09/29 Eddie AMPS 407 +3 454 PMPS 421 +4 410

When you get to larger doses, think of the increases as a percentage of the total today, 10-15%. For example, when cats get to 5 units, we suggest 0.5 unit changes, at 10 units they are 1 unit changes. Similarly, at 20 units, the increase is 2 units. I would increase to 22 tonight. Also, since some sort of insulin resistance is happening, I would not wait more than six cycles to increase, unless he's seeing mid blues or below.

Paws crossed for more blues soon. :bighug:
 
When you get to larger doses, think of the increases as a percentage of the total today, 10-15%. For example, when cats get to 5 units, we suggest 0.5 unit changes, at 10 units they are 1 unit changes. Similarly, at 20 units, the increase is 2 units. I would increase to 22 tonight. Also, since some sort of insulin resistance is happening, I would not wait more than six cycles to increase, unless he's seeing mid blues or below.

Paws crossed for more blues soon. :bighug:
Given that I increased by 1u this morning is it ok to do the increase to 22u tonight?
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Jodey&Eddie&Blue , I wish I could give you a real life hug, I can imagine how frustrated you feel. His SS isn't solid reds and blacks anymore. I like your visual, Sisyphus pushing the boulder, but, I don't think Hades is trying to punish you or Eddie in this case! There are things beyond our control, like this. Already, you are doing everything in your power and it is helping Eddie, even if you feel that stupid boulder is rolling back downhill on you.:bighug::bighug::bighug: I know it's hard, but stay in the moment. At this moment Eddie might need 22 units, whatever it takes to make that breakthru. I'm glad you aren't paying US prices for insulin. Hang in there Jodey, you are doing an amazing job with your guys, they are so blessed!
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Jodey&Eddie&Blue , I wish I could give you a real life hug, I can imagine how frustrated you feel. His SS isn't solid reds and blacks anymore. I like your visual, Sisyphus pushing the boulder, but, I don't think Hades is trying to punish you or Eddie in this case! There are things beyond our control, like this. Already, you are doing everything in your power and it is helping Eddie, even if you feel that stupid boulder is rolling back downhill on you.:bighug::bighug::bighug: I know it's hard, but stay in the moment. At this moment Eddie might need 22 units, whatever it takes to make that breakthru. I'm glad you aren't paying US prices for insulin. Hang in there Jodey, you are doing an amazing job with your guys, they are so blessed!
Ruth, that's so kind. You're right, Hades isn't part of the story here but, like a Trickster, he appears in moments of frustration dealing out his underworld remarks. But the boulder analogy does hold and I have to say it keeps me in the present. Can't let that boulder roll over me so have to stay cool...
Here's a goodnight to you from me, Eddie and Blue. :bighug::cat::bighug::cat::):bighug:
 
Back
Top