1/1 Hogan PMPS 227, +2 137, +3 117

Hogan

Member Since 2018
Happy new year everyone!

Hogan seems to be responding nicely to the insulin now, finally seeing some blues.

With the SLGS protocol, do I need to do a curve on the 7th day (which would be tomorrow for me) to decide whether I should be adjusting the dose the next day? Or is the data I've collected for the current dose level enough?

It looks to me like I should be maintaining the dose.

Also, I've read that there are two ways to do a curve - every 2 hours for 12 hours, or every 3 hours for 18 hours. Since I normally try to test every three hours for 15 hours, could I just add in an extra test to continue my current pattern?
 
Hogan's numbers are looking much better!

I think you're fine to do a 3 hour curve and add in the extra test. I'd be curious if Hogan is one of those kitties who seems to have lower numbers at night.

Another thought is to break up your testing a bit. Testing every 3 hrs all the time means you have unbroken columns of white on your spreadsheet. You might want to shift things around a bit so you get some spot checks at different times to fill in the gaps. It may not be critical right now, but as Hogan starts spending more time in lower numbers, it may make a difference.

As for the current dose, less than half of your nadirs are under 150. Unfortunately, you don't have much information for the PM cycles with regard to whether the nadirs are under 150. That being the case, I would increase Hogan's dose. From the SLGS sticky:
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours:
Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit


 
After the 56 at +6, I gave him 2 Temptations treats and tested again in 15 minutes, and it was 77 at +6.25.

I tested again at +7, and it was 28! On the AT2. I almost keeled over. I gave him about 10 Temptations treats, tested again in 15 minutes, and it's up to 98.

He seemed perfectly fine throughout. I have the corn syrup out, but is giving him HC treats enough? Did I handle this right?
 
Good catch! Guess he wants a reduction. I would keep testing, high carb food can wear off. Test every half hour for a couple hours yet. You want him staying above 68. You can give him a tsp or two of low carb wet or raw food if he will eat it. It can help him surf or stay steady.

Next time, I would have given high carb wet food, or added karo to his regular food. Both of those don’t last as long as dry food in the system. The other problem with HC treats is they keep wanting them.

Good to hear you didn’t see any hypo symptoms.
 
That's my big challenge, he won't eat wet food. He will eat one kind of raw food, but only if I get it defrosted to just the right temperature, and then only if I offer it to him by hand one cube at a time, and he spends a good two minutes pawing the cube before begrudgingly licking it up. Believe me, I am convinced that wet or raw food is the best thing for him long term, but convincing him is the hard part. Particularly since his appetite has always been on the low side (despite his size). My plan is to get him somewhat regulated on insulin, and then try to be more aggressive about it (getting him off kibble) once his numbers are habitually lower.

Would rubbing corn syrup on his gums be more effective than the HC treats?

I'll keep testing, thankfully that is easy!
 
Last edited:
OMG! Nelli got a dozen or so Farmina (her FAVE!) kibbles within last couple days. She has been boycotting; holding out for more Farmina, not wanting to eat regular food which, btw she really likes :D.

Yup, she keeps wanting more :woot:

He was insanely excited for the HC treats. I also caught him last night trying to sneak into the laundry room to steal some of the dog's Farmina kibble as well.
 
So just ignore what I posted earlier. Hogan clearly read what I wrote and decided that he had quite enough of the 2.25u dose. You'll want to start Hogan at 2.0u at the next shot time.

One thought to keep in mind for the future is that dry food or treats, while high in carbs, can take a while to be metabolized. Corn syrup, because it's a simple sugar, gets into the blood stream more quickly.

Have you tried anything like Stella & Chewy's freeze dried food? It's freeze dried raw and some hard food addicts like the crunch. You can add water to it to gradually get a cat used to a wetter textured food.
 
So just ignore what I posted earlier. Hogan clearly read what I wrote and decided that he had quite enough of the 2.25u dose. You'll want to start Hogan at 2.0u at the next shot time.

One thought to keep in mind for the future is that dry food or treats, while high in carbs, can take a while to be metabolized. Corn syrup, because it's a simple sugar, gets into the blood stream more quickly.

Have you tried anything like Stella & Chewy's freeze dried food? It's freeze dried raw and some hard food addicts like the crunch. You can add water to it to gradually get a cat used to a wetter textured food.

:) It's definitely a roller coaster!

I actually have a bag of the Stella & Chewy's freeze dried turkey in the pantry. I bought about a million different things to try, so I haven't gotten to those yet. I did try other freeze dried raw, but he wouldn't come near it. So I will definitely open it up and try it out.
 
I think you're fine to do a 3 hour curve and add in the extra test. I'd be curious if Hogan is one of those kitties who seems to have lower numbers at night.

Another thought is to break up your testing a bit. Testing every 3 hrs all the time means you have unbroken columns of white on your spreadsheet. You might want to shift things around a bit so you get some spot checks at different times to fill in the gaps. It may not be critical right now, but as Hogan starts spending more time in lower numbers, it may make a difference.

I had to shift his shoot times later towards 10am/10pm to accommodate the holidays. Now I'm shifting back earlier towards 6:30am/6:30pm, which should give me the opportunity to get more PM tests.
 
So just ignore what I posted earlier. Hogan clearly read what I wrote and decided that he had quite enough of the 2.25u dose. .
open


Here he is reading FDMB, plotting against us ;) "So, if I go hypo, I get to have Temptations treats again? Hmm, game on, lady, game on."

2017-02-15 00.37.03 (Large).jpg
 
Last edited:
I reduced to 2.0 for his PM shot. I think he's angling for some more Temptations though. I plan to test again at +4.
 
FYI - if your SS is correct, have the "heart attack" after you give your kitty some high carb food or treats!!!

The reason that Christie suggested that you test sooner is that in general, your +2 should be close to your pre-shot test number. When you see a drop like you did between PMPS and +2, it may be an indication that you're going to need to be on top of Hogan's numbers.
 
Well, it was a "heart attack" while going for the HC treats! :eek:

I tested at +3 and he was still in the blues, thankfully. We'll see how today goes!
 
Back
Top