09/23 Trey +5.25 63 +10 84 +4.25 129

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 09/23 Trey amps 158 +4.75 61 +5.25 63

confused_cat I am .....here is a smart move...Trey must have had a low number last night cause this morning a 158 :shock: at 4.75 61 so I make them wait to eat another 30 minutes see how much more he come down. Well keep busy lets do nails and ears check...yip clean Trey`s ears which only happens ever 6 months and he hates it......so 30 minutes gone by and guess what I stressed him from 61 to 63 . Now I ask you how smart was that? All 5 cats are not to happy with mom and she is not to happy herself :oops: So what do I do hold off on his .25u insulin tonight and see how it goes???? Kath & Trey
 
Re: 09/23 Trey amps 158 +4.75 61 +5.25 63

Normally we wait until we see a number under 50, or have one week in normal numbers (120) before reducing. The next reduction after .25U is to try .1U. From the protocol:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
and
Since 2006 we've encouraged those practicing Tight Regulation to attempt reducing the dose from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely. During a two week OTJ trial, you want to see mostly green numbers (under 100) with only a few random blue numbers between 100 - 120 to help ensure a strong remission.
Trey is looking pretty good. :mrgreen:

I can't imagine holding back food for 30 minutes was very popular. :-x
 
Re: 09/23 Trey amps 61 +5.25 63 +10 84

OK where is .1u after .25u I am confused He went from 158 to 61 in 4.5 hours I have to go out and now don`t want him to go too low again before I get home maybe will just skip for tonight.....Thank you for your help Kath & Trey
 
Re: 09/23 Trey amps 158 +4.75 61 +5.25 63 +10 84

Ok did a bit reading and I will skim the .25u into half :lol: will try anyway Hugsssssssssssss Kath
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top