09/28 Pickle PMPS 228 +1 237 +2 272 +4 337 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

09/28 Pickle PMPS 228 +1 237 +2 272 +4 337

K + P

New Member
Previous Day

I followed the "Lower than normal preshot" recommendations and gave a reduced dose back to 1u. I hope that's okay. I guess if we don't get too low, I resume 1.25 in the morning? Any advice appreciated

I guess I should have tested later in the day today. But after our +2, I decided not to worry much about it.

Christie called it by the way "We’ve had many kitties over the years who have thrown a low number at preshot that their caregiver did not expect."

I'm probably being dramatic, but I was definitely not expecting it and got spooked.
 
Last edited:
Previous Day

I followed the "Lower than normal preshot" recommendations and gave a reduced dose back to 1u. I hope that's okay. I guess if we don't get too low, I resume 1.25 in the morning? Any advice appreciated

I guess I should have tested later in the day today. But after our +2, I decided not to worry much about it.

Christie called it by the way "We’ve had many kitties over the years who have thrown a low number at preshot that their caregiver did not expect."

I'm probably being dramatic, but I was definitely not expecting it and got spooked.
If the +2 is not a whole lot lower than the preshot (and in this case it was higher), then the cycle is often not very active. Of course, you're still gathering data, so it's hard to know for certain what's happening later in Pickle's cycles at this point.

His bg is going to start coming down, fingers and paws crossed; it looks like he responded rather quickly to that dose increase today. What you'll begin learning as his bg comes down is that food is the tool you can use to manipulate the insulin if/when they go lower than you'd like. If you have time, take a look at some of the other spreadsheets to see how others shoot low and then manipulate with food if necessary. I always learned so much just observing.

Keep following the dosing method, as you're doing, in terms of increases and decreases, and when to shoot/not shoot. By the way, do you have your hypo kit pulled together? When you have a lower than normal preshot that you decide to shoot, the first thing they'll ask is if you have enough supplies on hand: test strips, MC/HC food, honey/karo syrup, etc.

In terms of goals, you're looking to get his bg down to nadirs in the 50 to 80 range (that's NADIRS), with overall numbers below 120. Many here shoot daily and maintain numbers in those ranges. Take a look at @Kat & Trixie and @Karolina & Nestle as good examples. Jude does well, too, but we're going through a weird spot right now with low nadirs and bouncing on the preshots (ugh!).

You're doing great with him!
 
I followed the "Lower than normal preshot" recommendations and gave a reduced dose back to 1u. I hope that's okay. I guess if we don't get too low, I resume 1.25 in the morning? Any advice appreciated
You are in early days, you are gathering data on what Pickle will do. Think of tonight as an experiment. Over time and with data, you will be able to shoot full dose with lower and lower preshots. First thing you learned is that a dose increase can give you lower preshots than you are used to. That is to be expected and a good thing. :). Next thing you are about to learn is what happens when you reduce the dose for a lower preshot. All good data to have. And yes, back to 1.25 units tomorrow morning. He has to go below 90 to earn a reduction and he hasn't done that yet.

Since you are following SLGS for dosing, you want to get his nadirs down into the 90-149 range. The 50-80 range quoted above is for folks following Tight Regulation for dosing.
 
Back
Top