1/1/2019 Tigger PMPS 169, +2 65, +2.5 51 . . . +5 108, +6 95!

Moms2Tigger&Blu

Member Since 2018
We gave him gravy on LC FF after the 65 and 30 min later he's still dropping. 51 just now @ +2.5, gave more gravy on FF as well as a little sugar. Can he have whip cream? It's his absolute all time favorite indulgence?
 
Take a deep breath, the sharp early drops are scary for sure, he's coming out of a bounce, that lower PMPS after pinks earlier was a good indication you'll be seeing some action. He's still safe, let's get a retest in 20minutes, okay? What carb gravy? Do you have some HC food on hand, possibly honey or Karo syrup? Let's see where you are in 20 minutes.
 
If he is low this early, I would bring out the big guns. Maybe a little honey or syrup/karo with that cream. Don’t overfill him though, this may be a long night. 51 is too low on the AT. He’s done with this dose.
 
+2.0 = 65 - gave 1 tbsp gravy on LCFF
+2.50= 51 - gave a treat of whip cream, but really 1/2 tsp liquid sugar and 2 tbsp gravy on LCFF
+2.75= 68 - gave nothing, he ate some more of his LCFF dinner
+3.0 = 77 - gave nothing yet
 
Last edited:
We let him have a finger of whip cream but also put 1/2 tsp simple sugar (liquid) in his gravy/food mixture. the gravy is from gravy lover chicken & beef grilled FF. I don't know if that is Med-high or high
 
Glad he’s com8ng up but pls stay vigilant as the HC will wear off fast.

Could you pls take the 911 down since all is ok? Thank you.
 
Glad he’s com8ng up but pls stay vigilant as the HC will wear off fast.

Could you pls take the 911 down since all is ok? Thank you.
how vigilant?
Also I have a question about feeding: do you always make sure your cat eats ALL of his dinner at shot time? Tigger is a grazer and if we had to do that we would have to start an hour earlier. right now he eats 1/2-3/4 of a can of FF at shot time. Then he usually wants more around +2 so (if I do a +2) I'll test and give him a little more. Then most nights another scoop around bedtime +5 or so. In total he'll eat about 1 1/2 cans each cycle. In the am I just give 1/2 can, make sure he eats it, shot, then I leave another whole can in his feeder. Is this ok?
 
+2.0 = 65 - gave 1 tbsp gravy on LCFF
+2.50= 51 - gave a treat of whip cream, but really 1/2 tsp liquid sugar and 2 tbsp gravy on LCFF
+2.75= 68 - gave nothing, he ate some more of his LCFF dinner
+3.0 = 77 - gave nothing
+3.5 = 86 - LCFF only
+4.0 = 92
 
Last edited:
how vigilant?
Also I have a question about feeding: do you always make sure your cat eats ALL of his dinner at shot time? Tigger is a grazer and if we had to do that we would have to start an hour earlier. right now he eats 1/2-3/4 of a can of FF at shot time. Then he usually wants more around +2 so (if I do a +2) I'll test and give him a little more. Then most nights another scoop around bedtime +5 or so. In total he'll eat about 1 1/2 cans each cycle. In the am I just give 1/2 can, make sure he eats it, shot, then I leave another whole can in his feeder. Is this ok?
You’ve been doing a good job of staying on top of it tonight. HC usually wears off in two hours so by +5, it should be out of his system.

Feeding: many feed minimeals so, no, he does not need to eat all of his food at shot time. You can let him graze. It’s actually better that way as it works with the insulin; as the insulin onsets and numbers drop, the carbs in the food can help flatten the numbers a bit. His feeding might need some tweaking where you might want to leave portions of food at different times in his feeder. That way as numbers come down, they don’t just drop fast and trigger another bounce (which is what it looks like is occasionally happening now). Spreading the meals out a bit helps those drops.

BTW, I don’t know if you saw my post but we do new SS tabs each calendar year. PM me if you need help with it.
 
You’ve been doing a good job of staying on top of it tonight. HC usually wears off in two hours so by +5, it should be out of his system.

Feeding: many feed minimeals so, no, he does not need to eat all of his food at shot time. You can let him graze. It’s actually better that way as it works with the insulin; as the insulin onsets and numbers drop, the carbs in the food can help flatten the numbers a bit. His feeding might need some tweaking where you might want to leave portions of food at different times in his feeder. That way as numbers come down, they don’t just drop fast and trigger another bounce (which is what it looks like is occasionally happening now). Spreading the meals out a bit helps those drops.

BTW, I don’t know if you saw my post but we do new SS tabs each calendar year. PM me if you need help with it.
Thanks, this is the lowest/scariest drop yet!
Tigger uses a sure flap microchip feeder as its the only way his brother won't eat all the food - there's no timing. But I've monitored how he eats most days and he usually eats nice small portions every couple hours or so with naps in between, sometimes longer, sometimes shorter. Nights when we are home are different. He is the craziest cuddle bug. He just wants to sit on laps - doesn't care whose, sometimes I have to remind him he has food!
Our 2019 tab is all set and I've been posting numbers in both for a week so I can see the whole trend. I will make 2019 the first tab though.
 
Thanks, this is the lowest/scariest drop yet!
Tigger uses a sure flap microchip feeder as its the only way his brother won't eat all the food - there's no timing. But I've monitored how he eats most days and he usually eats nice small portions every couple hours or so with naps in between, sometimes longer, sometimes shorter. Nights when we are home are different. He is the craziest cuddle bug. He just wants to sit on laps - doesn't care whose, sometimes I have to remind him he has food!
Our 2019 tab is all set and I've been posting numbers in both for a week so I can see the whole trend. I will make 2019 the first tab though.
How sweet that he cuddles!

Thank you on the SS :):bighug:
 
+2.0 = 65 - gave 1 tbsp gravy on LCFF
+2.50= 51 - gave a treat of whip cream, but really 1/2 tsp liquid sugar and 2 tbsp gravy on LCFF
+2.75= 68 - gave nothing, he ate some more of his LCFF dinner
+3.0 = 77 - gave nothing
+3.5 = 86 - LCFF only
+4.0 = 92 - LCFF only
+5.0 = 108
+6.0 = 95 - more gravy on LCFF (1 tsp)
+7.0 = 103 - more gravy on LCFF (1 tsp)
 
Last edited:
His last feeds included high carb gravy? But it had been 3.5 hours before that since he last got HC? HC can take a couple hours to wear off. Just want to make sure you had non carb influenced numbers. You probably didn’t need that last bit of gravy.
 
I wasn't sure, but as it's after 2 am here I was hoping to get SOME sleep . . . the last two servings were more like a tsp not tbsp (on some LC FF)
I can set alarms but what if I sleep thru it?! - I was hoping the extra gravy would keep him safe

he btw has noticed almost nothing going on, sleeping, grooming and snuggling up with brother all the while we wait and worry :rolleyes:
 
I think you are fine to sleep. You did get a couple rising tests after the earlier carbs wore off.
 
I think you are fine to sleep. You did get a couple rising tests after the earlier carbs wore off.
I know there is a margin of error but that re-dip to 95 freaked me. He's such a bouncy kitty I was expecting to be in the 200's by now! Insulin should be wearing off/he'll probably bounce, but what if he stays like right around 100? Half a dose tomorrow am? I'm thinking 200+ a full dose (but 1 unit) . . . what about under that?
 
The question is whether you can monitor tomorrow. You might want to get a +11 and post for advice. Experienced SLGS folks shoot if over 90, if they have the data to do so and can monitor. You have shot as low as 120 before.
 
i can monitor all day if necessary. i'd rather keep the ball rolling so to speak as we've never gotten higher than 1.5 units and here we are back down to 1 unit for the 5th? time? at this point remission is a distant dream - id just love regulation. ok so 150 and above I will def shoot 1 unit. under that we'll see. at this point i might as well stay up and get a +8. thanks for all your help!!!
 
Back
Top