09/24 Blackie AMPS 369 +2 198 +3 162 +4 121 +5 88 +5.5 97etc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25699&p=259581#p259581

I knew she had a high # this morning, and I was right. No kibble eating. Just her typical pattern.

I'll be home most of the day today, however, this morning I do need to search for a used lawnmower (push type) for our property. We don't need a county citation for long grass.

WIll give her some LC food after testing her before I leave.
 
Re: 09/24 Blackie AMPS 369

Good luck on your lawnmower search.

Can you please try to get a before bed test in every evening? It would be helpful to know where Blackie went last night with a PMPS of 200. It's important to make sure his numbers are in a safe zone.
 
Re: 09/24 Blackie AMPS 369

+2 198, then fed her some LC food (boiled chicken, and a couple of tsps. of FF T&G)

Going to be around for a bit longer this a.m. to monitor before heading out the door.

The extra testing I don't mind, however, I don't have the amount of strips to do so. I'm now starting to get back into the workforce, and just had my first temp job yesterday, which wasn't for very long (only 4 hours). We're still dealing with the mortgage company, and if they can't work with us, we'll be facing foreclosure in the near future.

I'm doing the best I can.
 
Re: 09/24 Blackie AMPS 369; +2 198

That +2 shows quite a drop.

Did you in fact raise her dose this morning to 5.0u Angela????
That is what is on your SS.

The increase in dose will drive her numbers down and it would be prudent to test frequently if you did raise the dose.

If you do not choose to test at night or do more frequent testing during the day, I am wondering why you would raise her dose? It would have been safer to leave her at the previous one...I hope you will reconsider what everyone said yesterday and give her the previous dose tonight and thereafter until you have the ability to test her more often than what you are doing presently.

Good luck with the lawnmower search....good luck with Blackie today too. Please tell us what dose you gave...I am getting so concerned...it looks as if she is wanting to go much lower today....I wish you all the luck in the world Angela. I understand that things are tough...but in the situation you are in perhaps the lower dose is the way to go for now....
 
Re: 09/24 Blackie AMPS 369; +2 198

Hi Angela! Quite the drop this morning - I hope all goes well for Blackie.

Good luck with the lawnmower search. And I hope all goes well for you. I now so many people here who are in the same boat, such trying times. I wish you well.
 
Re: 09/24 Blackie AMPS 369; +2 198

Are you wanting me to decrease the dose because I'm not testing enough, or because you think she doesn't need as much insulin? Just curious.

I thank you and appreciate all the wellwishes, too.
 
Re: 09/24 Blackie AMPS 369; +2 198

Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
Are you wanting me to decrease the dose because I'm not testing enough, or because you think she doesn't need as much insulin? Just curious.

we're concerned about blackie's safety. she has been running in lower numbers as of late and you have not been able to do the followup testing required to keep her safe when following a tight regulation protocol.

angela, these are the comments left in your condos the last couple of days:

"good morning, angela! what a beautiful preshot number this morning! in spite of the kibble evidence, it's best to get some spot checks off of this number since it's a lower ps number and because of the vomit you found. given your situation, how about dropping the dose back to 4.5u bid? yes, it would leave blackie in numbers that are a little higher, but for the most part she'd be running under renal threshold. i know you haven't been able to test her as often as you'd like. this could be a temporary measure until you get back on your feet again.
what do you think?"


"I agree with Jill, for safety, to lower the dose if you cannot spot check her very much."

"They are suggesting decreasing just until you are able to start testing again. I don't feel good about running Blackie in numbers this low without the ability to test often. I would rather see you decrease the dose, just temporarily, to keep her safe. Once you have more test strips, then you can increase back to this dose if she needs it."

"Please reconsider the 5u increase you have planned (according to SS)"

"please do not increase blackie's dose tomorrow as indicated on your ss.
yesterday i suggested dialing the dose back until you're able to do a little more spot checking. i know it's hard to think about reducing the dose when you've waited so long and worked so hard to get the results you're seeing, but we have to keep blackie safe. reducing is just a temporary measure.
please think about it..."



Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
The extra testing I don't mind, however, I don't have the amount of strips to do so.
this is why we are concerned. this is why we've suggested dropping the dose back. this is why we asked you to not increase blackie's dose once again.

that's quite a drop from an amps of 369 to a +2 of 198. just a reminder... the +2 *should be* about the same as the preshot number. it's not. she has quite the downward momentum going very early in the cycle. further testing is required today to make sure she doesn't drop too low.

please hear what we're saying. trust me. we understand your circumstances. many of us have been in similar circumstances from time to time. we "get it"... which is the only reason we've suggested dropping the dose back to 4.5u bid. yes, blackie does need more insulin, but you admit not being able to test her frequently. given the circumstances, it's in blackie's best interest to run her in numbers which are a little higher... for safety's sake.
 
Re: 09/24 Blackie AMPS 369; +2 198

SS's updated.

I fed her 5 HC kibble to keep her from getting any lower. Obviously, I haven't made it outside.

Now, I've upset someone else who was trying to help me by giving her 5 HC kibble. Seems I can't please anyone.
 
Re: 09/24 Blackie AMPS 369; +2 198

+5=88 and you have been testing nicely this morning....you please ME Angela!!! :mrgreen:

It's good if you gave her something to bring her up...that is a good thing! And if you keep watching her, I will be even happier than I am right now...which is very very happy! I am so glad that you are home with her. This is kinda what everyone was saying about the increased dose pushing her too low for comfort...if you have to leave for the day.
At least with the lower dose, she was staying higher.

As far as total healing and progress, this is a great dose. But IF you aren't home during the day, this higher dose is too much. Will you lower it back tonight maybe? There will still be an overlap so she will need to be watched even after you shoot the lowered dose though...

If you don't have HC gravy available, the LC with some karo might work if she goes any lower, okay? The dry doesn't act so quickly and then it stays in the system a little longer, but today that might not be a bad thing under the circumstances, know what I mean? I don't know who that "someone" is, but each circumstance is different and you have to go with what you have available, right?
 
Re: 09/24 Blackie AMPS 369; +2 198

+5 88
+5.5 97

that's a nice rise! if you haven't already, try giving her a couple bites of lc. tell her it's a beautiful day for surfing! :-D

(((angela)))
no one is looking to be pleased. we're just concerned... and given the circumstances, the suggestions were made in an effort to work with you.
we really do understand...
 
Re: 09/24 Blackie AMPS 369; +2 198

Feeding kibble when a cat is in low numbers isn't hugely problematic at least in principle. The big concern is that it takes a long time (vs. HC gravy from canned food) to work. Likewise, it takes a long time for it to leave a cat's system. Gravy is in and out far more quickly. If Blackie's numbers were in the 40s, having a choice that works fast is much more helpful so you don't chew your fingernails off waiting for numbers to respond.

Pat's reminder that you can always add a drop or two of Karo (or any kind of syrup or honey) to LC food is a good point. Lots of beans who have kitties with gluten sensitivities/allergies do that routinely. The trick is figuring out how much syrup you need!! You have choices.
 
Re: 09/24 Blackie AMPS 369; +2 198

I think the lower dose will be good until you can get more strips and test more often Angela...not just for 6 cycles necessarily. It's a good idea to keep her higher if you cannot test often.
 
Re: 09/24 Blackie AMPS 369; +2 198

(((Angela)))

Good catch!! It looks like the HC dry worked fine, you got a nice rise. Not like me...the first couple of times, I fed a TON of HC wet and sent Tinkles through the roof! :oops: I got the same suggestions, LC with a little syrup or gravy, and I learned...but it's scary when you see those greens in the beginning, good for you for staying calm and not going overboard! ;-)

Please listen to Jill, she said it perfectly. No one is here to judge, the concern is for Blackie's safety and helping you find the best way to manage within the circumstances. Everyone has situations that limit how closely we can monitor, and we have to allow higher numbers when that's the case. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top