shoot, your numbers aren't +1, +2, etc., but rather are +13, +14, etc. This makes it clear that you didn't shoot (because +1 means one hour after shot).

I'm new and don't have advice on what to dose, but try to get an 23.5 so you can see where things are headed. Do keep in mind that monitors come with a 20% margin of error, so that 256 doesn't necessarily mean he's headed downward. All the more reason for a +23.5

Good luck!
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos no shot, fed, +13 180, +15 260, +23 256???

Thanks for explaining the numbers and to say +13, etc., Christine, that makes a lot more sense. Sorry if it was confusing, I learn something new here every day. Will post w/ new BG ASAP, but a 4 point dip isn't much considering he hasn't eaten in a few hours.
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos no shot, fed, +13 180, +15 260, +23 256???

wow, nice numbers. :smile:

I agree with Laurie that 1 unit might be an ok dose for Chaos when it doesn't have such a big shed behind it. However, it is possible that 1 unit is still too much. With such a dramatic response to a food change, it is hard to say 100% for sure whether a dose will be too much or too little. If you are more comfortable dropping to 0.5 units and working UP to the correct dose (instead of working DOWN from a dose) I would definitely support that decision.

For someone who can't monitor frequently, then I would be pushing them to reduce the dose further. You can monitor, so it's up to you. If you hold the 1u dose, then monitor frequently to be sure things are ok. If you reduce, then if the reduction doesn't hold you'll just want to be fairly aggressive increasing again until you get back to these blue and green numbers.
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +13 180, +15 260, +23 256 +24 261???

I believe I am going to err on the side of caution and give 0.5 u tonight and see how he does, then work up to the correct dose. It seems that way would be easier on his little ears, and his numbers did drop quite dramatically with the diet change. So 0.5 and a meal for Chaos- he's going to be happy it's food time!
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +13 180, +15 260, +23 256 +24 261???

Good luck with the dose change. Just remember that there's still some shed behind the lowered dose. It will take a couple of cycles for the dose to settle.
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +13 180, +15 260, +23 256 +24 261???

ty, Sienne. We'll see what 0.5 is really doing for him in a few more cycles after the shed depletes. While this is a little scary, it's also an exciting process watching my kitty's numbers and getting a better understanding of what's going on in his little furry body. The help available here and knowing that I'm doing what's best for him (as opposed to the crazy-high carb prescription food!) keeps me at it, testing, and posting.

I really enjoyed the kitty photos link- those are some beautiful furbabies!
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +13 180, +15 260, +23 256 +24 261???

Really an amazing day for Chaos--I am of the thinking that it is safer to shoot a lower dose in a situation like this as you can always add to the dose-
Glad you are doing 0.5U..Let's see how he does tonite! Just keep trying to monitor when you can. Good job Violet, you doing your best! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +13 180, +15 260, +23 256 +24 261???

Violet: I'm sorry but I don't think I've welcomed you and Chaos to Lantus Land. What a day you had!!! It's always scary to wake up to a low PS number that is dropping!! You handled it like a pro. You've had some very good advice today from our wonderful LLers!! Here's hoping that Chaos will do fab on his new dose!! It is amazing how BG numbers can drop once a cat is off dry food!
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +13 180, +15 260, +23 256 +24 261???

Just got back and read about your day. You and Chaos did GREAT! Good luck with the 0.5 dose!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/10 Chaos +13 180, +15 260, +23 256 +24 261???

He's at 170 following his PM shot of 0.5u. Yay, Chaos! Mama bean needs sleep now, goodnight ((hugs)) for everyone!
 
That's a nice gentle drop by +4. You can stop holding your breath now!!

Thanks for the compliments on my kitties. I should have more photos soon. The friend who took that set of photos was visiting at Thanksgiving. He's almost a professional photographer and he took another set. Those pictures were when Gizmo was about 6 mos. old. The new photos were a year later and he's much bigger and fluffier!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top