RD & Sissy
Member Since 2023
Hi All. Joined yesterday while researching some questions, after always finding my way to this forum’s threads over the past year of Sissy’s journey with FD. I messed up my account when setting it up - Sissy is 9 yrs old and will be 10 in August. She was diagnosed with FD 10Jun2022. It has been quite the journey so far with trying to get her regulated on ProZinc. She started with a BG of 500 and 1000 in her urine. Through multiple curves and dose changes, she is currently on 4.5 units of ProZinc 2x/day. She was still running in a curve range of around 320 to 173 at the 4.0 units with a curve done 31Mar, so we increased to 4.5 and I did a curve yesterday. (Although her first home curve on 07Oct2022 was in a range of 311 to 138 at just 3.0 units in the first 12 hours but she spiked to 400 prior to that evening dose, so we increased to 3.5 afterward and so on with each subsequent curve being just slightly off from optimal ever since.)
All I can say is that I’m baffled. Yesterday’s curve started at 328 pre-dose (just slightly higher than the 4.0 unit curve start) and never dropped below 239. Also, her nadir has always been around 5 hours but yesterday it occurred at 3 hours post dose for both the AM and PM halves of the curve. By the time she reached 5 hours post dose in the evening, she was back up to 303 and she was 388 this morning pre-dose. When checked at 5 hours post dose this afternoon, she had only dropped to 333. She used to routinely drop around 45-50 per unit dosed, but I’ve noticed with each curve that the amount of drop per unit has decreased from around 45-50 to around 18-20 since Oct 2022 to yesterday, even as her dose has increased a half unit every few months. I’m at a loss as to what is happening. Took her in for blood work and urinalysis today, and will take her back Thursday for a vet exam and a review of lab results if they have them in by then.
Sissy had an ultrasound and blood work last August where they confirmed chronic pancreatitis (although she never has visible symptoms), bilateral historic kidney damage, and bilateral slightly enlarged adrenal glands. No idea where the historic stuff started because she was a stray brought in with her litter mate back in 2013.
To the naked eye, she looks and acts like a normal cat, except for some increased drinking the last few days. Ever since her initial diagnosis, she always seems to drink more in the morning after her dose than in the afternoon/evenings. She eats well (is on Rx dry food (Purina OM) free-feed because I can’t break her of it and I have 3 other cats, and she gets Fancy Feast salmon pate half can 2x/day prior to dosing. Her weight has remained steady at 11.2 lbs for the last 4 months and including yesterday’s curve. She has never been an overweight cat even before her FD diagnosis.
There are so many variables that I’m making myself sick with worry: insulin resistance, a failing pancreas, an underlying infection, progressing kidney disease… I’m hoping my AlphaTrak2 has just gone haywire but the control solution is new and has given a solid value when checked. I’d never heard of checking ketones until reading something here, and I don’t have the supplies for that. I suppose that will be found with the urinalysis if anything’s there.
What might I be missing? Do I need to just wait for the results on Thursday? Sorry for the long post right out of the gate as a new member, but I thought we were so close to reaching Sissy’s optimal dose and now I have no idea what’s happening.
All I can say is that I’m baffled. Yesterday’s curve started at 328 pre-dose (just slightly higher than the 4.0 unit curve start) and never dropped below 239. Also, her nadir has always been around 5 hours but yesterday it occurred at 3 hours post dose for both the AM and PM halves of the curve. By the time she reached 5 hours post dose in the evening, she was back up to 303 and she was 388 this morning pre-dose. When checked at 5 hours post dose this afternoon, she had only dropped to 333. She used to routinely drop around 45-50 per unit dosed, but I’ve noticed with each curve that the amount of drop per unit has decreased from around 45-50 to around 18-20 since Oct 2022 to yesterday, even as her dose has increased a half unit every few months. I’m at a loss as to what is happening. Took her in for blood work and urinalysis today, and will take her back Thursday for a vet exam and a review of lab results if they have them in by then.
Sissy had an ultrasound and blood work last August where they confirmed chronic pancreatitis (although she never has visible symptoms), bilateral historic kidney damage, and bilateral slightly enlarged adrenal glands. No idea where the historic stuff started because she was a stray brought in with her litter mate back in 2013.
To the naked eye, she looks and acts like a normal cat, except for some increased drinking the last few days. Ever since her initial diagnosis, she always seems to drink more in the morning after her dose than in the afternoon/evenings. She eats well (is on Rx dry food (Purina OM) free-feed because I can’t break her of it and I have 3 other cats, and she gets Fancy Feast salmon pate half can 2x/day prior to dosing. Her weight has remained steady at 11.2 lbs for the last 4 months and including yesterday’s curve. She has never been an overweight cat even before her FD diagnosis.
There are so many variables that I’m making myself sick with worry: insulin resistance, a failing pancreas, an underlying infection, progressing kidney disease… I’m hoping my AlphaTrak2 has just gone haywire but the control solution is new and has given a solid value when checked. I’d never heard of checking ketones until reading something here, and I don’t have the supplies for that. I suppose that will be found with the urinalysis if anything’s there.
What might I be missing? Do I need to just wait for the results on Thursday? Sorry for the long post right out of the gate as a new member, but I thought we were so close to reaching Sissy’s optimal dose and now I have no idea what’s happening.