1/1 Gracie PMPS 354 +2 335 +4 307

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33316

Recap:
AMPS: 199 8th cycle sk1.25u
+1.5: 286
+3: 285
+5: 308
PMPS: 321 9th cycle sk1.25u
+2: 167 fed 1 tsp 14% w/gravy
+3: 73 fed 1/2 tsp 14% w/gravy & drop karo
+3.5: 78 1 tsp 6% w/14% gravy
+4: 88 1 tsp 6% w/14% gravy
+5: 71
+6: 53 1 tsp 6% w/14% gravy/drop karo
+6.5: 85
+7.5: 75 1 tsp 6% w/scant 14% gravy
+8.5: 84
+9.5: 96
+11: 113
AMPS: 119 1st cycle f1u
+1: 215


HAPPY NEW YEAR LANTUS LAND!!!

Mike and I, Teddi, Gus, Gracie, and Tobey wish each and every one of you and your families, sugarbabies, and civvies the healthiest and happiest in 2011. May each of you be blessed. Thank you for all you have done to help us along our journey.

WCR: 4Ps in place and surprisingly perky today...playing with Tobey in their usual wrestling match. Gracie had a nice curve last night although we did have to manage it to keep her up....she falls quickly and we were trying to give her ears a rest by keeping her a little higher. We reduced her dose this morning to f1u. Since she didn't change much from +9.5 last night to AMPS this morning, I gave her a little higher% carb food (10) as some members suggested in order to hopefully control any big drop. So we have a big food spike or bounce or both....we'll see with the next test. We appreciate everyone's suggestions.

Have a wonderful day celebrating the new year. We are having a dinner party tonight and look forward to sharing the evening with friends and a southern style NYs dinner. Enjoy the bowl games and GO TCU HORNED FROGS!!!! (my alma mater) :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Happy New Year to you Gracie and your Beans as well :mrgreen: Nice start for Gracie today ;-) Marjorie I received :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon the coesquin yesterday and again thanks so much for that
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

party_cat HAPPY NEW YEAR MARJORIE, MIKE, TEDDI, GUS, GRACIE & TOBEY!!!
Wishing you ALL the very BEST for the coming year! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
Beautiful AMPS Gracie! Hope you have a wonderful day today... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 269 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Happy New Year, Marjorie, Mike and kitties! I hope 2011 is a good one for you all!

Good luck with the dosecrease!

(You haven't missed our condos, I haven't been posting much due to spending time with my family over the holidays.)
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 269 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Happy New Year Marjorie Mike and Gracie!! I hope the coming year is a happy and healthy one for all of you. Nice start to the day here. I hope Gracie cooperates and doesn't go too low for you. If only these kitties would learn that surfing is just as much fun as diving.
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 269 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Happy new year to you guys!!!!!!

I am wishing that Gracie loves this new dose and you and Mike and her ears get a much needed break. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 269 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Happy New Year to Gracie, her beans and civies. I hope you all have a wonderful 2011.

Psst Gracie. You're going the wrong way!
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 269 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Hi Marjorie,

Happiest of New Years to You!

I decided to answer your questions in your condo vs. in a PM. I hope that is Ok. ;-)

Food as therapy. Here's how I'll try to explain this. I have in Attie's history these weird flash fall drops (see 11/15 SS). Drop 75-100 points in a half hour and then he bounces back up just as fast to the freaky 500+. If I wasn't home and testing like crazy...I'd never ever catch it.

Probably not unlike you, everything I've read regarding such responses indicates too much insulin. These flash drops are supposedly classic to smogyi rebound. According to the Tilly Protocol...there is no such thing as smogyi rebound. It is unproven.

Lantus being a very, very gentle insulin and a protocol that increases less than a half unit at a time is very unlikely to create the smogyi rebound or chronic rebound issue. So the question becomes...what is going on and how to manage it?

If this were any other insulin we would adjust the dose on a sliding scale. Well, we can't do that with Lantus. For reasons I am sure you understand.

What can we adjust? The food. Over in Think Tank I started a thread about the food issue and carb loading. I too, tried carb. loading Attie to react or soften the flash drops. (11/3 on SS the H and L are carbs) Epic Fail...and I think it messed with the shed too. Sienne and Libby will disagree with that, but I think carb. loading draws on the shed destabilizing the amount of insulin in the blood. Just like a late shot or early shot. This then may compound the subsequent cycle... and wash, rinse, repeat with a sensitive cat like Gracie. You get what looks like rebound.

Attie had an IBD issue too, but when I relegated him to just one food type I really needed to get this 'flash drop' issue to STOP. So, instead of waiting and testing to see IF he will flash drop...I simply took a look at the SS and accepted that he would do this drop. So, if that is the case what would a human diabetic do? Eat enough food at the right times consistently. What likes consistency? Lantus. Laurie and Sienne were instrumental is helping me figure out the timing and where to start with it. I dropped Attie back a whole 0.5u and set up the feeding times. Then went back and started adjusting the dose. Viola...
less instability. (11/28 Ss) Sienne said it could take weeks to get some consistency...it really seemed to be a few days. ECID.

Hence, my question to you last night...
are you feeding enough at your preshots?
It may be a matter of adding a quarter ounce to her dinner. Gracie needs the dose, it is just hitting at the wrong time.

I lowered Atties dose and set about establishing a set food, amount, and time. Held that for about 5 days before changing the dose. Each increase since then is held for 4-6 days. Sometimes the food needed to be tweaked slightly after a doscrease, but the dreaded drops soon mellowed, the bounces too.

Now about shooting into the drop. The last week or so Attie has been late nadiring. He has done this since we started lantus or he'll give me that infamous "double nadir." Well, if I wait for him to start to rise...it's over ...bounce city and zoom. So, keeping in mind Attie runs a late nadir...I am shooting into a falling number. nailbite_smile . I know the insulin isn't going to hit his system for several hours. So stalling and waiting and draining the shed ... on a flash dropper? Bad news. But, I have the history to shoot in this manner. Others do not and should not.
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 269 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Dear Marjorie, Mike, Gracie & Gang!! Wishing you a healthy. Happy, wonderous New Year and may all you wish for come true!!
Great start to the New Year with a dose crease!! Happy for you--Gracie is doing great--Enjoy NYday activities--
So happy you are our friend--Lubs you all!! Big HUgs from US!!
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 269 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Beth...

I decided to answer your questions in your condo vs. in a PM. I hope that is Ok.
Absolutely and it is preferable. I just sent you a PM because I posted the question in last night's condo and I didn't know if you would see it or get to our condo today so just wanted to draw your attention to it. I am ALL FOR having the info in a condo where everyone can see it.

Thanks for clarifying....I am probably going to have another question; am waiting to hear from Jill/Libby on their plan. Mike and I are going to grab a quick breffis.
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 269 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Happy New Year to Marjorie, Mike, Teddi, Gus, Gracie, and Tobey !!! :RAHCAT

Gracie… Looks like today will be ears healing day for you!!!
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 269 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

As Jill mentioned yesterday, she and I were talking off-board about Gracie. We decided that it would be helpful to post our honest thoughts in your condo so you and Mike can participate in the conversation. We don't have answers, but would like to get a good discussion going. So, let's discuss!

Yesterday:

Libby sez:

I’m having a hard time being objective with Gracie. I think it’s because her SS looks so much like Lucy’s right before she went OTJ. I get nervous and want to hold the doses forever, and I’m sure that isn’t necessary. Then again, I see her bounces starting to disappear and that makes me want to push hard and try to get the cat OTJ. It looks so familiar and I think Gracie can go OTJ from here but it won’t be easy…

Marjorie is wondering if they should reduce because they are working so hard to keep her from dropping. She *is* working too hard at it and I wonder if she should stop trying so hard and just let Gracie earn the reductions when she needs them. Of course I don’t mean to not feed when needed, and I don’t know how to explain what I’m thinking.

I realize that Gracie responds slowly to HC and that is why she is using Karo. For most cats, I feel that if Karo is being used then the dose is too high. I’m still “old school” enough to actually want to SEE dose reduction earning numbers though. LOL! I’m positive Gracie would have hit 30s last night without the Karo, but I’m scared to reduce because I’m scared she’ll lose all the progress she is suddenly making.

Anyway, I have too many conflicting opinions here, what do you think?


Jill sez:

gracie's a tough one. i've never seen a kitty who requires repeated offerings of hc to bump the numbers up. it bothers me that there are so many eyes on her condo because what's going on there is definitely not the norm. unfortunately, replicating what seems to be a good idea with someone else's cat without taking the particular needs of one's own cat into consideration happens frequently in LL. some of the comments made in her condo today [now yesterday] reflect opinions based on the norm... not gracie. i'd hate to see others use what they're seeing here on their own cats.

i'd like to preface my thoughts with four givens:

1). marjorie has told me she and mike are willing to do whatever it takes and can monitor round the clock.

2). i've repeatedly given her the option of reducing the dose if this became too much for her. told her it was her decision.

3). gracie is a bouncer who has a history of not holding reductions well.

4). unlike other kitties, karo has shown to be theonly effective alternative to bumping up gracie's numbers quickly.

libby, i share your thoughts and conflicting opinions... 100%. like you, i don't have "the answer". marjorie and mike cannot possibly keep this schedule up forever. the intense management of gracie's curves is paying off. however, even with all this effort... gracie continues to bounce. the bounces are just clearing faster. i was hoping we'd be seeing back-to-back green cycles by now, but we aren't. although, there is definitely great progress being made. i really don't think gracie would have gotten to this stage so quickly without this intense effort from marjorie and mike. a single caregiver could not have possibly made this kind of commitment. you know as well as i do, the faster we can get her numbers under control safely, the shorter this journey will be for marjorie and mike. kitties who bounce as hard as gracie have a tendency to have a very long and tough time before we see everything click into place. oftentimes,favorable results are never seen no matter how hard the caregiver tries.

soooooo, where does that leave us? i almost feel like we're stuck between a rock and a hard place. marjorie worries when she's not seeing green on a regular basis, but understandably, getting those greens requires an enormous effort (above and beyond the call of duty). marjorie and mike are human. this kind of effort gets old and consuming. they're tired. this is why i've dumped the decision to reduce back in their laps whenever asked. it's a decision i've never felt comfortable making for any caregiver nor have i felt it's a decision for me to make. each individual caregiver has to define their own limits.

is gracie ready... will she respond to "normal" treatment? there's only one way to find out and that's to try it. she'll either respond beautifully or she won't... and it will set her back. it's a gamble. it's yet another decision i don't like to make for a caregiver.

how's that for a non-answer to your thoughts? :)


Libby sez:

LOL! At least I know I’m not alone in my conflict. :-D

I’ll never be able to forget that the one time I took some major reductions when Lucy was doing well and I got tired or busy or whatever, it set us back for months. Those 2-3 months were by far the most frustrating months of our journey, because I had my eye on the prize and it was within sight, then suddenly it was gone and we were back where we started. I cried a lot, I tried different foods, different meters, new strips, new insulin, new syringes, cried some more. I thought she must be sick. It wasn’t until she got to the next breakthrough that I understood what had happened. The thing is, I never really cared if Lucy went OTJ before, but when she got that close and then couldn’t get there, then suddenly it was the only thing I could think about. I thought I had cost her her shot at going OTJ. Thankfully Lucy is a fighter and she never let me give up.

The next time Lucy got to that point, there was no way I was going to back down, no matter how tired I got. I knew it could happen again. I don’t think either you or Jojo ever told me why you thought she lost it or why I needed to grow some BOS and keep going. I just knew. I do remember reading between the lines, especially in Jojo’s posts, and feeling that she thought I was doing the right thing. Who knows, maybe I misinterpreted that and you guys thought I was nuts! LOL! Lucy was much more responsive to carbs than Gracie is, though. She did like to keep dropping again after the carbs wore off (and they wore off quickly!) but at least I could get her up. I just couldn’t keep her up.

Anyway… that is why I’m having such a hard time with Gracie. I don’t want anyone to have to go through all that doubt and crying. But of course we don’t know if reducing Gracie’s dose would have that effect. We also don’t know if holding the dose will get her where we want her.

I would love to forward these emails to Marjorie. That might be considered off-board advice, though. I wonder what would happen if we posted this conversation in her condo?


Jill sez:

BINGO!!!!! this is exactly what i've been alluding to! i'm scared to death to see that happen with gracie. we've both seen other kitties go through the same thing. imo, what marjorie and mike have been doing has possibly cut months off of time spent on treatment.

i dunno. maybe posting this email exchange would help. it would be a first.

otoh, forwarding these emails doesn't really constitute "dosing advise", does it? they seem more of an explanation as to what we're thinking. i don't want to disrespect rebecca's wishes. my understanding is it's ok to discuss kitties off-board, but advice should always be given on the board where it is subject to peer review.
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 269 +4 329 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Thanks Jill and Libby for posting the "conversation". I guess I'm confused at where to go next. Let me start with this question:

Jill said:
is gracie ready... will she respond to "normal" treatment? there's only one way to find out and that's to try it. she'll either respond beautifully or she won't... and it will set her back. it's a gamble

I don't understand what that means, Jill. What is "normal" treatment? Do you mean treatment according to the protocol where we start reducing her as a newly diagnosed diabetic...any time she gets under 50, she gets a .25u reduction?

Libby said:
I’m still “old school” enough to actually want to SEE dose reduction earning numbers though. LOL! I’m positive Gracie would have hit 30s last night without the Karo, but I’m scared to reduce because I’m scared she’ll lose all the progress she is suddenly making.

This is what Mike and I have been wondering. The protocol doesn't say to lower the dose when a newly dx cat gets below 50 after doing everything the caregiver can to keep them up (i.e. making them earn a reduction). As Libby said, we have to feed her to get her up but I think she would have been already reduced at the 1.25u and the sk1.25u after the first low cycle because without us controlling her, she would have gone lower.

Jill said:
marjorie worries when she's not seeing green on a regular basis, but understandably, getting those greens requires an enormous effort (above and beyond the call of duty). marjorie and mike are human. this kind of effort gets old and consuming. they're tired. this is why i've dumped the decision to reduce back in their laps whenever asked.

Just a little clarification (sorry, that sounds harsher than I ever meant it to :lol:) ; we're ok with not seeing green every cycle...our immediate goal is some kind of regulation where we don't have these bounces. That is number one. We're tired, yes but it's not the wear and tear on us right now that is most important...because there are two of us, we are changing out and resting; but the reasons we reduced today were because (1) it just seems like there may be too much insulin if we are having to feed her up to +9 to keep her BG up..in other words..are we working it too hard and had she already earned a reduction? (2) having to feed this much is giving her too many calories AND I don't like just pumping karo (sugar) into a diabetic cat.

Libby said:
It wasn’t until she got to the next breakthrough that I understood what had happened

Just out of curiousity...what was that?

Libby said:
Lucy was much more responsive to carbs than Gracie is, though. She did like to keep dropping again after the carbs wore off (and they wore off quickly!) but at least I could get her up. I just couldn’t keep her up.

I think Mike got her up and kept her up pretty well last night. We were able to stop the drop quickly and as long as he fed her, she stayed up except at +6 where she dropped back down a little. Even still...she had a lot of 14% and some karo last night.

Questions:
1. Perhaps I'm not seeing this with unbiased eyes but when I look at other kitties' SS, I see the same kind of bouncing so I don't see that Gracie's is worse than many of the other cats.
2. I also see other caregivers using alot of HC foods to manage their curves and some of them don't respond any more quickly than Gracie and I see them surfing 50s over a few hours.
3. Beth said something about the insulin dose might be right, it could be the feeding not being in sync with the dose that is the problem.
4. Where does this leave us? Do we get aggressive again and bump her back up? Do we see what she does with this TINY reduction? Is it possible that it will help if we take her down a drop at a time, see if she will get back into healing numbers and maybe stop bouncing so much and then continue slowly down the scale a drop at a time instead of .25u at a time?
5. What if we do it "normally"....if she gets below 50 once, reduce .25u and try to work her down? We did try that but she's been on insulin much longer now. Is it at all possible that she could be to the point where she really doesn't need insulin and we're just bouncing her around with it and that's why we're having to work so hard to keep her up and then she's bouncing so hard?
6. Mike and I just aren't experienced enough with this to make the decision.....if Libby has a hard time with it because Gracie's SS looks like Lucy's, then can you imagine how we feel?? We're novices and we're trying to make objective decisions about our baby without having the knowledge or the unbias.
7. Would levemir be an option....I see Tess and Gracie as very similar altho Gracie doesn't peak as early as Tess but she certainly drops fast at the beginning like Tess does...do these drops decrease on lev because the nadir is further out or does it just push the drop out further to +4 or 5 instead of 2 or 3?

Thank you so very much!!!! We really appreciate the input.
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 269 +4 329 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Wow that is some complicated stuff.

Actually in an odd way this resonates with me, (I mean, the wondering "is the insulin we're giving just making things harder to manage?") - you may think I am nuts since our Acrocat is SO different a case, but I do find myself conflicted about giving Sooty his current "megadose" twice a day when I know (from actually trying it) that his BG numbers were just about exactly the same when he was given no insulin at all. Anyhow, I must not hi-jack or de-rail this discussion with my own selfish nonsense but I do wish you well, in figuring out what to do!!

And to inject a little levity, to close: HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!! All the best to you, Mike and Gracie!
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 269 +4 329 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Marjorie, I wish for your New Year, much happiness and good health, for you, Mike, Gracie, and the adorable civvies. Omigosh, is that Tobey, with the striped arms that I love so much?
Thanks for posting the pics. :-D
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 269 +4 329 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Great discussion. I love them - so informative. Good luck with whatever you guys decide.

nice cycle last night - you guys are just the best - so supportive of Gracie and her journey.
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 269 +4 329 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

very very interesting stuff here. Good luck to Marjorie and Mike as they struggle to do the right thing for little Gracie.

side note - finally got to peek at your snow pictures - beautiful photography, which one of you took the pictures?
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 269 +4 329 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

I'm going to take a few of these for now, because there are a million other condos I want to visit while I'm still feeling some energy. Sorry, I'm too impatient to get all the quotes into the right places so I hope you can still follow me.

Libby said:
It wasn’t until she got to the next breakthrough that I understood what had happened

Just out of curiousity...what was that?
I took too many reductions in too fast succession, and Lucy was not able to hold those reductions. She went back to pink/yellow and stayed there until I built all the way back up to her original breakthrough dose (4.25 units). Look at her spreadsheet in October 08.

When I got a second chance, I was determined to hold reductions until I saw a number below 40, even if I was fighting to prevent seeing that number below 40. Is that what made Lucy's second run down the dosing scale more successful? I don't know. It might have worked to go down the normal way. Maybe she just wasn't ready the first time, and the second time would have been fine. All I knew was that what I did the first time didn't have the result I wanted, so when she gave me a second chance, I was going to do something different. One VERY important difference here is that Lucy was not a new diabetic. She had been on the juice for over a year, so I knew nothing was going to come easily for her. Also, I was very fortunate that Lucy decided to give me this second chance over the holidays, when I could take more time to work with her. If she had done this while I was working my normal schedule, I wouldn't have been able to pull this off. Then I would have done things the "normal" way and just gone up and down until she decided to stop bouncing. Safety first and you can't ride that close to the edge when you can't monitor around the clock.

Bouncers can have a very long and frustrating trip through LL. Back in "the day" (LOL!) we just waited until the bouncing went away, whether that took a month or a year or three years. Now we have some ideas, like food manipulation, that are helping make that trip faster for some cats. You seem like you want to try to get her to unbounce faster, so we're trying to show you what has worked for some others. Would she unbounce on her own if you follow the "normal" protocol? Probably. When? I don't know.

Basically what we are saying is that a lot of this is up to you. I know that sounds very unfair. What you and Mike are doing is working very well for Gracie, but there is a human cost. I remember feeling frustrated that Jojo or Jill did not tell me "reduce your dose by x.xx" like they did other people. They couldn't. One of the parameters Rebecca has set here is that advice needs to be given based on a set protocol or on experience. I have a little experience with this. Jill has experience because she went through it with me. Both of us have also watched lots of other cats.

Do I know what I would want to do, if this was Lucy and if I felt I was up to it? Yes. But that is not something I can advise you to do. There are risks. If you reduce the dose too much/too fast, there is a risk that she'll lose her progress and you'll be back at square one. If you stay aggressive and hold doses longer, there is a risk that she will go too low and you might have trouble bringing her up.

Libby said:
I’m still “old school” enough to actually want to SEE dose reduction earning numbers though. LOL! I’m positive Gracie would have hit 30s last night without the Karo, but I’m scared to reduce because I’m scared she’ll lose all the progress she is suddenly making.

This is what Mike and I have been wondering. The protocol doesn't say to lower the dose when a newly dx cat gets below 50 after doing everything the caregiver can to keep them up (i.e. making them earn a reduction). As Libby said, we have to feed her to get her up but I think she would have been already reduced at the 1.25u and the sk1.25u after the first low cycle because without us controlling her, she would have gone lower.
Right. Gracie has a hard time holding reductions. In the past, she has proven that if you reduce by 0.25 after she goes below 50, she won't hold the reduction. Has that changed for her now? Maybe. There is only one way to find out, and that is to try. It's your decision!

Questions:
1. Perhaps I'm not seeing this with unbiased eyes but when I look at other kitties' SS, I see the same kind of bouncing so I don't see that Gracie's is worse than many of the other cats.
right, there are lots of other cats who bounce a lot. You seem to want to get her into better numbers faster, so by suggesting food manipulation we're trying to give you ideas that might help. Most cats do unbounce after a while. I think your food management is probably helping Gracie get through it faster, but she would probably still unbounce on her own at some point. As Jill said in one of her emails, most likely your food manipulation has moved Gracie a couple of months farther along in LTS than she might have otherwise gotten.

2. I also see other caregivers using alot of HC foods to manage their curves and some of them don't respond any more quickly than Gracie and I see them surfing 50s over a few hours.
Yes, there are other caregivers using a lot of HC food to manage curves. I think some of them might be overthinking things, too. :mrgreen: Each person has to make their own decisions, especially when they start stepping outside the normal protocol. Also, a lot of the cats you are watching are long-term diabetics. Once they have been at this a while, the chances that they will unbounce on their own are reduced. I don't know why, but we do see that. I also remember that Jojo's theory was that cats who had spent a while on Vetsulin or PZI were harder to make stop bouncing than the ones who had started on Lantus or Levemir. Gracie is still new, so there is a good chance her liver with "get it" on its own.

4. Where does this leave us? Do we get aggressive again and bump her back up? Do we see what she does with this TINY reduction? Is it possible that it will help if we take her down a drop at a time, see if she will get back into healing numbers and maybe stop bouncing so much and then continue slowly down the scale a drop at a time instead of .25u at a time?
It's very possible. With Lucy, I decided "losing it" again was less preferable than seeing low numbers. It is also important to note that the time Lucy "lost it," it was not because I was taking shaves. I took a lot of reductions in quick succession. At the stage you are, I don't think taking shaves will hurt. I would just hate to tell you "it's ok to take shaves" and then have Gracie lose it. I hate giving advice that results in setbacks, even though there is no way to know in advance if there will be a setback. I've seen it matter, in some cats.

6. Mike and I just aren't experienced enough with this to make the decision.....if Libby has a hard time with it because Gracie's SS looks like Lucy's, then can you imagine how we feel?? We're novices and we're trying to make objective decisions about our baby without having the knowledge or the unbias.
I have a hard time not projecting my fears about Lucy onto Gracie. It's not fair for me to do that, because they really are different cats (old diabetic vs. new, carb sensitive vs. not, cat who had a pancreas that I thought was damaged beyond repair, etc.). Also, I wasn't experienced at the time. I had been in LL maybe 8 months, but hadn't been studying other spreadsheets the way I do now. To this day, Jill teases me because I wanted to hold onto my doses longer than anybody she has ever seen here. :lol: It's why you will often see me step aside when a cat is going into a fast dose reduction phase. It's stressful for me to watch people taking fast reductions and hoping they will hold!

7. Would levemir be an option....I see Tess and Gracie as very similar altho Gracie doesn't peak as early as Tess but she certainly drops fast at the beginning like Tess does...do these drops decrease on lev because the nadir is further out or does it just push the drop out further to +4 or 5 instead of 2 or 3?
Maybe. It seems like most of the time we don't see the drops reduce with Lev, but we see the whole cycle move around. You might find Putty's spreadsheet to be helpful. With Jazzy, I'm finding Lev a little frustrating only because it pushes her onset so late that if I do a +4 before bed, it tells me absolutely nothing about what number I'm going to wake up to in the morning. She likes Lev and is nice and flat on it, but I wonder if Lantus would be a safer choice for Jazzy just because it's not possible for me to do later tests at night. ECID, though.
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 269 +4 329 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

I can't speak for others, but I find Gracie's condo actually helping me to understand curve management etc.

I think everyone following along will know that Gracie is not following the norm of what you will normally see on LL. At least I do. I would never do anything without asking first. Its just neat to understand why Gracie's numbers behave the way they do :)
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie AMPS 119 +2 269 +4 329 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Thank you all for responding today, esp Libby with her second explanation when I know you have lots of other things to do. Unfortunately, we long ago committed to having a NYs dinner party here and we're in the midst of getting ready for that so it's going to be late before I get back to our condo or maybe even tomorrow. It doesn't mean we don't appreciate all the input....it is wonderful and more appreciated than you know. Mike and I will take turns testing Gracie tonight and posting her numbers. I hope to be able to read everything before I go to bed. I think I made it to most condos this morning but if you posted after I did, please know I'm thinking of you and wishing you and yours a happy, healthy 2011. Our love to all.
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie PMPS 354

drinking24 HAPPY NEW YEAR! drinking24 Marjorie, Mike, Teddi, Gus, Gracie, and Tobey

Sorry to be so late today ,but we had a busy morning. Then I started reading your condo! A lot to think about here! You two are doing a fantastic job. It is totally frustrating at time, but stop and look back and see the improvements Gracie has made!

Have a wonderfu evening! And a bright New Year ahead!
 
Re: 1/1 Gracie PMPS 354

Gracie, my girl...you are TRULY "In The Arms of The Angels"!!!

this is really cool...they work so hard for us!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top