09/21Milo +11.7 85/ AMPS 97/+1 77/+2 67/+3 40/+3.55 93/+4 121/+4.5 153/+6 202/+8.5 194

Enough to say that he 'ate'?

If not, you could try stalling this morning to see if he his rising or falling.
 
Whether to give the full shot (did you take the reduction last night?) or a shot in general, I am not able to advise. I've seen others say no food = no shot.

I remember that Milo likes to Nadir a little earlier too, so his willingness to eat himself out of a low is important, if necessary.

Stalling a bit can give a little time for someone more experienced to arrive too :)
 
85 is technically a shootable number under TR, though that doesn't mean you should shoot. I've also seen people say "no food = no insulin". I'd err on the side of caution without someone more experienced showing up. I don't have much experience with low numbers.

If you're stalling, then it is stall NO FOOD and test again in 20 minutes. You want to see a rising number.
 
I’m at an appointment this morning.. tried to look at your SS ... it looks like from your title the numbers are rising...

Usually as per the dosing methods you should
STALL
No food
Test again in 20 minutes
Repeat if necessary to determine if numbers are rising or falling without food influence..

hope that helps
 
Sorry, late to the party. Had a late night last night...just logging in. Great job shooting Sam.
Milo be good. you need to eat good today.
Peeps will be watching Sam, as you know;)
Thanks! I finally feel like I'm getting on to this. I know not to feed when you're TRYING to stall but I wasn't; I had decided I felt ok with shooting an 85 even without checking with the group. Milo made the choice to stall by then deciding not to eat! That's what made it a little bit tricky. So, this is what I should do in the future in similar situation? It' all a learning experience.
 
So, this is what I should do in the future in similar situation?
Yeppers. Stall to see if numbers are coming up or if Milo's appy is good. Stalling can show you #s coming up, indicating the insulin is losing its punch. You generally have 2 hours before insulin onset so, that 97 should be higher soon. Especially with food on board.
Congrats on the reducie. And congrats on shooting your first green. When shooting a green for the first time, I like to get a +1 and +2. Just to be aware of # movement to get prepared if needed.
 
Thanks! I finally feel like I'm getting on to this. I know not to feed when you're TRYING to stall but I wasn't; I had decided I felt ok with shooting an 85 even without checking with the group. Milo made the choice to stall by then deciding not to eat! That's what made it a little bit tricky. So, this is what I should do in the future in similar situation? It' all a learning experience.
You handled it purrfectly. It never even occurred to me to stall due to the bg.
 
You earned this.
54B4DEC8-AF7B-48D1-8C06-4D4156CD74E5.gif
 

Attachments

  • 54B4DEC8-AF7B-48D1-8C06-4D4156CD74E5.gif
    54B4DEC8-AF7B-48D1-8C06-4D4156CD74E5.gif
    18.4 KB · Views: 165
I was looking at yesterday and the sharp decline from PMPS to AMPS. Not knowing if he was still falling, I was thinking a stall could tell us if he was done sliding?

I am Learning :)
 
I was looking at yesterday and the sharp decline from PMPS to AMPS. Not knowing if he was still falling, I was thinking a stall could tell us if he was done sliding?

I am Learning :)
That was fine and safe. Stalling was also needed to see if he would eat. I would not feel comfortable shooting if my cat weren’t eating. The ss looked like a +11 and preshot test were done showing a rise. Is that what was done? If you stall without food the bg could drop even more which I guess is why I was concentrating on the food too. This is just my opinion but situations like this I don’t feel there’s a right or wrong or one size fits all.
 
Yes, that was exactly it, tiff. I was prepared to shoot the 85 but was worried because he wasn't eating and yesterday he dropped so much.
Here we go again today; he's dropped to 77 at +1. He's eating a little bit again. I'll have to watch, for sure. And I'm looking into the OneDrop unlimited strips membership. It seems like I need it!
 
I didn’t realize that the insulin could have that effect. He appears to be completely off of the raw turkey (which he used to love) so I’m switching it to duck today (it was a hit last time but who know now??). He may be getting taste for the canned FF and be rejecting the raw now
As long as he will eat a teaspoon or two it will be okay. I’m hoping the insulin will spark his appetite. You can syringe if needed or finger feed.
 
67 @ +2. He was eating Big Country raw duck but has stopped now. I didn’t want him to get too full but he’s done for the moment. I gave it to him after we heard him eating the turkey he had rejected for two days from the dog’s bowl....
 
Last edited:
I personally think it's ok that he has a nice LC snack, we want the food in him to float us for the next couple hrs. It will help his nadir and may reduce our chances of needing to feed HC later. That is my 2 cents, but... Again, I am learning. Sounds right @tiffmaxee?
 
Have you tried different bowls for Milo? Maybe he doesn't like what he's eating out of.
May have missed this question somewhere, so sorry for repetition.
 
Since he earned a reduction and back to back reductions often fail and the old depot is in play, don’t be concerned about whether you feed lc or mc so early in the cycle. We would just like to see him surf safely I feel. No going close to the sharks today.
 
I was thinking the same thing with the MC/HC. Milo clear bounces sooo quickly...it's just a blip in#s when feeding MC/HC. He recovers quickly so no worries in my book. Carb him up. I read somewhere that a lot of diabetic kitties do best on a diet of 6-10% carbs, Often wondered if that could have helped my boy attain flatter cycles. He was on a diet of under 4% carbs.
 
Back
Top