Wendy and Eva
Member Since 2022
Numbers look better and not wanting to increase dose. Wendy urinated on herself twice last night.
Wendy had a rough day yesterday after her AMPS. She ate great shortly after I gave her AM shot but was not interested in food thereafter until I administered sub-q fluids (100ml).
I didn't want her to decline, therefore, I fed her with a syringe. An hour after sub-q fluids, Wendy perked up a bit. She was a bit interested in food (Special Kitty pate) and ate on her own little meals throughout the day. She walked around the house and jumped on top of the kitchen countertop to eat. She did drink water more than usual and looked like she felt crummy. My poor girl didn't like me all that much and growled at me during the times I tested her.
Around 5pm while Wendy slept, I noticed her fur from the hind legs was wet. I picked her tail up and saw large drops of clear urine coming out from her behind. I scooped her up and took her to the litter box. She had a full bladder and peed a good amount (this happened again @ 11pm while sleeping). I examined her body to see if any part of it would hurt when I touched it, but there were no signs of her being in any kind of pain or distress. Wendy just wanted to be left alone!
I did test for ketones (morning and evening) and there was no trace. She ate throughout the night on her own and drank water.
I forgot to increase the PM shot to 4 units and administered the same amount 3.5 units.
This morning when I let Wendy out of her room, she was waiting for me by the door. She was happy to see me and ready to have breakfast. She didn't throw up during the night nor did she urinate on herself and ate most of the wet food from her bowls.
AMPS 367 and was going to administer same dose (3.5 units) in a different area (side of chest) but ended up giving her a fur shot (GRRRR). I tested +2 398 and +4 421. She has been eating small meals, not urinated on herself and drinking water. Tested for ketones and there's no trace.
Experts:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-29-wendy-pmps-440-3-455-amps-501.269024/#post-3004142
Wendy had a rough day yesterday after her AMPS. She ate great shortly after I gave her AM shot but was not interested in food thereafter until I administered sub-q fluids (100ml).
I didn't want her to decline, therefore, I fed her with a syringe. An hour after sub-q fluids, Wendy perked up a bit. She was a bit interested in food (Special Kitty pate) and ate on her own little meals throughout the day. She walked around the house and jumped on top of the kitchen countertop to eat. She did drink water more than usual and looked like she felt crummy. My poor girl didn't like me all that much and growled at me during the times I tested her.
Around 5pm while Wendy slept, I noticed her fur from the hind legs was wet. I picked her tail up and saw large drops of clear urine coming out from her behind. I scooped her up and took her to the litter box. She had a full bladder and peed a good amount (this happened again @ 11pm while sleeping). I examined her body to see if any part of it would hurt when I touched it, but there were no signs of her being in any kind of pain or distress. Wendy just wanted to be left alone!
I did test for ketones (morning and evening) and there was no trace. She ate throughout the night on her own and drank water.
I forgot to increase the PM shot to 4 units and administered the same amount 3.5 units.
This morning when I let Wendy out of her room, she was waiting for me by the door. She was happy to see me and ready to have breakfast. She didn't throw up during the night nor did she urinate on herself and ate most of the wet food from her bowls.
AMPS 367 and was going to administer same dose (3.5 units) in a different area (side of chest) but ended up giving her a fur shot (GRRRR). I tested +2 398 and +4 421. She has been eating small meals, not urinated on herself and drinking water. Tested for ketones and there's no trace.
Experts:
- Do you recommend a reset and use one of the protocols (SLGS or TR)? If not, do you recommend we leave current dose for a bit longer to see how she does?
- Any idea why Wendy would urinate on herself? Could it be the sub-q fluids? Kidney values were good when tested on 08/19/2022.
- Do you recommend giving her B12? If so, which ones? She was a very active cat before being diagnosed (08/01/2022). Wendy was an indoor/outdoor kitty and was very healthy & happy (during my single days). I got married and moved to our new home with my husband in February 2022. She now is an indoor only cat and I do have 9 others ( I'm a foster fail). However, my husband built them a big Catio and there's lots of room for all cats. They go in and out of the house whenever they want. I also have a smaller Catio for my golden girls and the other cats have no access to that area. Wendy has no interest in going outside and is not very active which is concerning to me.
- Should I take her to the vet for further testing? If so, what tests should I request. The new vet is good but, like many, doesn't know as much about this disease as the experts on this board do.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-29-wendy-pmps-440-3-455-amps-501.269024/#post-3004142
Last edited:

and will increase the PM dose tonight. Wendy has done well thus far without her AM shot. Let's pray she continues to do so with the increase.