1/1 Mitsos AMPS 144, + 5 42 + 5.25 52

It looks like Mitsos was diagnosed in September, 2023. That makes your kitty a "long term" diabetic. With TR, once your cat is past the first year since diagnosis, you reduce the dose if numbers fall below 40. Alternatively, if your cat is in normal numbers for a week you can reduce the dose. From the dosing methods sticky:
Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
  • Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s. Please ask for advice immediately.
 
Back
Top