09/21 Fistuk AMPS 85, +1 112, +2 106, +3 115, +6 115

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-20-fistuk-amps-158-3-106-5-85-pmps-85-2-95.281753/

EDIT
We had an unsettled night. At 3am Fistuk had a potty job that wouldn't embrace a horse. It was partly soft and smeary but partly sold and more normal colour. I hd to wash him and it was horrible. Afterwards he seems very unsettled. As if he wanted to go again but couldn't. He then asked to come under the douve to lie next to me in a way that tells me that he0s feeling unwell. At some point early morning he relaxed. Nevertheless he ate quite nicely during the night and by himself.

This morning he was cute and cuddly until breakfast. Maybe he associates breakfast with needles and syringes but often he wakes up singing and wants to eat but by BF time its as if he can't stand the sight of food
 
Last edited:
that was the day before. On the 19th
Yes I saw that! That's when he earned his reduction to 5.00 from 5.50. Gave everyone a shock first thing!

No numbers below 50 since?

Yesterday were you mostly feeding HC, or was it mostly his normal food?
 
Yes I saw that! That's when he earned his reduction to 5.00 from 5.50. Gave everyone a shock first thing!

No numbers below 50 since?

Yesterday were you mostly feeding HC, or was it mostly his normal food?
He def kept us on our feet
No lower than 50 since the morning of 19th

I didn't give any HC since he pulled up above 50 on the 19th. It's just his usual LC food--I changed to Select Gold, which gives me 127cal per 100g bc of higher fat. so I need to chase him little less with syringes
 
He def kept us on our feet
No lower than 50 since the morning of 19th

I didn't give any HC since he pulled up above 50 on the 19th. It's just his usual LC food--I changed to Select Gold, which gives me 127cal per 100g bc of higher fat. so I need to chase him little less with syringes

That's fantastic news.

He does seem to like to nadie between +2 and+3.

George usually nadired around then, so when I failed to see a food bump at +1 ( higher +1 than PS) it was a great heads up for the cycle.

Hope he gets back to green and surf's there.

With the numerous doses changes over the last couple of days, it would be good to see if he can hold onto this dose, we need to get the depot to stabilise after all the changes, so we can see what this dose is really going to do for him


Every time we change a dose the depot has to adjust, so when we make changes in quick succession we can see weird numbers that are not really representative of the true dose.

He's looking great, hope he's feeling better too
 
George usually nadired around then, so when I failed to see a food bump at +1 ( higher +1 than PS) it was a great heads up for the cycle.
it's great to understand finally what a food bump is and how to interpret it :)

With the numerous doses changes over the last couple of days, it would be good to see if he can hold onto this dose, we need to get the depot to stabilise after all the changes, so we can see what this dose is really going to do for him


Every time we change a dose the depot has to adjust, so when we make changes in quick succession we can see weird numbers that are not really representative of the true dose.
Thanks. It's helpful to have this info so I learn more and more how to manage him

He's looking great, hope he's feeling better too
Thanks. Me too. I hope he'll be over the soft poo soon
 
Ondensetron update - last night I was supposed to give the third Onda at +4 but I was so tired so when I got up to test I forgot and went straight to bed.

But this showed me that it had no affect on Fistuk's eating behaviour. He still eats by himself during the night and makes me work hard to feed him in the morning.
He doesn't show any signs of nausea such as hunched back of licking lips or the kind of gesture on his face that was like 'ugh get this out of here'.

So I'm not giving him the Onda anymore at midnight. I was never sure it really made any difference. At least it means that if I take a +3 at PM and it's my last test then I can got to sleep. I'm beginning to feel really shaky for continuous lack of sleep.

I^ll taper back and then see if I reduce to lower dose or just once a day means that he has nausea and if he doesn't I'll stop all together.

I've got no idea why he doesn't eat but as I keep saying Fistuk has never been a great eater and it looks like he's just being himself. I'll have a closer watch on this and how the absence of meds are affecting him
 
So he eats on his own at night and needs assistance during the day? :rolleyes:
Wants his momma's full attention.

I don't have personal experience using the onda, but I seem to remember that once you get on top of the nausea it's important not to stop suddenly. Perhaps a dose tapering as you suggested is a good idea.

I think @Bron and Sheba (GA) and @tiffmaxee
Have experience with that and would be able to advise you, they may be sleeping at the moment
 
So he eats on his own at night and needs assistance during the day? :rolleyes:
Wants his momma's full attention.

I don't have personal experience using the onda, but I seem to remember that once you get on top of the nausea it's important not to stop suddenly. Perhaps a dose tapering as you suggested is a good idea.

I think @Bron and Sheba (GA) and @tiffmaxee
Have experience with that and would be able to advise you, they may be sleeping at the moment
yes, tapering is the way with allopathic meds because they really mess up the body. @Bandit's Mom also suggested tapering.
 
+6 115
pretty flat.

I'm a bit concerned about dehydration. His gums are not yucky but I'm not sure I'm happy about his skin bounce.

He's basically asleep all day besides when I wake him up for food and tests. I gave him water with syringe.

Will call the vet and ask if I can give more than 80mk SQ a day. perhaps twice a day (then he'll hate me forever :()
 
Hi Shelly, glad Fistuk is feeling better and less nauseous! Poor baby. I hope today is calmer for both of you :bighug::bighug:
Hi Staci. Thanks for checking in :bighug:
Yes, a bit calmer bc he's flat. Which gives me the space for bit of nap and pack the house. But he's still not eating much by himself. filling out syringes takes such a long time :/
 
Hi Staci. Thanks for checking in :bighug:
Yes, a bit calmer bc he's flat. Which gives me the space for bit of nap and pack the house. But he's still not eating much by himself. filling out syringes takes such a long time :/
I agree, it’s so time consuming. I sure hope he eats better for you. It’s so hard to force them to eat. You’re doing an incredible job with Fistuk.
Good luck with packing. That’s a huge chore on top of being a round the clock burse. I hope you can grab a nap to rest up. sending you a big hug :bighug::bighug:
 
+6 115
pretty flat.
Take a break from tests till PMPS.

Will call the vet and ask if I can give more than 80mk SQ a day. perhaps twice a day (then he'll hate me forever :()
Don't think you want to give more than that in a day. His numbers have come down nicely and the excess peeing would have reduced. In fact if he stays in good numbers, eats and drinks well and has zero ketones, you could probably stop SQs at some point. Not right away, but at some point in the future. Tagging @Bron and Sheba (GA) since she knows more about ketones and DKA.
 
Take a break from tests till PMPS.
ok

Don't think you want to give more than that in a day. His numbers have come down nicely and the excess peeing would have reduced. In fact if he stays in good numbers, eats and drinks well and has zero ketones, you could probably stop SQs at some point. Not right away, but at some point in the future. Tagging @Bron and Sheba (GA) since she knows more about ketones and DKA.
I could shift to every other day as one of the vets suggested. I do however see that it helps him revive a bit. And today I was concerned about dehydration since he sleeps most of the day. He didn't drink much either. I just "water" him with the syringe since I'm giving the S. Bouldarii
 
I would keep going with the sub Q fluids daily for now, especially since he has had diarrhoea and is not drinking on his own. I would not give 80 ml twice a day though. That is too much. 80 ml once a day is a good amount.
He’s having a nice flat cycle.
Have you managed to have any rest?
 
I would keep going with the sub Q fluids daily for now, especially since he has had diarrhoea and is not drinking on his own. I would not give 80 ml twice a day though. That is too much. 80 ml once a day is a good amount.
He’s having a nice flat cycle.
that resonates for me. It's incredible how much more alert he is after SQ

Have you managed to have any rest?
not much. I find it really difficult to fall asleep during the day no matter how tired I am. I went to sleep and after 20 minutes was on :banghead: I will try and get some more rest now. I kinda expect to have an action night
 
Back
Top