09.27.22 Chispa, 114 AMPS

Hi everyone,

Chispa’s preshot was 69 - much lower than ever before. She had a vet visit today, including a rabies shot. Could that have anything to do with it?

I read this in the sticky:

“If your cat typically has little to no food spike or an early onset, then you may need to be more conservative with low preshots. You are not shooting the number your cat is at now – you are shooting the number your cat will be at when the insulin kicks in. You need to know what that number will be.”

Chispa is one such cat (early onset, not much food spike). Is it ok to give her the shot? She sometimes drops a lot from PS to +2. I can stay up to feed, test, etc. but would like to avoid her going hypo in the middle of the night. Please advise. Thanks!!
 
Last edited:
Do you have plenty of supplies (strips, HC/MC food, Karo/honey/syrup) and can you stay up as long as may be necessary to test? (even if it's a lot later than you usually stay up?)

Since it's been about 10 minutes since you posted, you could wait another 10 and test again (as long as she hasn't been fed) but if the answer to the questions above is yes, I'd shoot the 4U and get a +1 and +2 and see how it goes.

You can see on your spreadsheet how level she stays when you shoot. If you want to see another example of "shoot low to stay low", take a look at China's spreadsheet
 
Back
Top