1/1 Bailie amps 68

Nancyco*

Very Active Member
@Bandit's Mom https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/31-12-bailie-amps-401-2-361-5-421.297044/Or anybody that can help I am up all night again tonight. I have not slept at all. He’s been in the greens and at one point 46 was the lowest. Now he’s 68 after all night filling the carbs in him . What do I do he is due his shot I’m scared to shoot and I’m really really exhausted with all these very low numbers that result in major swings I can’t do this it too hard on him and me I can’t get any sleep please help . He’s so sick of eating all night long that he will not eat anything right now either. And he’s due his shot now.PLEASE CAN SOMEONE HELP???? I don’t want to skip a shot but I’m terrified to shoot I need the ok .
 
Last edited:
I'm just seeing this. Did you give insulin? Did he eat? Any more tests since that 68?
I just tested him now and he’s 59. He keeps going down. I was up all night. I had to feed him carbs all night long. I got no sleep. This is my second night with no sleep. I don’t know what to do. I am really freaking out to be honest with you. I want to do a different thing. I don’t want him going so low. What should I do? I’m so worried. I don’t want to skip the shot either but what do you think I should do?
 
When did he last eat and what?
He only ha a few kibble an hour ago and I just gave him some now very very few would he eat because like I said he was eating last through the night because he went so low and was finding it hard to rise the numbers and I’m exhausted I mixed Farmina and yaz this morning but he didn’t eat much at all .
 
When did he last eat and what?
Would you be able to advise me on getting him to a place where he doesn’t drop so low I don’t think I can do it anymore. It’s way too hard on me and too hard on him. I find he acts much better when he’s higher in numbers.
 
He only ha a few kibble an hour ago and I just gave him some now very very few would he eat because like I said he was eating last through the night because he went so low and was finding it hard to rise the numbers and I’m exhausted I mixed Farmina and yaz this morning but he didn’t eat much at all .
HC kibble?
 
His poor ears I’m even finding it hard to get the blood out I feel so badly for poking him so much
 
Would you be able to advise me on getting him to a place where he doesn’t drop so low I don’t think I can do it anymore. It’s way too hard on me and too hard on him. I find he acts much better when he’s higher in numbers.
Let us figure out the shot for this morning first? :bighug:
 
Yes but mixed

mixed
I think you might be headed for another skip. His tests are carb influenced and he's dropping. I wouldn't advise shooting a dropping carb influenced preshot.

Don't feed him any more HC kibble for now. Let's get a test in another 30 mins?
 
I think you might be headed for another skip. His tests are carb influenced and he's dropping. I wouldn't advise shooting a dropping carb influenced preshot.

Don't feed him any more HC kibble for now. Let's get a test in another 30 mins?
Ok thanks will you be here ?
 
Sorry, Nancy, I had to step out on some urgent work. Sorry to leave you hanging.
Please do not shoot. He will recover and you can get some much needed sleep tonight.

Please take off the 911 tag now? Thanks!
 
One issue with delaying a shot is what it will do to your schedule. For most of us, a shot that could be 2 hours late makes a mess of our shot schedule. If numbers are too low for you to comfortably shoot, then skip the shot. Now here's the big "however...." Bailie has been diabetic for some time. Given that you're following TR, the prevailing wisdom is "shoot low to stay low." Many members who are experienced with managing their cat's diabetes will shoot any number that's over 50 providing the numbers are stable. It looks like you shot when Bailie's PMPS was 65 at the end of November and you saw a lovely flat, green cycle. If it were me, and I knew the high carb had worn off, I would have shot.
 
Sorry, Nancy, I had to step out on some urgent work. Sorry to leave you hanging.
Please do not shoot. He will recover and you can get some much needed sleep tonight.

Please take off the 911 tag now? Thanks!
It’s ok I didn’t shoot but I really need to do something different. I don’t want him going that low. It’s just too hard on me and him so I’m gonna have to do something else. Would you be able to suggest something else for me to do? So I don’t get those low low numbers
 
:bighug:I
One issue with delaying a shot is what it will do to your schedule. For most of us, a shot that could be 2 hours late makes a mess of our shot schedule. If numbers are too low for you to comfortably shoot, then skip the shot. Now here's the big "however...." Bailie has been diabetic for some time. Given that you're following TR, the prevailing wisdom is "shoot low to stay low." Many members who are experienced with managing their cat's diabetes will shoot any number that's over 50 providing the numbers are stable. It looks like you shot when Bailie's PMPS was 65 at the end of November and you saw a lovely flat, green cycle. If it were me, and I knew the high carb had worn off, I would have shot.
Yeah, I’m not too assertive. Sadly, I need the reassurance. I wish I wasn’t like that, but I am. And thank you so much for your input. I really appreciate it.
 
Hi Nancy, I’m so sorry about all the bouncing up and down. I’m sorry you are really exhausted. It can be a struggle.

I’m not an experienced member, but I have heard experienced folks mention that high numbers are not dangerous in the short term, like very low numbers would be. I had the same reaction when I saw Bell hit the 500s and was reassured that it was ok and not dangerous for her.

If you can, I’d use the high numbers as an opportunity to get some rest if that is possible.
 
:bighug:
Hi Nancy, I’m so sorry about all the bouncing up and down. I’m sorry you are really exhausted. It can be a struggle.

I’m not an experienced member, but I have heard experienced folks mention that high numbers are not dangerous in the short term, like very low numbers would be. I had the same reaction when I saw Bell hit the 500s and was reassured that it was ok and not dangerous for her.

If you can, I’d use the high numbers as an opportunity to get some rest if that is possible.
Thank you so so much I appreciate that so much .
 
Again, conventional wisdom.... Rather hours too high than a minute too low.

An observation from looking at Bailie's spreadsheet. She's a bouncer. And, when she gets tired of a dose, she really gets tired of a dose!

It may help to keep in mind that bouncing is a bit of a protective mechanism. It's a reaction to lower numbers and that reaction involves your cat dumping a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones into her system that cause the spike in numbers. The good news is that Bailie is clearing bounces fairly quickly. The high numbers aren't especially dangerous. If you look at the wide swings from a different perspective, think about what happens over the holiday season. People are indulging themselves on sweets and lots of carbs. If you were taking blood glucose readings of family and friends during this period, you would see those same swings due to cookies, cake and candy along with all of the carbs in a meal. If you took a day or two off of holiday indulgences, blood glucose would drop back to normal until you went to the next party.
 
On yesterday's post, I suggested one option was for you to take a 0.25 unit dose reduction holiday for a few cycles. Take the time to get more rest and recover. You need to be healthy to take care of Bailie. Then when you feel up to it, and presuming the reduction does not hold, you could increase back up again.

Since you skipped this morning, you can shoot earlier tonight if you wish, as it's been over 12 hours since the last shot.
 
Happy new year Nancya and Bailie :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I'm happy you got some good support here. Hope you're feeling a bit more relaxed now xx
 
Back
Top