? 09.28.22 Chispa, 97 AMPS, 58 +3, 67 +3.5, 64 +4, 76 +5

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
Good morning, everyone! Chispa is off to another green start after last night's scary (to me) unusually low PS of 69. Happy to say we both survived. :D:cat:

Now here's the hitch: I had been working her shot times backward to accommodate my early departure and day of working in the office tomorrow (need to leave @ 8 am). But when I saw the PMPS of 69, I had to go back to find and read the sticky, as well as posting here for advice, which delayed the shot by half an hour.

Further complicating things, tomorrow's PMPS will have to be even earlier because we have concert tickets, which means leaving home no later than 7:30 pm (and even that is pushing it). Here is my plan:

Today's AMPS: 8:40 am
Tonight PMPS: 8:15 pm
Tomorrow: 7:55 am (then gone until +8)
Tomorrow night: 7:30 pm (home by +4)

So basically moving the shot time up by 25 minutes from now through tomorrow night. I know it's not ideal, but it's the only solution I can think of.

Question is, would giving her a reduced dose tonight and tomorrow help to keep her safe during the day? Bhooma @Bandit's Mom already told me that giving a reduced dose tomorrow morning wouldn't make much difference during the day because of the depot, which I understand. But would two consecutive reduced doses help?

I have an automatic feeder and can leave two meals.

Thanks to all my helpers! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning, everyone! Chispa is off to another green start after last night's scary (to me) unusually low PS of 69. Happy to say we both survived. :D:cat:

Now here's the hitch: I had been working her shot times backward to accommodate my early departure and day of working in the office tomorrow (need to leave @ 8 am). But when I saw the PMPS of 69, I had to go back to find and read the sticky, as well as posting here for advice, which delayed the shot by half an hour.

Further complicating things, tomorrow's PMPS will have to be even earlier because we have concert tickets, which means leaving home no later than 7:30 pm (and even that is pushing it). Here is my plan:

Today's AMPS: 8:40 am
Tonight PMPS: 8:15 pm
Tomorrow: 7:55 am (then gone until +8)
Tomorrow night: 7:30 pm (home by +4)

So basically moving the shot time up by 25 minutes from now through tomorrow night. I know it's not ideal, but it's the only solution I can think of.

Question is, would giving her a reduced dose tonight and tomorrow help to keep her safe during the day? Bhooma @Bandit's Mom already told me that giving a reduced dose tomorrow morning wouldn't make much difference during the day because of the depot, which I understand. But would two consecutive reduced doses help?

I have an automatic feeder and can leave two meals.

Thanks to all my helpers! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I’m curious to see what the experts say. I have to move my time around more than ideal (sometimes by 10-15 but sometimes half hour and it happens regularly) just because life dictates. I often have no choice so I figure I gotta do what I gotta do.
 
Shooting early MAY act like a slight increase and late Might act like a slight decrease but this is a know your cat kind of thing. I think your schedule looks ok. A reduced dose will not change what happens the first half of the cycle. I would not have stalled last night since the bg was over 50. I would have gotten another test after +3 though. Did you leave out food?

You could feed mc at amps and leave out mc if the amps is lower.
 
Hi Elise -- thanks for weighing in, and I'm glad to know my schedule sounds ok. I know I probably shouldn't have stalled last night, but I only shot my first green a week ago, and 69 was much lower than any other PS so far. I don't mean to be a nervous nellie, but you know ... the stakes seem high, and I don't want to mess up. So I posted the question and consulted the stickies and found this:

“If your cat typically has little to no food spike or an early onset, then you may need to be more conservative with low preshots.


Chispa typically has an early onset AND not much of a food spike, so I thought I'd better check in with the group about what constitutes "more conservative." Anyway, it's done, so I'll chalk it up to experience. ;)

I gave her a slightly higher carb meal than usual at +3 and left another in the feeder for +5.
 
Hi Elise -- thanks for weighing in, and I'm glad to know my schedule sounds ok. I know I probably shouldn't have stalled last night, but I only shot my first green a week ago, and 69 was much lower than any other PS so far. I don't mean to be a nervous nellie, but you know ... the stakes seem high, and I don't want to mess up. So I posted the question and consulted the stickies and found this:

“If your cat typically has little to no food spike or an early onset, then you may need to be more conservative with low preshots.


Chispa typically has an early onset AND not much of a food spike, so I thought I'd better check in with the group about what constitutes "more conservative." Anyway, it's done, so I'll chalk it up to experience. ;)

I gave her a slightly higher carb meal than usual at +3 and left another in the feeder for +5.

It was fine to stall but knowing that you needed to adjust the schedule you could have fed higher carbs as needed and shot provided you could monitor.
 
Back
Top