1/02 Socks AMPS 102

Sock's mom

Member
How do you judge whether to give a partial dose on low AMPS numbers? Also, do you leave soft food out during the evening for cats that like to graze? And lastly, does anyone have tips on changing its from dry food to wet? Our 2 other cats are still eating dry food and I caught our diabetic cat eating it after she climbed to baby gate blocking it from her. She's still has runny poop several times a day from the swap, even with probiotics and pumpkin being given so im worried about switching the others now. I did her swap over a few weeks before fully cutting the dry out but it must have been too fast still.
 
HI Kelsey, did you shoot or are you stalling the shot? If you shoot, can you monitor the cycle? Do you have high carb food and testing supplies if needed?
 
I did not shoot yet. I am very nervous to shoot when it is close to 100 since I'm new to this. I can monitor her and check BG if I do shoot, it just scares me to not ask bc I'm very unsure of my choices in this diabetic stuff. I just took her BG again but haven't been able to get to the computer to chart it. It was 126@+1.75. If i do give insulin do I give her regular dose of .75u?
 
I did not shoot yet. I am very nervous to shoot when it is close to 100 since I'm new to this. I can monitor her and check BG if I do shoot, it just scares me to not ask bc I'm very unsure of my choices in this diabetic stuff. I just took her BG again but haven't been able to get to the computer to chart it. It was 126@+1.75. If i do give insulin do I give her regular dose of .75u?

Since you are following SLGS method, yesterdays 64 technically earned a reduction to 0.50 units. That would be your new dose going forward.

You are so new to this and all that fear and anxiety is understandable. We're here to help :bighug:.
B/c Socks is newly diabetic, there really isn't much data on how he would do today. Did you feed after the AMPS test? Did you feed at all yet?

Any history of DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis) or ketones at diagnosis?

You hold the syringe and the choice is yours. You can continue to stall without feeding until he is at a number you're comfortable shooting. Although, the numbers may decrease without food making the decision to shoot even harder.
You can give a reduced dose. Keep in mind that the depot from the previous shot will affect the first half of this cycle.
You can also skip! You have done this before and as you can see, he zoomed up by the time for the next shot.

I can be here should you decide to shoot (working from home today ;))
 
No ketones and I did a urine ketone strip last night and still negative. I did feed her this morning in hopes her number would rise a little so if feel safe to shoot, so I will check her again now and will give a .5u dose of it seems to be up more and if she will eat a little more first. The injection requires food, right? I posted on 12/31 and kind of got mixed reviews on lowering her dose from .75u to .5u, which is my fault im sure because he numbers have fluctuated so high to so low since I started this a week ago so I am confusing everyone with my lack of knowledge on what is going on lol normally if her number is low in the amps time do you recommend not feeding her and waiting an hour to see if it rises by itself? I guess I thought she needed the food for it to rise?
 
No ketones and I did a urine ketone strip last night and still negative
Great!!
The injection requires food, right?
Yes and No - Lantus onsets (starts working) around the +2 hours after the injection so you have time to get her to eat from the shot to when she onsets.
numbers have fluctuated so high to so low since I started this a week ago
You only started a week ago and have already seen greens - that's FANTASTIC.
normally if her number is low in the amps time do you recommend not feeding her and waiting an hour to see if it rises by itself?
In the beginning and while you gather more data, YES. We generally recommending to beginners to stall without feeding and test again in 30 minutes to see if the number is rising. The down side to that is that the BG may go down without food making the decision to shoot even harder. You can try getting a +10 or +11 so that when you test at AMPS you'll know if the bg is rising on its own.
We typically suggest that a No Shot number for new caregivers is 150. You will lower the NO Shot preshot number with time, data and experience. Eventually you'll be able to shoot any number over 90 when following SLGS. More about that HERE. You have already experienced what happens to Sock when she gets no insulin.
 
Great!!

Yes and No - Lantus onsets (starts working) around the +2 hours after the injection so you have time to get her to eat from the shot to when she onsets.

You only started a week ago and have already seen greens - that's FANTASTIC.

In the beginning and while you gather more data, YES. We generally recommending to beginners to stall without feeding and test again in 30 minutes to see if the number is rising. The down side to that is that the BG may go down without food making the decision to shoot even harder. You can try getting a +10 or +11 so that when you test at AMPS you'll know if the bg is rising on its own.
We typically suggest that a No Shot number for new caregivers is 150. You will lower the NO Shot preshot number with time, data and experience. Eventually you'll be able to shoot any number over 90 when following SLGS. More about that HERE. You have already experienced what happens to Sock when she gets no insulin.
Thank you so much for this information! I debated on which method to do because I really think her diabetes was caught early so the TR method might give her quicker remission but I am honestly so confused about it when I read through how to do it. Does anyone have tips or suggestions on how to know which method is the better option for your kitty?
 
Finishing up on a conference call and will answer this in a bit. Did you get another test? Did you decide to shoot?
 
Yes her BG was 128 so I gave .5u 2 hours later than what I normally would. I just updated her SS so hopefully I charted correctly
Can you put the information in the 2025 tab of the SS please? In the AMPS column "102, 128 @+14". Can you get a +1, ie one hour after giving the insulin dose?
 
Oh sorry I thought I did but the sheet 1 pops up when I log in and I didn't realize I added it there. I'll fix it and yes I will check it in 15 min to get the +1 read
 
Very nice :cool:. Did you give her maybe a tsp of two of her regular LC food? Can you try to test her again at maybe the +3ish mark?
 
Very nice :cool:. Did you give her maybe a tsp of two of her regular LC food? Can you try to test her again at maybe the +3ish mark?
I did give her food, probably more like 2 Tbsp. Is that too much? She really doesn't sit and eat big meals, she just eats a little bit from her soft food can over a few hours until it's gone. I tested again and she's 120@+2.25. I'll test again at+3 thank you again for the help and guidance today
 
Thank you! I don't even know what to look for on the SS. So I want to stay in the blue most of the time?
That depends on which dosing method you eventually decide on. When following SLGS, you're looking for nadirs (the lowest point in the cycle) to be between 90-149. Sock's aced it today!

In the beginning, a lot more testing is requested. Reason being that we are trying to get a sense of (from Sticky- The Basics: New to the Group):

"Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:​
      • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
      • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
      • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose"
I debated on which method to do because I really think her diabetes was caught early so the TR method might give her quicker remission but I am honestly so confused about it when I read through how to do it.
The Stickies at the top of this forum page explain the differences between the two approaches towards regulation. TR is a more aggressive approach in that the desired nadirs are 50-80. That can be a bit scary at first especially when you're trying to learn the lingo here, testing, food, onset, nadir, duration, etc, etc, etc. It is also a published protocol. The links can be found in the Sticky- Dosing Methods.
TR also requires at least one test each cycle in addition to the AMPS and PMPS.
The reduction point when following TR is once under 50 for a newly diagnosed diabetic cat (less than one year) (can be very scary at times) or one week in greens.
Doses are held for 3days (6cycles)- 5 days (10cycles) before evaluating nadirs to determine an increase.

Those are just some of the major points off the top of my head and I know that there are more. ASK ANY AND EVERY question that comes to mind!! Even if you think you know the answer, ask anyway ;). There are many members here to lend their support.

The most recent convert from SLGS to TR that comes to mind and also a very newly dx kitty is @Tim & Pookey

In any event, I think you should hold this 0.5 unit dose unless the numbers start trending otherwise. I'm hoping it will be a dose that you can shoot twice a day. There's no rush in making a method decision just yet :)
 
That depends on which dosing method you eventually decide on. When following SLGS, you're looking for nadirs (the lowest point in the cycle) to be between 90-149. Sock's aced it today!

In the beginning, a lot more testing is requested. Reason being that we are trying to get a sense of (from Sticky- The Basics: New to the Group):

"Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:​
      • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
      • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
      • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose"
The Stickies at the top of this forum page explain the differences between the two approaches towards regulation. TR is a more aggressive approach in that the desired nadirs are 50-80. That can be a bit scary at first especially when you're trying to learn the lingo here, testing, food, onset, nadir, duration, etc, etc, etc. It is also a published protocol. The links can be found in the Sticky- Dosing Methods.
TR also requires at least one test each cycle in addition to the AMPS and PMPS.
The reduction point when following TR is once under 50 for a newly diagnosed diabetic cat (less than one year) (can be very scary at times) or one week in greens.
Doses are held for 3days (6cycles)- 5 days (10cycles) before evaluating nadirs to determine an increase.

Those are just some of the major points off the top of my head and I know that there are more. ASK ANY AND EVERY question that comes to mind!! Even if you think you know the answer, ask anyway ;). There are many members here to lend their support.

The most recent convert from SLGS to TR that comes to mind and also a very newly dx kitty is @Tim & Pookey

In any event, I think you should hold this 0.5 unit dose unless the numbers start trending otherwise. I'm hoping it will be a dose that you can shoot twice a day. There's no rush in making a method decision just yet :)

You've been so helpful today. Thank you so much! I really do appreciate it so much. I feel bad testing so often but I know it isn't forever and today was probably her most even numbers I've taken so far so maybe I'm going in the right direction with her insulin finally
 
Thank you! I just tested her again before her shot, fed her and left her remaining food out that she didn't finish so she can eat it in the night, and took another BG at +1.75 and it had increased some frommher pmps number but still is not super high. So tomorrow I'll give her another .5u unless her number is super low and I'll wait and test again. Does that all sound correct? Sorry im just not very confident in this so i dont want to do it wrong. Thank you for the help today. I really really appreciate it!
 
Back
Top