09/18 Blaze AMPS/247, +3/149, +4/121, +5/117 +6/108, +8/139, PMPS/113, +1/103, +2/56

Blaze and Paola

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-17-blaze-amps-394.253065/

Blaze's sugar keeps going down...I am afraid is going into hypo.

More testing than the one posted in the title was done when I stalled.

He ate his regular FF pate for dinner (4%) and since the sugar dropping, I have fed him a whole can of 9% FF (in small increments), and gravy from a high carb FF, he licked it 4 times.

I stalled when I saw the low PMPS, I waited 45 min...I saw the sugar was going back up on its own, so I fed him and gave him 1 U (instead of 1.25) insulin. His reading are really low and keep getting lower.

I am scared I might have to take him to emerg.

I have a glucose stick ready. Gonna test again.
 
If you have high carb food and honey or karo, and testing strips you are in control of his blood sugar.

Since your most recent reading is below 50, get him to eat some honey/karo and high carb food. The sugar will bring BG up quickly, the food will keep it there longer.
 
I gave him the syrup about 10 min ago...and he did not like it. I am just about to give him more high carb now. Fingers crossed he is gonna lick the gravy
 
Hi. I just came on line. He’s at a safe number on a human meter. syrup wears off faster than food so mix a few drops with a spoonful of food. Most don’t like syrup or honey. If he will eat tge good with the honey you can retest in 20-30.
 
On the AT the 50’s are alarming but not on a human meter. Normal on a human meter is 50-100. It’s early in the cycle and that was a big drop so feeding hc made sense.
 
Ok :confused:, I reduced it myself tonight out of a gut feeling. I know it is against the rules of TR but my gut wasn't sitting well with the low numbers to give a full 1.25U. I know I screwed up. This diabetes will kill me way before making Blaze sick
 
Ok :confused:, I reduced it myself tonight out of a gut feeling. I know it is against the rules of TR but my gut wasn't sitting well with the low numbers to give a full 1.25U. I know I screwed up. This diabetes will kill me way before making Blaze sick
:bighug: Those low numbers take getting used to and would be higher on an AT but with work and all you might not be able to be as aggressive. Safety first.
 
I am starting to feel my limbs again, heart rate has decreased, sweat has dried up, breathing is under control and mind stopped racing. Yes, I will do that thank you. The poor boy, everytime he sees me going towards him, he keeps looking at my hands...probably thinking...what now? A test, some syrup, some gravy...
 
It’s harder on you than him.
It is, he has no clue whats going on...I am the one going crazy. Ash keeps looking at me going up and down the stairs frantically and stares at me. I am now calm though. I have given him some cuddles too, he gets jalous when all the attention is on Blaze (even if the attention is not the best you wanna have...testing and shooting insulin for example)
 
Why the lower numbers all day today? He hasn't had this happening yet, i mean all those blues and greens in 2 cycles back to back.
We are going to the vet on Monday. He has an appoinment. I had booked it a while ago as a check in for him with the vet
 
The only treat he goes crazy for is tuna (the human one in a can under water). I eat the white tuna, I give him a little bit of that.
 
I am happy he is making progress, thank God. Thinking ahead, tomorrow morning I should resume the 1.25U, right? When I saw those lower numbers I got scared and gave him 1U only tonight, bypassing the rules :(.
 
I am happy he is making progress, thank God. Thinking ahead, tomorrow morning I should resume the 1.25U, right? When I saw those lower numbers I got scared and gave him 1U only tonight, bypassing the rules.

Of course you were scared. Technically you should go back to 1.25. Let’s see if he stays up now or drops again on lc. Yes, that could happen. If stable or bouncing I would go back to 1.25. Shooting a lower dose tonight likely didn’t effect tonight’s cycle but could effect tomorrow. I’m a little concerned about you going back to work Monday though. Do you have someone willing to brave coming to your place?
 
Of course you were scared. Technically you should go back to 1.25. Let’s see if he stays up now or drops again on lc. Yes, that could happen. If stable or bouncing I would go back to 1.25. Shooting a lower dose tonight likely didn’t effect tonight’s cycle but could effect tomorrow. I’m a little concerned about you going back to work Monday though. Do you have someone willing to brave coming to your place?
On Monday I have a day off because we are going to the vet. So I am able to test him more than usual. Vet appointment is at 9 am which means I have time to do a +3 before going. When I am back from the vet I am home and will continue to test.
I have not found anyone else yet.
These past 2 work days (Thursday and Friday), when nobody came, he ate the food on his own. I will have to figure out what to leave (if a combo of LC and MC for example)
 
Ok. Color that box lime green so it stands out.I didn’t know he had dropped under 50 until Alex said so. The 50 at that point still required higher carbs of course but that n Ed’s to stand out. I’d manually color it on the world ss as well.
 
Do you have cerenia or ondansetron for nausea? If not I would get some. I see he’s still his bouncy self.:bighug:
 
Back
Top