1/1 Max AMPS 264, +6 83, PMPS 131, +3 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollyall

Member Since 2011
Lots of fireworks last night by the neighbors for New Year's had Max hiding under a bench in the basement. Not sure if a stress spike would last that long, but we saw a pretty high AMPS for him this morning. PMPS was much better, +3 has me a little concerned being so early in the cycle. I'm not used to shooting lower #'s yet, so I'll be keeping a close eye on Max tonight. I've been trying a skinny .5 unit, which I call .4 on the ss, yesterday and today. I've had time off over the holidays, but I go back to work tomorrow and worry that Max can drift a little low sometimes, not been bad low, pretty good actually. I thought maybe a skinny would take some of the edge of the bounces, and I don't know how I feel about shooting a lowish pre-shot when I'm going be gone during the day. What do you all think? I know he hasn't been on Lantus very long yet.
 
Holly

This is where your own comfort level comes into play. If you're comfortable shooting low to stay low and leave him with plenty of food down. Then you can maintain this dose and very likely he'll be fine while you're gone.

If you have someone you can train to test near you that can stop by and check on him might be another option for while you're working as well.

Right now for the most part he's tightly regulated, but I personally find nothing wrong with simply holding them in regulation but not tightly. Regulation is around 200 at preshot but below 250 and 150 or under at nadir. If that range is more comfortable for you when you need to leave him then simply lower his dose. So that his curve comes up overall.

Personally I've never seen a difference in the rate of remission in the cats that I've tightly regulated and those that I simply regulated. Just from my personally experience it seems if they are going to break they will as long as they stay below renal, are on a low carb diet and have no complicating health issues. It might take longer to get there if they're gonna go but they get there regardless.

But you hold the syringe and you know Max best.

Now if he was mine, Personally I would lower the dose and let him run higher but that is strictly because of my zoo. I can't leave food down encase someone is crashing because my glutton cats will have eaten everything in sight. But that is my personal reasons for letting Autumn and Casey run higher when I need to be gone extended periods.

The real goal is to keep both kitty and bean safe and sane. If you are stressed out and sleep deprived and unfocused then you aren't helping anyone. Not Max, the job, or yourself.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Thanks Mel! So nice to hear from someone with such good experience. I guess that's what I need for my comfort level, experience, which of course takes time, and it's so hard being patient to get the experience. Being back on insulin has definitely been an adjustment for both Max and me. I'm used to working long hours and running errands after work, and, now I've got to make sure I'm home by a certain time, which is early for me. So far, I've shot two low-ish pre-shots without waiting and Max has been totally fine. He hasn't even gone particularly low, probably because I worry and compensate with an extra snack or two. Probably like everyone here, I just want him to have his best chance. I'm living with my parents while I save to buy a home, so Max isn't alone during the day. My parents are retired. I've been trying to remind them to give Max a snack at +3 to help smooth his drop. He's not making that easy though cause he likes to go off and sleep during the day, and they can't find him. Haven't been able to convince them yet to learn to test, but I'm getting close. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top