09/18 Blaze AMPS 7.1/128

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Blaze and Paola, Sep 18, 2020.

  1. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-17-blaze-amps-10-9-196.235451/

    @Critter Mom @tiffmaxee

    Good morning girls,
    Blaze is low this morning...and was over night.
    He has never been this low at a preshot ever.
    He is eating right now but I am not sure what to do...if I should give him some insulin...a few drops or not shoot at all since I am going to work. He has been on a nice streak though...what do you think?
    He kept me up all night though, he was restless. I didn't sleep.
     
  2. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hi Paola,

    Just seen this. Looking at SS. BRB...


    Mogs
    .
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  3. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I still have a few minutes to shoot something, I am within the 15 min time frame...but I am not feeling comfortable doing it...
     
  4. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Things for you to consider:

    * Lowest preshot to date.
    * No monitoring possible.
    * Numbers have been steadily improving, even on smaller dose.
    * Blaze's behaviour was unusual last night - and he was in very good numbers at the time.
    * Numbers have tended to stay fairly flat previously when no insulin given (skipped shot, fur shot).
    * Historically, Blaze has been in good numbers with occasional pinks from bouncing off better numbers.
    * No history of throwing ketones.

    If it were my cat, I'd skip.

    What do think, Paola?


    Mogs
    .
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  5. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Skippng, the points you listed made it even more clear to me that skipping is what I should do. Decision made. THANK YOU SO MUCH for ALWAYS being there Mogs, I don't know what I would do without you and Elise:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    tiffmaxee and Critter Mom like this.
  6. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Have a grand day at school Paola. BTW Blaze is now starting to run a lot of the time in the normal BG reference range. If your spreadsheet was colour-coded for an Alphatrak meter and the normal feline BG reference range (3.9-8.3mmol/L, per my vet's advice) you'd be seeing some nice safe greens now.

    Keep well, and keep safe.

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2020
    tiffmaxee and Blaze and Paola like this.
  7. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    A thought:

    Especially now that Blaze is in better numbers I recommend being doubly sure that you've got plenty of strips for the Alphatrak meter. I'm making this suggestion purely as a sensible general safety precaution because you can't pop out to the local chemist to pick up more Alphatrak strips. It's also wise to have a good supply of test strips for your backup meter. And spare batteries. And... And... (I'm not paranoid - honest, guv! :rolleyes: ;) )


    Mogs
    .
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  8. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Have a safe day at school and now you can feel safe about Blaze at home. Over the weekend you might want to make another spreadsheet using the one for AT. You don’t need to put in the past numbers or even add it to your signature. It would be just for you to see how many times he’s in green!
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  9. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I have all of the above Mogs!
    Plenty of strips, batteries as well.
    I am going to make a Alphatrak Spreadsheet right now so I can see that.
    I just tested him at +9, he is 8.1/146 with no insulin given this morning
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  10. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I went to download an Alphatrack Spreadsheet but I noticed that there is no difference in the levels between the Human meter one and the one supposed to be used for Alphatrak 2. The only difference is in the green area, where the take action number is below 68. Am I looking at the wrong one?
     
  11. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    No. I guess not. I never used one but something mentioned made me think there was.
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  12. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    So I received the verdict of the vet after looking at Blazes data.

    She basically still thinks that Blaze should be getting more insulin because of his size. She thinks that the 0.5 unit was already a fraction of what he was supposed to get (which was 2.0U) and reducing to 0.25 and less (0.15U) and not being consistent with the dosage all the times is not ideal.

    BUT then she says that "Blaze's current curve looks appropriate at this time".

    She is also saying that I shouldn't be testing so often: quote "Unless you're concerned that he is becoming hypoglycemic, it is not necessary to take so many blood sugar readings. I know that you are concerned that his blood sugar may become too low - you're right to be more concerned about it being too low than too high, because it's safer for the blood sugar to be too high than for it to be too low".
     
  13. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    I just want to hold my head when I hear vets talking like that!

    I'm not sure what happened today, but personally I don't think there were enough tests today. (sorry, I just looked at your notes in the SS - you're at work!)...

    What you're looking for are nice flat numbers...so right now he's kinda flat with those blues...

    I definitely would NOT give any more insulin (not a larger dose) - regardless of his size!

    Depend on your testing - the numbers are crucial to knowing which dose is working for him. Try to be as consistent as possible

    Do you have calipers to help you measure such a fine dose? Stick with a consistent time of day every day.

    Take a look at Teal'c - info - SS - his mama Patty works too...so perhaps it would be helpful to see what's going on there. Here's the last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-16-tealc-amps-83.235393/#post-2636252

    There are others who work fulltime..
     
    tiffmaxee and Blaze and Paola like this.
  14. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    A few words comes to mind, inconsistent, mixed messages, and nonsense. If the bg curve is appropriate, if you are right tgat a hypo is more serious than being too high, how could 2 units be an appropriate dose? Weight only is a criteria for dosing at the beginning. I don’t understand her.
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  15. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Paola was at work.


    Mogs
    .
     
    Blaze and Paola and Sue and Luci like this.
  16. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    EXACTLY My thoughts! Well said Elise!
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  17. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    I realized that after I said it...and edited it with a comment...oops. :oops:
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  18. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hypos aren't ideal. Cats don't read FD manuals.


    Mogs
    .
     
    tiffmaxee and Blaze and Paola like this.
  19. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I had to read her email 3 times...honestly I am going to continue to do what I am doing...I think that the numbers he had these past couple of days have been better. Today I didn't even shoot him and he was 8.1/145 when I got back from work
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  20. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I just gave him his 0.15U. He ate well and I think that dosage is working for him. Vet says that because sometimes Blaze doesn't really eat his full meal, that I should be considering doing an ultrasound to see if there is anything else going on. I think that the reason why he was so restless overnight could have been that he was in low numbers for the first time in a while and his system is kinda thinking "what is going on"...
     
    tiffmaxee and Critter Mom like this.
  21. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    She also wants to see him again first week of October.
     
  22. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Entirely up to you whether you feel you need to bring him in. He’s acting well in every other way. See how he is doing and then decide is what I would do.
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  23. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Yes, I feel that the decisions I have made with all of your help is what is making Blaze feel better and have better numbers. If I had only listened to the vet and had never found this Board when I was desperate, I feel I wouldn't have my kitty with me anymore. You can't expect that every cat is the same and that the rules written in textbook and manuals must be applied in full at all costs.
     
    tiffmaxee and Critter Mom like this.
  24. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    This.


    Mogs
    .
     
    Blaze and Paola and tiffmaxee like this.
  25. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Blaze is at 5.4/97 right now at +2, should I worry or wait and test again in 1 hour.
     
  26. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    He just went and ate more than a table spoon of his wet food
     
  27. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Don’t worry but do test in an hour. Would your vet still shoot 2 units, lol?
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  28. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Probably! Unreal...:mad:
     
  29. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You are home so you can see if he’s getting into greens this weekend.
     
  30. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Yes, so happy it is the weekend! when I am home I feel in control, being at work is torture
     
  31. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    You're vet is nervous. Suddenly the little she learned in vet school is even less. Not yet, but she will learn a lot from you and Blaze – especially going easy on the insulin and recommending home testing.
    Have a great weekend, Paola. I'm sorry you aren't getting much sleep and the education system is still trying to figure out how to go about educating. :bighug:
     
    Critter Mom and Blaze and Paola like this.
  32. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    So true Robyn :bighug:
     
  33. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    He is at 5/90 at +3, went down more
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2020
  34. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Looks like you've got yourself a pyjama party, Paola... :nailbiting:

    I'd also suggest reducing the dose tomorrow morning. You'll then have 4 back-to-back cycles with which to judge dose safety before Monday.

    I just caught this as I was making a final swoop before I pass out (I have sleep meds on board so I'm going to pass out very shortly.)

    How is Blaze acting? Is he fretty like he was last night?


    Mogs
    .
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  35. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Yes, he was crazy, running up and down the stairs, attacking Ash, spazzing completely
     
  36. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Last night it was more of a waking me up for attention, licking headboard of my bed, knocking things over my bed side table, scratching things he is not supposed to scratch...then went on ALL night
     
  37. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    How many minutes till your +4 test is due?

    .
     
  38. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
  39. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Looks like he might earn a reduction either tonight or tomorrow. Mogs why don’t you think she should give it 1 more chance tomorrow?
     
  40. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Will try to eke them out with you but if I suddenly go silent it's because the meds won out. To fill out the time let's get a bit of housekeeping stuff done.

    Here comes another Moggie's Big Book of FD Kwestions:

    For tonight:
    1. Is Blaze hungry?
    2. When did you last feed (time in + notation, type of food (LC, MC, HC)
    3. Do you have plenty of the mid and high carb in the hypo kit?
    4. Do you remember now to steer numbers?
    5. Do you know how to change your thread to ask for help if you need it?


    .
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  41. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    No, Elise. I'd rather see four cycles at the reduced dose to allow the depot to adjust a bit and for Paola to see where Blaze is at. Anti-jinx, I think Paola may have a challenging few days and nights ahead...

    Can you point Paola in the direction of the drop dosing info in the Lantus stickies please, Elise? Also can you stay with her long enough to give her a quick refresh of feed 'n' test, feed 'n' test so she knows what she's at for the rest of the cycle? Or find someone online who could keep an eye out for a while? If I get 10 minutes more of consciousness I'll be lucky. Already fighting the meds trying to type this. I wish I could stay but that's an impossibility. :(


    Mogs
    .
     
  42. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. I can stay with her and find the drop dose.
     
    Blaze and Paola and Critter Mom like this.
  43. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Blaze and Paola and Critter Mom like this.
  44. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  45. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Paola, isn’t it time for a +5?
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  46. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Did you fall asleep?
     
  47. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hi Paola,

    How are you both doing over there? I'm so sorry I wasn't able to sit with you last night.

    Did Blaze calm down at all?

    I'm keeping an eye on this thread and also watching for a tag.


    Mogs
    .
     
  48. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Girls, I am so sorry, I was up until 2 AM but for some reason I did not see these messages up until now! I am so sorry
     
  49. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Morning, Paola!

    No need to be sorry, Paola. We've both been there, so we know the drill only too well. :)

    :bighug:

    How are you both doing?

    How much time (HH:MM) till your AMPS?


    Mogs
    .
     
  50. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Please ignore the above. Just seen your new post. Following you over right now...


    Mogs
    .
     

Share This Page