1/09Chaos +12.75 135, PMPS 185 +1 230. +2 181 question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Chaos

Member Since 2010
Chaos looks to be having a good day. His AMPS was much lower than his PMPS on 1/08 just as expected, due to his no longer having access to dry food. I am just getting a feel for interpreting his numbers so I guess I'm looking for some reassurance that 52 is ok for mid-cycle.

He is already expecting to be fed a little something after each test, which tells me he is willing to make a deal- lol! He was very agreeable about his +4 today so I believe we are making progress and testing will be routine to him soon. It's only day three of home testing- IMHO this is going exceptionally well. I am a bit worried about his ears. There are red spots where it looks like he bled under the skin, so I'm trying to avoid re-poking those areas. Does it just look awful because he's white and I can see every little thing?
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +4 52

if it was binks, i'd be feeding medium carb since it's early in the cycle yet...but please put the word "question" in your subject line so more experienced folks can help out...
you really don't want them going below 50...
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +4 52

I'd also be retesting 15 minutes or so after the 52...
or now, if it's been longer...

good job on the subject line...
you're good at this!

and this will bump your post...
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +4 52

actually...sorry...if you go back to your first post of the day edit it, and put question in the subject line...it will catch eyes...
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, queston

Hi Violet - I agree. I'd feed Chaos some higher carb food, just a small amount - it won't take much, like a teaspoon or two, and the retest in 15-20 minutes. You really don't want him going much lower. You would then repeat this process until Chaos has a couple of rising numbers. please post your tests. You're doing great!
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, queston

Good job at fixing your subject line. On his ears...you are moving the area where you poke and switching ears, right? Do you hold compression on the spot after you
poke it? That should help prevent any bruising. I'm not sure about the red spots. At the end of each cycle, we always put neosporin on Gracie's ears but you have to be sure and clean it off before you start testing again or it will gum up the blood. Good luck!!
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, queston

hi there

from what I can see on SS, 52 is at +6 yes? I think that is correct...I see now, it is correct...
you've been getting good feedback on the retest, post when u can your latest update.
not too much food, a little at a time to avoid scarf and barf....bathing himself and acting normal is purrfectly fine.

we do polysporin here (same as neo) for the ears,,,ears do heal, but do get a little bumpy along the way, he will get use to it, and get over it, lol.
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, queston

Any update? When you update, please edit your initial post with the updated number. Easier than scrolling through all the posts. Thanks.
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, queston

While I know Chaos isn't new to Lantus, he's new to us. It doesn't sound like you've been home testing up to now. If it's not very clear, we're rather data driven here. A 52 is a great number. It's in a range where it will promote Chaos' pancreas to heal. However, you don't have much wiggle room for numbers to drop into less than desirable levels. As a result, people are encouraging you to get a test in 15 - 30 min. so you have a feel for how Chaos' numbers are going. We also get a bit pesty about follow up. People want to make sure Chaos is safe and you're not panicking with low numbers because if you are, we'll help.

Generally, with a lower at +6, I might try feeding a teaspoon of low carb food and see if that bumps numbers up since ostensibly, you're past nadir. I'd want to re-test in no more than 30 min. and if the LC isn't bring numbers up, then feed a little bit of either MC or HC food.

I would strongly recommend that you test at least every 3 hours (every 2 hours would be better) so you can get a curve. You need to know when Lantus onset, and nadir are and how long its duration is. The only way to get that information is with a curve.

You might want to print this note out. It's helpful if Chaos' numbers are running low and there's no one on the Board to lend a hand. It's instructions on how to handle low numbers.
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, +8 97 queston

Unfortunately I had to leave the house and Chaos in the care of DH for little while, it was unavoidable. I did feed Chaos after the 52 reading at +6, and it has gone up to 97 at +8. :mrgreen: Sienne, you are correct, I am new to home testing. I plan on doing a full curve on him in a few days, once he's used to getting pricked. If there's one good thing about him developing FD, it's that he is much more cooperative regarding being handled and poked at.
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, +8 97 queston

SWEET!!! nice job on handling his numbers!!

i found FD brought binks and i much closer...and, now...test time is his 2nd favorite time...next to feeding time, of course!

he willingly heads for the test rug...and we've got it down to a snuggly, cuddly routine.
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, +8 97 queston

Not a problem Violet. We get very protective of our LL kitties especially when someone is new. Sorry if it felt intrusive. Do let us know how we can be of help.
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, +8 97 queston

I can't advise on the numbers but we gave Maverick a treat after every test and it helps. Get some Purebites Chicken in the dog section of Petsmart. I think Walmart sells something similar. The dog section though you can get bigger packages and they are cheaper. Its pure freeze dried chicken. It seems to be Kitty Crack on FDMB. Everybody's cats seem to love it. Maverick purrs through his tests now and shots cause he knows he's going to get some. Who would have thought! This stuff is so awesome. And when he doesn't eat well I have some of it that I've made into a dust (called chicken dust on here) and sprinkle it on his food to tempt him to eat when I need him to. It won't spike BG and is low in calories.
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, +8 97 queston

Muffin never got "treats" per say, because she's too picky of an eater and didn't like anything that was FD friendly, but still came willingly for every test. It was just our special time together, and that was enough for her. It sounds like you're doing a great job with Chaos, and I love the name!
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, +8 97, PMPS 115! queston

I think everything's OK, but with him only at 115 for his PMPS, it's not safe to shoot, is it? I plan on feeding him and testing in 30-45 (whenever he's done grazing) and see what I've got.
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, +8 97, PMPS 115! queston

well ideally you want to hold the food until you get a retest...can u do the retest first or is it too late?
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, +8 97, PMPS 115! queston

He's licked "the dregs" out of his housemate's bowl- low carb wet food, and just a nibble. I'll re-test in 30 and post an update. Thank you so much, everyone. I am overwhelmed and a bit teary-eyed over the advice and support from total strangers. This is the most welcoming forum I've ever seen, and certainly the most passionate. I don't mind if folks are pesty about updates, it shows you care! :smile:
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, +8 97, PMPS 115! queston

nice. :smile:

Today was Chaos' first day with only low carb wet food, correct? It looks like the food is really making a difference already. It looks like he might need a new dose to go along with his new diet!
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, +8 97, PMPS 115! queston

ok, to get a couple of questions out of the way, are you able to monitor tonight? at least a couple of checks?
have supplies and foods? (Low carb, medium carb and high carbs)

u definitely don't have the data yet to shoot low, so stalling is good here til you see a rising number, the food he had make contribute to that, but it is best to with-hold food until you see the rising number in your re-test...keep in mind, you will have to adjust your AMPS time in the morning, can u afford to do that with your schedule?
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, +8 97, PMPS 115! queston

Yes, I can indeed afford to move things my schedule. I lost my job recently, which is one of the reasons it's possible for me to monitor him and make the diet change now. I will be able to do some checks tonight, but have a hard time staying up past midnight or one, since I'm used to getting up for his breffist and shot at 7:30.

I have LC wet food and HC dry food on hand (I could NOT believe the carb values on royal canin diabetic, which is what his vet prescribed for him at dx!). If I see rising numbers that go over 200, do I shoot tonight and then adjust his AMPS to 12 hours later rather than the usual time? No more food for him until I get numbers that are going up.

I did lower the dose when I switched to all wet LC food. Looks like it may need to come down further in the near future.

I have freeze dried chicken treats on the way, here's hoping Chaos gets into the kitty crack too!
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, +8 97, PMPS 115! queston

One other option, depending on where Chaos' numbers are, is to shoot a reduced dose. In fact, I think it may be wise to reduce Chaos dose a bit further anyway given the diet change.

What would you think about reducing his dose to 1.0u? I think he needs to be higher than when you testing at his usual PMPS time, though. Where are his numbers now and how many hours has it been since your shot this morning. (We don't consider the 115 your PMPS since you didn't shoot.)
 
Re: 1/09 Chaos AMPS 212, +6 52, +8 97, PMPS 115, +.5 135 que

ok, now, half an hour since the 115 reading, I have 135. This is +12.75 hours ,then, since it's not considered PMPS if I don't shoot. Going up, but not real fast. I think reducing his dose to 1 u is wise since the new diet has made such a change. What now? Do I feed him?
 
Re: 1/09Chaos AMPS212, +6 52, +8 97, +12 115, +12.75 135 que

When stalling, you don't feed (no matter how pathetic Chaos looks or how guilty you feel!). You don't want the BG values to be inflated by food otherwise, you won't really know how much he's rising. Generally, we advise new members to not shoot below 150. Would you be comfortable with that?
 
Re: 1/09Chaos AMPS212, +6 52, +8 97, +12 115, +12.75 135 que

Absolutely, Sienne- I have no problem with not shooting below 150. He does look pathetic especially since I fed our civie, who is old, underweight, and no reason to withhold food. Had to "herd" Chaos like a border collie, but he got nothing. Will re-test in 5 mins and see what's up.
 
Re: 1/09Chaos AMPS212, +6 52, +8 97, +12 115, +12.75 135 que

:-D told you these guys were good! and we're only strangers physically...on the forum, we're a family! welcome to what is a rarity these days...a functional family!
 
Re: 1/09Chaos AMPS212, +6 52, +8 97, +12 115, +12.75 135 que

Allllright! I got a 185 this time. I am feeling encouraged by this. Does a 185 warrant a token dose of maybe 0.5u and a meal, or just a meal?
 
Re: 1/09Chaos +6 52, +8 97, +12 115, +12.75 135, +12.85 ques

I think a 185 warrants 1.0u and dinner!

If you're more comfortable with the 0.5u, that's fine.
 
Re: 1/09Chaos +6 52, +8 97, +12 115, +12.75 135, +12.85 ques

Beautiful!! Kitty will be pleased to hear this! dancing_cat I will spot check him a couple more times before I sleep tonight to make sure things are ok. If he seems fine, I will sleep well tonight!
 
Re: 1/09Chaos +6 52, +8 97, +12 115, +12.75 135, +12.85 ques

nice shooting! Good luck with the new dose. It may or may not be enough, but most of us find it easier to start on a little lower dose and ease our way into the low numbers. I know you're not a newbie, but with the new diet it's a lot like starting over.

Don't forget that tomorrow morning's shot will be due 12 hours after this one.
 
Re: 1/09Chaos +6 52, +8 97, +12 115, +12.75 135, +12.85 ques

He's got 1.0u and a nice dinner in front of him, and he's a happy camper. Thanks, Libby, for the reminder that I can sleep in until 9:30 if I want! :mrgreen: With the exception of hospital stays, I have been up by 7:30 at the latest every day since last Feb. It used to have to be that way because of work. I'll probably go on auto-pilot and get up early anyhow; if so, I will take advantage of the rare chance to get a +10 or +11 on the nighttime cycle.
 
Re: 1/09Chaos +6 52, +8 97, +12 115, +12.75 135, +12.85 ques

What we suggest is that if you are shooting lower than you've previously shot, you want to get a +1 and a +2.

The 185 becomes your PMPS. Your AM shot should be 12 hours from when you shoot. If you need to migrate your time back, you have 2 options. You can move shot time 15 min. earlier each cycle (there's an AM and PM cycle) or 30 min. earlier once each day.

For future reference, if you are stalling or otherwise wanting a hand, it helps if you can keep updating your subject line. You may need to delete info from earlier in the day -- that's fine. When those of us who monitor the board are trying to see who needs help, it's easiest if we can glance at subject lines rather than have to open every condo.

There are two notes I'd suggest you print out or bookmark:
Dealing with Low Pre-Shots
How to Handle Low Numbers
 
Re: 1/09Chaos +6 52, +8 97, +12 115, +12.75 135, +12.85 ques

Hi Chaos this is my first visit to your condo :mrgreen: you are sure looking great tonight :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/09Chaos +12.75 135, PMPS 185 question

Hi Lisa & Do Lou! Love the name- I have a civie called Lu. Chaos is having a pretty good night for a sugarcat on his first day of all wet LC foods!

Sienne, I will get the +1 and the +2, definitely. Do I move the numbers around on my ss and put the 185 in the PMPS box? I make explicit notes but if there's a better way to make it easier for everyone here to understand, I'd love to know. Subject line = fixed once again... I'll get the hang of it soon, practice makes perfect. If I need to move his shots, those are great common-sense guidelines. Until Chaos is regulated on his new diet, I plan on keeping to the house as much as I can to make it the safest possible experience for my furbaby.
 
Re: 1/09Chaos +12.75 135, PMPS 185 question

hey, just checking in before bedtime here, you did good Violet.
And Chaos looks so nice in blue, nice work.
 
Re: 1/09Chaos +12.75 135, PMPS 185 question

Yes -- you move the 185 in your PMPS box. The other numbers go into either the +11 or the comments section. Take a look at Gabby's SS to see how I list the numbers when I have multiple tests during an hour. That's one example. You'll need to manually adjust the color coding, though.

You're doing great! Managing the numbers is the hard work. The rest is housekeeping.
 
Re: 1/09Chaos +12.75 135, PMPS 185 question

Thank you! I re-arranged my ss but the +11 box with my two readings in it looks wonky, not like Gabby... I suspect I have some things to learn about spreadsheets. We have a 230 now at +1, we'll see what we get at +2.
 
Re: 1/09Chaos +12.75 135, PMPS 185 question

Not sure how it works on a PC (I'm on a Mac)...
but if you press ctrl and enter together after typing one number it starts a new line.

So for my spreadsheet (our +2.6 reading today), I entered 95 ctrl+enter and +2.6 and it shows them on different lines. Just a little tip if it comes in handy great if not no worries lol.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top