? 09/30 TR an option? Pufi AMPS 370, +2 332, +4 342

Sanda Elena

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...e-pufi-amps-390-pmps-333.219787/#post-2450613
Hi everyone!
Last night Pufi had some blue , not for long and not too low. Of course he bounced and I expect him to do so for another 3 days as usual.
I had a problem with strips ( not being able to get them in time) for my metter so I had to use accucheck for a day ( which I hate) but went to pharmacy in the morning and get a new one ,contur plus since the strips are available anywere .
I wish I try transition to TR do you think I could manage to do it? This week for ex I have two full cycles when I won't be home between AMPS and PMPS. For the rest of the week I could monitor since I am home. This is my schedule in general , I work for 12 h day shift then I am free for 24 h, 12 h night shift and free 48 h.
Any suggestions will be verry appreciated.
 
Take a look at @Bellasmom SS - she works fulltime and does TR. You can look at others who work and do TR. It's doable....you'll just need to carb Pufi up and get an auto feeder for those days when you're gone for a long day.
 
Take a look at @Bellasmom SS - she works fulltime and does TR. You can look at others who work and do TR. It's doable....you'll just need to carb Pufi up and get an auto feeder for those days when you're gone for a long day.

Thank you for your answer.
I do have an auto feeder and I could carb him up when I am gone. I think 2 -3 days a week ( which means 2-3 cycles for him) when I cannot test shouldn't be very dangerous especially if I use MC, HC.
Also he won't be alone all the time , just no one to test.
 
Last edited:
The ability to do TR and work/go to school full time makes any approach more challenging. I work full time and used TR. You will need to stick with the protocol. It doesn't look like you've been increasing your cat's insulin as often as SLGS asks. With TR, you are evaluating the dose every 3 days/6 cycles and increasing if warranted. You do not want to hold on to doses that aren't getting your cat into normal ranges for overly long regardless of which dosing method you''re using.

This is a link to a post on using TR with a full time job.
 
The ability to do TR and work/go to school full time makes any approach more challenging. I work full time and used TR. You will need to stick with the protocol. It doesn't look like you've been increasing your cat's insulin as often as SLGS asks. With TR, you are evaluating the dose every 3 days/6 cycles and increasing if warranted. You do not want to hold on to doses that aren't getting your cat into normal ranges for overly long regardless of which dosing method you''re using.

This is a link to a post on using TR with a full time job.
Thank you.
I had a curve planned and an increase but had to postpone the curve due to a change in my work schedule. That gave my 2 days of delay and then he had a low blue (102) and was advised to keep the dose when I asked .
 
Your schedule is definitely a challenging one for TR, I hope you can find a way to make it work :)
 
The challenge is that with the 102, he may have gone lower and gotten a reduced dose -- although it looks like you were steering the curve with low carb food so it's not entirely clear if this would have happened. Just as an FYI, you might have wanted to increase on 9/26 sien that would have been a week at the 1.5u dose. Just because there is one cycle where the nadirs are in the 90 - 149 rang doesn't mean you don't increase. With SLGS, the majority of the nadirs need to be in that range when you hold the dose.
 
The challenge is that with the 102, he may have gone lower and gotten a reduced dose -- although it looks like you were steering the curve with low carb food so it's not entirely clear if this would have happened. Just as an FYI, you might have wanted to increase on 9/26 sien that would have been a week at the 1.5u dose. Just because there is one cycle where the nadirs are in the 90 - 149 rang doesn't mean you don't increase. With SLGS, the majority of the nadirs need to be in that range when you hold the dose.
Thank you for making things clear for me. I try very hard to do my best but it seems that is not enough. I did my curve today. I will enter data later after homework is finished. It's flat pink as usual when he bounce and I will increase tonight. I have 3 cycles when I am home to monitor closely and see what's happening.
 
Your schedule is definitely a challenging one for TR, I hope you can find a way to make it work :)
I would stick to SLGS for now but I will increase to 1.75. Than I will try to figure a way of doing TR , maybe convince my DH to test when he's home and I work . He loves Pufi as much as I do but refuses to test cause doesn't want to make him suffer. Today is our anniversarry 19 years
 
Thank you for making things clear for me. I try very hard to do my best but it seems that is not enough. I did my curve today. I will enter data later after homework is finished. It's flat pink as usual when he bounce and I will increase tonight. I have 3 cycles when I am home to monitor closely and see what's happening.
I'm sorry I don't have practical advice but I just want to say... I know so very well (personally) what you mean where it can feel that doing your best is not enough. But it is! You are learning and your best will get even better as you continue to learn from people's advice and knowledge here. :)

Also... as far as testing... a hypo is so very much worse than an ear prick. No one here tests to cause suffering, we do it specifically so they do not suffer, either in low numbers or in uncontrolled high numbers. (And honestly, I don't think most cats suffer from the ear poking....they may get annoyed or take some time to come around, but treats and love can make it a positive experience!) I hope your DH can learn and appreciate the value the testing adds to Pufi's health... I sure wish I had a partner to help carry the burden sometimes!
 
I'm sorry I don't have practical advice but I just want to say... I know so very well (personally) what you mean where it can feel that doing your best is not enough. But it is! You are learning and your best will get even better as you continue to learn from people's advice and knowledge here. :)

Also... as far as testing... a hypo is so very much worse than an ear prick. No one here tests to cause suffering, we do it specifically so they do not suffer, either in low numbers or in uncontrolled high numbers. (And honestly, I don't think most cats suffer from the ear poking....they may get annoyed or take some time to come around, but treats and love can make it a positive experience!) I hope your DH can learn and appreciate the value the testing adds to Pufi's health... I sure wish I had a partner to help carry the burden sometimes!
Thank you Liz for your kind words. I know nobody want them to suffer. I had a hard time training him for testing but the only think that kept me going was that I want him to be safe. That is why I wake up in the middle of the night to test no matter what. I will have to train my DH also , although I didn't succeded in the last 24 years . :)
 
Happy 19th!! That is amazing!!

If you can convince DH to test you can definitely follow TR!! Tell him how much more likely it is for Pufi to go into remission on TR! An ear prick where there are not many nerve endings is way less bad than kidney disease, neuropathy etc.. once he gets a couple pokes in he will see that Pufi doesn’t mind too much :)
 
Happy 19th!! That is amazing!!

If you can convince DH to test you can definitely follow TR!! Tell him how much more likely it is for Pufi to go into remission on TR! An ear prick where there are not many nerve endings is way less bad than kidney disease, neuropathy etc.. once he gets a couple pokes in he will see that Pufi doesn’t mind too much :)
Thank you !
 
Doing your best is alway "enough." I've been a member here for 10 years. It gives me a great deal of experience at the mechanics of how dosing works and an even greater sense of perspective. When you've been here for only a few months, please don't compare yourself with those of us who have been here for a great deal longer. Our input isn't intended to cause you to feel that what you're doing isn't enough. We all learn from each other.
 
Doing your best is alway "enough." I've been a member here for 10 years. It gives me a great deal of experience at the mechanics of how dosing works and an even greater sense of perspective. When you've been here for only a few months, please don't compare yourself with those of us who have been here for a great deal longer. Our input isn't intended to cause you to feel that what you're doing isn't enough. We all learn from each other.
I have learned a lot from all of you and I want to thank you for that. You people were my only support since all that started. It's still overwelming and I feel anxious some time, i have that feeling that I am not doing enough but that has nothing to do with your input. It's how seeing bad numbers make me feel. I work full time, I have a small child to care for, a house and a husband and still I set my alarm in the midle of the night to test no matter how tired or sick I feel just because I love my cat with all my heart and I want wat is best for him. And then ...nothing seems to work well so far in terms of BG control so....makes feel bad. And when I feel bad I post and a lot of wonderful people from all over the world listen and try to make me feel better and guide my steps. That's all.
 
I'd encourage you to increase the dose. Stick with the protocol you're following and increase as the method indicates. The best way to get Pufi's numbers where you want them is to get his dose to a range that gives you the numbers you want.
 
Back
Top