09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, PMPS 358, +6.5 110 - seeking advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

09/25
PMPS 392
+2.75 309
+6.5 142
+8.5 112
+10.5 109

I've been browsing the board for about an hour, so his shot is due in about 30 minutes now.
Tonight, I'll probably shoot him 15 minutes early to get back on schedule (I got home from work late, last night).
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, +3 204

J.D. didn't want to eat his 2nd breakfast, so he's back ourside guarding the balcony.
I have a zillion things to do today, since it's my only day off. Laundry, grocery shopping, house cleaning, and a party, I think.
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, +3 204, +5 284

with a low yellow, you won't be nervous about leaving the house. I sure am glad I'm home today - something unusual with my big kitty-girl.
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, +3 204, +5 284, +8 311 seeking advise

I seem to see :shock: :razz: a 24 hour cycle. This was my only real day off to test, and I have been seeing what looks to me like a peak his highest BGs at PMPS and a nadir just before AMPS. He just can't be normal, can he?
If you want me to lower the dose to see if he stops the bouncing (if that's what this is), fine. If I need to increase the dose, then I'd rather wait a few weeks <heavy sigh> My next real weekend off is 10/16, 10/17, 10/18. I am supposed to get a 3 day weekend next week, but I only really have Saturday again, as I volunteered :roll: to work next Sunday and will have major scary construction going on in my house on Monday next week. The following week I only get Saturday off again.
That's that. At least he's doing better than he was on Lantus.
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, +3 204, +5 284, +8 311

Dyana....do you feed him at +8 or so in the day? How do you work the food when you work?
He sure has a strange curve, doesn't he? I see what you are saying...
he was on a higher dose with Lantus, eh?
Wonder what the dosing experts would say...but if you cannot go up in dose for awhile, then I am not sure what you can/should do.

What is different between the AM cycle and the PM cycle...can you think of things?
He did have similar patterns with the Lantus, no?
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, PMPS 358 seeking advise

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Dyana....do you feed him at +8 or so in the day? How do you work the food when you work?
He sure has a strange curve, doesn't he? I see what you are saying...
he was on a higher dose with Lantus, eh?
Wonder what the dosing experts would say...but if you cannot go up in dose for awhile, then I am not sure what you can/should do.

What is different between the AM cycle and the PM cycle...can you think of things?
He did have similar patterns with the Lantus, no?
On Lantus he was all over the place, diving before I left for work, and had 3 days bounces. I am much happier with the Levemir.

A copy and paste of a PM I sent:
I thought it might be the food. When I work, he gets 1/4 can of FF at AMPS and a 1/4 can when I leave at +1. I also leave a can (sometimes 2) of frozen FF (depending on his numbers) and between 1/2 to a whole can of Friskies for during the day. Usually (normally) it's not eaten. Sometimes it is. The Sometime It Is days are the days I wonder about. Anyway, today, I fed him exactly like the nighttime. 1/4 can at PS time, 1/4 can about 2 or 3 hours later and 1/4 can at +8ish.
I'm not complaining. I love Levemir, and I love the consistancy I'm getting, and the quick bounces.

Tonight, I had planned to shoot early because I was late getting home from work yesterday and had to shoot late. So much for plans. I was in the grocery store, halfway through he store when my alarm went off. I went DIRECTLY to the check out, but still only got home to shoot a whole 5 minutes early.

Tomorrow, he goes to work with me.
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, PMPS 358 - seeking advise

That's a lot of food during the day, isn't it Dyana? I am wondering when he eats that ...maybe very late in the cycle which might explain elevated numbers.
So, how is his appetite when you come home from work, let's say, if all the food is gone....??

I feed mine every 4 hours, night and day. But I don't feed as much as you do when I think about it....I mix some raw with some Wellness~and including the water, I suspect it is about 2 tablespoons at each meal.

But if you don't feed much during the night, then there you have it! That is the difference between your two cycles. Do you use a timed feeder for the night time +8?

There isn't much you can do to make sure he eats at like +8 while you are away, but food close to the preshot time will raise the numbers...especially that amount of food...maybe others will have another idea for you...but I think it has something to do with the amount of food and the timing....
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, PMPS 358 - seeking advise

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
That's a lot of food during the day, isn't it Dyana? I am wondering when he eats that ...maybe very late in the cycle which might explain elevated numbers. Yes, I have come home to him licking his lips from eating, and I have come home to him eating..but what can I do, I have two cats. Ginger the 9lb. 10lb wonder eats as much as he does.

So, how is his appetite when you come home from work, let's say, if all the food is gone....?? Sometimes when all the food is gone he isn't so hungry at PMPS..but was it all eaten because he went high, or low? that's the mystery question. probably high, but who knows?

I feed mine every 4 hours, night and day. But I don't feed as much as you do when I think about it....I mix some raw with some Wellness~and including the water, I suspect it is about 2 tablespoons at each meal.

But if you don't feed much during the night, then there you have it! That is the difference between your two cycles. Do you use a timed feeder for the night time +8? No, I get up and test at 8ish because that's seems to be around his nadir time. Although, lately it's been later than that.

There isn't much you can do to make sure he eats at like +8 while you are away, but food close to the preshot time will raise the numbers...especially that amount of food...maybe others will have another idea for you...but I think it has something to do with the amount of food and the timing....I would appreciate advise and opinios on this. But, realize, I'm scared that Ginger will eat the food during the day, so I always leave out enough for 2 cats. "Normally" all the left out food is not eaten.
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, PMPS 358 - seeking advise

dyana...i'm no help with any advice, but just wanted to say i hope it goes better..

celi
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, PMPS 358 - seeking advise

Actually, I'm pretty fine with the way it is. I just think he should be a normal diabetic cat :lol: and have 12 hour curves.
He has made such an improvement since the insulin switch. I do know he could be better, though.

These are the recent photos I was thinking about putting in the 2011 FDMB Calendar:
P1010813.jpg

th_P2041378.jpg

I chose the first one. It's from our vacation, with him sitting on the bed waiting for me, with his new banana.
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, PMPS 358 - seeking advise

That's a tough one Dyana
At this time, I too have to deal with one kitty eating all the food while we are both away during the day.
Obviously, I don't worry so much anymore.

So I stuff the piggy kitty, and leave several bowls out in spots where Luna hangs out plus where piggy kitty won't scope it out.
Those timed feeders will be in our home very soon, that's a lot of bowls to collect and wash everyday!

When Luna was on insulin I wasn't working so I made sure he got his food at the right times etc...not to mention the 3am (+9) snacks. @-)

I have heard of some beans having a couple of timed feeders and setting them to "leap frog" each other up until the illegal time (before +10)
Placing the feeders away from each other, say, one in the kitchen and one further away in another room.
That might be an option to consider.

I love the pics!! Look at that bling around his neck! :lol: He's so cute!!
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, PMPS 358 - seeking advise

Dyana, I'm no help either. I'm waiting to hear the advice you get. I was thinking of posting the very questions that Pat posed to you. On days that I have to be gone all day, I don't know what to leave out, and with 3 cats, don't know which is eating it. As you say, Ginger could be eating most of the food, and how would you know?
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, PMPS 358 - seeking advise

I love both of those pictures Dyana....he is so handsome! Great shots!
With the two being there all day alone it is difficult. Well, I am glad he is doing so well on Lev.
That's a good thing. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, PMPS 358 - seeking advise

I have no advice either...I have a hard time getting Emma to eat at the right times, and she's the only kitty in the house! I feed her where the dogs can't get it (top step of the basement stairs, where she has to go through the kitty door to get at it), and I have a timed feeder to make sure she stops eating for a while before a +8ish snack, and it still doesn't always work. She often sleeps through it, and then is starving when I get home and follows me around for 2 hours til shot time. :YMSIGH: Is there anyway you could separate them during the day, even if it's just for a week, to see how much he's eating and maybe try out one of the timed feeders?
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, PMPS 358 - seeking advise

I must be old, because I don't know what a bling is :shock:
Did you notice all the bells? He has like 5 of them. Both my cats do. That's so I can find J.D. should he get lost (even though he's microchipped) while on vacation, and to hope that they scare away game little baby birds and bunnies before Ginger gets them in her mouth.

Part of the complication with how much food I leave out, is J.D. sometimes has dropping numbers, slowly dropping numbers at AMPS. And I will be gone until PMPS. Hey, I do the best I can.
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, PMPS 358 - seeking advise

Kristen & Emma said:
I have no advice either...I have a hard time getting Emma to eat at the right times, and she's the only kitty in the house! I feed her where the dogs can't get it (top step of the basement stairs, where she has to go through the kitty door to get at it), and I have a timed feeder to make sure she stops eating for a while before a +8ish snack, and it still doesn't always work. She often sleeps through it, and then is starving when I get home and follows me around for 2 hours til shot time. :YMSIGH: Is there anyway you could separate them during the day, even if it's just for a week, to see how much he's eating and maybe try out one of the timed feeders?
I get home at shot time, so I have no control over whether he eats between +10 and +12. What is, is.
Separating them is a good idea! Although, I don't know. It would have to be Ginger or J.D. locked (neither door now closes completely :roll: I'd have to get them fixed) in either the bedroom or dark basement, for the day. I'd still tend to leave out a bunch of food, though, if I left him in low blues at AMPS, for the day. I'm not trying to fight this. I'm open to suggestions. I could leave my sweetheart Ginger locked up for a week, it would just heart me :-D
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, PMPS 358, +2 311 - seeking advise

He's on his way down for the night. 2nd dinner has been et. And, he got a shrimp, too :-D

NiNi LLand
lazy3.gif
sleep-027.gif
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, PMPS 358, +2 311 - seeking advise

Oh yes look at JD's bling!!! I love that picture Dyana! It would make a good entry for the calendar. I really don't have much input to give you either, sorry.

Hope you have a wonderful nini, Dyana!
 
Re: 09/25 J.D. AMPS 120, PMPS 358, +2 311 - seeking advise

I've been staring at your SS all day, and still have it on my screen. Nothing has jumped out at me yet, but I wanted you to know I'm looking. Others have asked great questions about what is different between the AM and PM cycles. Maybe there is a way to spread the food around differently to make him even out. Don't be afraid to experiment.
 
He wasn't in bed. Guess where I found him?
Laying on the kitchen sink rug, waiting for a shrimp. He got one.
btb.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top