09/15 Moe: AMPS 94, no shoot

Erin and Moe (GA)

Member Since 2019
Good morning all.

Moe's AMPS was 94 (AlphaTrak 2 meter). He ate from about 5:30 to 6:30 am and I did not shoot. I tested about 8:30 am and BG = 100. I was planning to do a curve today since he's only had one done (at the vet last week). I didn't shoot, but still planning to test every two hours to see how he's progressing throughout the day.
 
Erin -

Moe's numbers look good. I have two thoughts...

First, would yu consider decreasing Moe's dose so you can begin to routinely shoot twice a day? And second, it's important to get tests during the PM cycle. Right now, you're missing over half of your data. Getting at the minimum one test before you go to sleep every night is very important.

 
BG results so far:
5:30 am AMPS: 94; no shoot
Feed 5:30 - 6:30 am
8:30 am BG = 100
10:30 am BG = 106
12:30 pm BG = 106

More testing:
2:15 pm: gave a few Purebites chicken treats
2:30 pm: 119
4:30 pm: 139
feed from 4:30 - 6:30 pm: Friskies pate and some Purina DM
7:30 pm: 116
Decided not to give a PM injection.

I will be talking to my vet about reducing the amount of insulin I'm giving at each shot. Currently supposed to be 1 unit basaglar am and pm, but I think it's too much.
 
Erin -

Moe's numbers look good. I have two thoughts...

First, would yu consider decreasing Moe's dose so you can begin to routinely shoot twice a day? And second, it's important to get tests during the PM cycle. Right now, you're missing over half of your data. Getting at the minimum one test before you go to sleep every night is very important.
Yes, I think it's a good idea to reduce the dose. I will be calling my vet on Monday to discuss. And yes, I'll get some PM tests.
 
Back
Top