@Juliet asked in another condo about how to be aggressive when using SLGS vs TR.
To be honest, I'm not entirely sure. I'm tagging @Jill & Alex (GA) since she's the most experienced person when it comes to SLGS. (I'm not sure how much she's around but she is likely to respond when she gets the tag.)
I think the hard part is your schedule. If you can't be comfortable shooting and leaving the house -- and Silver won't reliably eat if you're not home or another cat will raid Silver's bowl -- then I would likely be apprehensive, too. I would stick to SLGS as closely as you can and raise the dose preferably on a Friday evening (or even Friday AM if it takes Silver a cycle or so to respond to an increase) so you can maximize getting tests in over a weekend and have a sense of what's happening. I would do everything humanly possible to not skip a shot or reduce the dose if you're home to monitor. Those are my first thoughts.
Jill already previously responded. That I can't increase if I don't know what his nadir is - whichever method I am following. Unfortunately the schedule can't be changed, neither can my ability to leave food out. I have looked at all the options and it is NOT possible for me to do that. Silver never has a problem eating - and if I were to leave food out for him to graze on if he were to drop low - he would eat it all within a few mins of me putting it down, no matter how much I left out.
However, given that my schedule cannot be changed (and surely we have others on the board that have jobs - I just happen to have a 2 hr commute to mine) how do I do the best for Silver? Leave him permanently in high numbers is not the answer so I must be a little aggressive to get him down. He is very rarely in any other colour but pink, red or yellow. Everyone says - oh but look - he was was at 7 six days ago and 9 two days after that - but I can't hold to what he was several days ago but where he is NOW surely. I have been testing a lot the past few days over the holidays catching nadir on many occasions and I often test in the evenings. No sign of any green low nadir at all.
As I said in yesterday's condo - yes I am following SLGS but as many people have said, it is to be adapted to individual cat. I followed it rigidly in the beginning - skipping shot and giving a reduced dose - following EXACTLY what SLGS said to do - and was promptly told I had messed up the depot because I did that and that I was supposed to have tailored SLGS. So everyone seems to tell me something different. I prefer hard and fast rules on what to do - hence me following the SLGS but obviously I am not supposed to do that. \
So, as far as I see it - what I had planned to do is:
1) not shoot a green AMPS and if its a low blue - I will be reducing the shot. I will not take risks no matter what the protocols say. I am the one holding the syringe and do not want a dead cat when I get home from work.
2) if I see a low blue PMPS or a green PMPS then I am okay with shooting if I am home to test several times that evening.
3) i will be doing weekly curves as much as is possible - I do have a life and am not home EVERY Saturday. I will then follow SLGS as to when to increase/decrease dose based on that particular day's nadir. I have no choice in that as I can only do a curve once a week.
4) as for increasing the dose just now - it depends on what he shows me today as I am home and testing. I have not seen a blue in several days so if his nadir is above 150 today in either cycle, then I will increase to 2.25.
If anyone thinks any of the above is completely off then let me know but I need to have some solid guidelines moving forward as I am getting so many mixed messages and cannot cope much more. Makes me want to log off for few days but I know I can't do this on my own either. I just wish we were all on the same page when it came to advice giving.