1/1/17: Cliff notes, PMPS=486

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiCo

Active Member
amps=576 (to be expected, since non-shootable BG #s last night)
Fed, but appetite poor. Will get appy stim in 2hrs (schedule a bit off since no shot last night)
4.25units

Positive thoughts for All!
 
Happy New Year Michele! Hope Cliffs appy picks up and he sees some pretty blues and high greens:cat:
 
amps=576 (to be expected, since non-shootable BG #s last night)
Fed, but appetite poor. Will get appy stim in 2hrs (schedule a bit off since no shot last night)
4.25units

Positive thoughts for All!
Teasel is in the high AMPS with Cliff this AM. I dropped his dose a bit. Cliff will probably feel better once his BG is down more.
 
Teasel is in the high AMPS with Cliff this AM. I dropped his dose a bit. Cliff will probably feel better once his BG is down more.
Your new SS is so pretty!

Why did you drop his dose though? (still a newbie, just trying to understand. :)
 
Michele - Cliff is bouncing from the green -
I hope his appetite picks up - I am frequently in the position you are with Murphy not eating - he's been better lately so I'm hoping the same for Cliff and soon!
 
Hey Michele! Yeah that number isn't unexpected. Here's hoping today he comes down nicely and eats well!

Happy New Year!
 
Your new SS is so pretty!

Why did you drop his dose though? (still a newbie, just trying to understand. :)
I dropped his dose because his PMPS last night was 95 and I don't know how low he was before that. The lows can cause them to tap into the liver reserves, leaving them less protected in the event of another drop in BG which his 3 u dose of yesterday AM could have caused. If that had happened the lack of reserves can result in a very low number. I guess about how much to drop the dose based on past data - I don't want to go too low and lose momentum but also don't want to give too much and down he goes again. It's quite a tightrope with an unpredictable cat like Teasel. :confused:
 
Michele - Cliff is bouncing from the green -
I hope his appetite picks up - I am frequently in the position you are with Murphy not eating - he's been better lately so I'm hoping the same for Cliff and soon!
Thanks! I know other cats can be picky too. It's so frustrating to feel like there's not much you can do, other than to keep offering food. (And anti-naseau and appy stimulants:)
 
I dropped his dose because his PMPS last night was 95 and I don't know how low he was before that. The lows can cause them to tap into the liver reserves, leaving them less protected in the event of another drop in BG which his 3 u dose of yesterday AM could have caused. If that had happened the lack of reserves can result in a very low number. I guess about how much to drop the dose based on past data - I don't want to go too low and lose momentum but also don't want to give too much and down he goes again. It's quite a tightrope with an unpredictable cat like Teasel. :confused:
Thanks for the detailed explanation-that makes sense. I stuck with the same dose as yesterday, so we will see how Cliff does. I probably should've gone down to 4units, and that's what I discussed with Dave last night, but I think the high amps # this morning, combined with my own fatigue caused me to forget and pull the 4.25.
 
Thanks for the detailed explanation-that makes sense. I stuck with the same dose as yesterday, so we will see how Cliff does. I probably should've gone down to 4units, and that's what I discussed with Dave last night, but I think the high amps # this morning, combined with my own fatigue caused me to forget and pull the 4.25.
Your data today will add to your reference log. That's how we get to know what to do in tight situations - and ECID!
 
Consistently high today. Feeling frustrated. Not sure how to approach pm dose. Just trying to get food & meds in him, to get appy up, but would love to see something inbetween blacks today and greens of yesterday. Sorry.

Overall, he seems sleepy but alert/responsive when he's awake. Will try to get urine ketone test at next pee. Forgot this am.
 
Consistently high today. Feeling frustrated. Not sure how to approach pm dose. Just trying to get food & meds in him, to get appy up, but would love to see something inbetween blacks today and greens of yesterday. Sorry.

Overall, he seems sleepy but alert/responsive when he's awake. Will try to get urine ketone test at next pee. Forgot this am.
Disheartening but a bounce is to be expected after those greens. He'll come back.
 
+11=486
Thinking of starting pm feed and shoot now. It takes longer to feed, will probably end up shooting in 1/2 HR for 30 min early.
Also, thinking of sticking with 4.25 another cycle.

Edit to say: this is what we did
Fed-ate better, ok. Friskies seafood pate. Ate abt 2/3 of plate (which was 1/4 5oz can)
Gave 4.25 units at +11.5

Let's hope for a good night! More foods and #s in blues?
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top