1/02/13 Xuxu AMPS 748

Status
Not open for further replies.

DebH

Member Since 2012
Attached is the curve I did yesterday for Xuxu. I bumped his Lantus up to 2.25, but his BG didn't get below 400. This is on my dilution protocol of injecting sodium chloride in the same spot after injecting the Lantus. he is still going in the 700's, but at least isn't staying there for hours on end. Symptom wise, he seems to be pretty happy. I'll stay at this level until the end of the week, then may bump it up to 2.5. But you can see earlier in the chart that 2.5 seemed too high.

Deb and Xuxu.
 

Attachments

keep getting as many spot checks in as many cycles as you can before increasing. I still think there's a chance you are missing some lower numbers - see the 165 on 12/30, where he bounced quickly to 500?

And not to beat a dead horse (sorry for the expression), but what would it take to convince you to try giving the Lantus without diluting? It doesn't seem to be working...
 
OOps, yes, I posted to tight regulation instead of relaxed. I'll get it fixed tomorrow
 
if you look from 11/30 to 12/27, that period was done with just regular Lantus injection, and even the whole month of Nov not on this chart. It really wasn't working that way either. At least since I've been "diluting" it, he hasn't had a prolonged 750 and then a crash. Plus, he was still loosing weight during that time, and since the 27th, he's gained half a pound, and he seems a much happier cat. I'm not saying that diluting it is a final answer, but it sure beats the situation he was in before. I'm thinking that once I've got a dose set that will keep him in a normal range, then we can do some comparison curves and see just what is the effect of diluting the Lantus.
 
Hello and welcome to the tight protocol forum.

I would like to know too why you are diluting the insulin (does that even work?), why not just reduce the dose? How long have you been doing that?

When I first got my bailey he was bouncing high low like xuxu, there were a number of factors we think causing this.. First he had a bad teeth infection, second he was untreated diabetic for many months and took him a while to get settled, and the biggest thing was he was getting too much insulin. He would drop low at night and then bounce high for a few days.
 
Hi Wendy,
If you go the link in my signature for the original discussion of Xuxu's case on the Health Board, I explain the origin of the decision to dilute the Lantus. I didn't do it on my own, it was on the recommendation of a very experienced vet/radiologist who was a diabetic on Lantus himself. It does appear to be working for Xuxu.
DebH
 
Hi Deb, welcome to LantusLand! Wow, what a story with Xuxu. You have done an amazing job in incredibly difficult circumstances. I would encourage everyone to read the background on Xuxu before questioning what Deb is doing. As we all know, ECID! (Every Cat Is Different) and Xuxu just may be the king of that contest. :roll: :lol: Please let us know how we can help.
Liz, Zener's other mom, I sign my posts, Anne doesn't
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top